We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very cosy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Bligh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain Bligh House
Ranked #1 of 568 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

since a couple of years I stay at captain bligh house, when I am in London, its like coming home...my favorite room is the filmstudio, for one person more than enough place, a nice big bed, a beautiful view and all facilities to make breakfast and small meals, Gayna and Simon are phantastic hosts, I am looking forward to stay there next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
127
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I can only endorse all the positive comments in previous reviews- warm welcome, great location and comfortable, fully equipped accommodation. A great find for those who prefer more space and a more homely feel than you usually get in impersonal hotels. We stayed in the London apartment: very aptly named with the attractively themed decor. Plenty of space with a nice view over a park. Sleep quality excellent and everywhere spotless. Basic toiletries all provided which is an added welcome bonus if you're flying to London with a small carry on suitcase. A quiet environment yet so close to the Thames and many key sights in London. We would definitely chose to stay here again Thank you Gayna & Simon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toastedmallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Myself & my wife have just stayed at Capn Blighs for the second time, to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary. We stayed in the London Apartment this time and the Royal suite the first time. We prefer self catering and as far as we are concerned this is the best in every possible way. We have no interest in looking for accommodation anywhere else in London and cannot wait to go back. The atmosphere in the house is great and the welcome from Gayna & Simon makes you feel at home straight away. The eye to detail is brilliant.
. So often in accommodation something is lacking. Not Here. Food is ready waiting,bread, butter, cerials, milk, tea, coffee, etc so that you can settle in with a snack and a drink without having to go to the shops straight away.
Also the position is great with the park to the War Museum across the road and a few minutes walk to Westminster Bridge, or a few minutes bus ride to Trafalgar Sq etc. Anybody who has any moans about Capn Blighs should clear off and find somewhere else.We find it excellent !!
Ray & Joyce Pace

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ray p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Film Studio for 8 nights and were well pleased. Upon our arrival, Gayna warmly welcomed us and showed us about the room. I call it a room instead of an apartment because that is how I believe one should think of it. When we made the booking Gayna informed us that it was quite small and that we might want to consider another apartment if we were going to be spending a lot of time in the room. Knowing that we would be spending most of our time out and about, we booked the Film Studio and were not disappointed.

The Room: Book this if you want something slightly larger than a hotel room with a few more conveniences. The room was very clean and well organized. There was plenty of room under the bed for our luggage and enough space for our clothes in the closet and the chest of drawers. There was additional room in the nightstand which we did not use. The room has some nice touches: a makeup mirror on the window ledge as well as a full-length mirror, an iron and ironing board, a towel warmer in the bathroom and really nice thick towels. We were even supplied with washcloths. Having a refrigerator, French press, toaster, and electric kettle was very convenient. The breakfast items (bread, cereal, jam, milk, and orange juice) lasted us the week. The only thing we had to buy more of was milk. We never used the burners or little oven because we did not do any cooking. In fact, I do not feel that there is enough space to cook a meal. The decor is fun (especially if you like old movies like we do) and a bit quirky--the toilet seat is a sparkly silver.

The Location: It may not be the most scenic neighborhood but the location is perfect. It's an easy walk to Westminster and the underground station (Lambeth) is only about a block and a half away. There is a great pub--The Three Stags--on the corner. We ate there twice and found the food, atmosphere, and service all top-notch. We enjoyed the take-out we got from Koza the Turkish place on the corner of Lambeth and Kennington, and Masters Super Fish is a short walk away. Both were quite good. There is a pharmacy and grocery store nearby, too. It is also right across the street from the Imperial War Museum.

The Payment: We were slightly worried about getting enough cash from ATMs to pay our bill, so we paid in advance through PayPal. Gayna kindly warned us that there would be a 5% fee, but we knew it would be cheaper than exchanging that sum of money in the states. This worked for us and eliminated a lot of worry.

I feel that the Film Studio was a perfect pick for us. It is obvious that Gayna and Simon pride themselves in having a well run establishment and making their guest feel at home. Besides it is fun to say "We stayed in Captain Bligh's house."

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lve2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moree, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Film Studio for 6 days and we loved it. It was like a home away from home!
Gayna and Simon greeted us at the door like we were old friends leaving me and my partner very impressed.
Gayna was worried about our room being too small but it was perfect! Like I said to her we only need it to sleep. I loved the 'film' decorations too! I also loved the old building!
Its in a perfect location, we walked to alot of places and for those further trips we went to the North Lambeth tube station.
The 3 Stags Pub on the corner did amazing meals too!
Most definately will stay again next time we come back to London!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarkScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed in the Royal Suite for just over a week and it felt like home right from the start. Gayna and Simon are wonderful hosts who leave you to get on with enjoying yourselves but are always available should you need them. Our rooms were very comfortable and self-contained with a beautiful aspect overlooking the park and with quality themed decor. The rooms were very quiet and restful. Lambeth is an excellent base for seeing London; not too busy, and with excellent transport links to just about anywhere (either above ground or below). We found walking to Westminster and the South Bank very easy and safe, and it gave us an opportunity to experience parts of Lambeth and Southwark which have a coulourful history themselves and are well worth a look. If you take the trouble to find them, there are some excellent pubs in the area where you can find a good meal at reasonable prices: we patronised "The Three Stags" which is just a few doors down from Captain Bligh House, "The Ship" in Kennington Road, "The Crown & Cushion" in Westminster Bridge Road (with a very nice Thai menu) and "The Camel & Artichoke" in Lower Marsh.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillipD2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frosinone, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Captain Bligh House is one of the most beautiful and comfortable accommodation we have ever found. Simon and Gayna are very kind, they gave us a warm welcome and several important information and advices for our stay in London.
The B&B is situated in a strategic area: thanks to the many bus stops and the “Lambeth North” tube station you can reach any place in London without problems. If you prefer taking a walk, you can arrive to the Big Ben by foot in 10/15 minutes, and the neighborhood is full of pubs, restaurants, laundries, supermarkets.
Captain Bligh is an historic well refurbished house, the owners live on the bottom floor, and the B&B rooms are placed on the other floors.
We reserved The Crows Nest room. I wrote “ room”, but, as matter of facts, it is a real little apartment! It is on the (very) top of the building (maybe at 4° floor? I’m not so sure).
You enter directly in a little dining room, with couch, table, flat tv and kitchenette (refrigerator, kettle, microwave oven, electric stove, sink, dishes, pots and so on). This room overlooks on the main street and on a park, and it was lovely having my breakfast seated at the window observing outside! Inside the refrigerator you find all you need for your breakfast.
The lovely and quiet bedroom overlooks on the neighbours’ gardens/backyards.
We absolutely recommend Captain Bligh House for your stay in London!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,404 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Bligh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Bligh House

Property: Captain Bligh House
Address: 100 Lambeth Road, London SE1 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 568 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain Bligh House is situated within the wonderfully vibrant South Bank area with its exciting restaurants, theatres and street entertainers. A 10 minute walk to the London Eye, 20 minutes to Covent Garden or, with our excellent transport facilities, only an 8 minute bus ride to Piccadilly and London’s famous West End Theatres. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Bligh House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing