We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
358
20
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
20
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the imperial war museum film studio royal suite london apartment wonderful hosts captain's cabin lambeth north tube station london eye breakfast provisions home away from home ray joyce self contained electric stove paul s cathedral minute walk own meals lambeth palace
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We loved our stay at this incredibly charming B&B. It's in a great location - on a quiet street extremely convenient to several bus stops and a quick 3-minute walk to the Lambeth North underground station. The owners were wonderful hosts and made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Royal Suite and loved the room and decor - we would absolutely stay here again and hope we have the chance to, soon! We honestly didn't have a single complaint about our stay and could not have asked for better accommodations for our trip to London.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank daniellemT5326WL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

We are looking forward to our 9th yr (we think). Love staying at Gayna and Simon's apartments usually the Royal Suite. Very special, but have stayed in the smaller Film Studio which also provided us with everything we needed for a lovely 3/4 nights
Next year we will stay in the London Suite
This is a home from home all apartments comfortable clean unique charming and quirky a pleasure to stay in .much preferred to a hotel room
Gayna and Simon are very accommodating for guests, helping out wherever possible
Thank you for your patience this year whilst we confirmed our dates
We are very happy to have found this super place so many years ago. Always a great welcome and pleasurable visit

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank retiredcouple60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We have just returned home from another stay at our favourite B&B in London
Captain Bligh House 100 Lambeth Rd .
Our hosts Gayna & Simon are a delightful couple warm and welcoming .The accommodation is characterful and comfortable. We absolutely love staying there, and
have visited nine times now.
Ray & Joyce Pace

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ray p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Given all the five star reviews that the Captain Bligh House has received I don't need to extol the many features that make it a great place to stay. What I thought I would do is give you an idea of the walking distance to a few of London's major destinations. (Of course one can always take the tube or bus.)
Imperial War Museum - 2 minute walk
Old Vic Theatre - 10 minute walk
Young Vic Theatre - 12 minute walk
Waterloo Station - 12 minute walk
The Eye - 12 minute walk
National Theatre - 20 minute walk
Westminster Abbey - 20-25 minute walk
Trafalgar Square - 20-25 minute walk
Royal Haymarket Theatre - 25 minute walk
Piccadilly Circus - 30 minute walk
British Museum - 35-40 minute walk
Note - I am middle aged and I walk at a brisk pace.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mncgrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Having just returned home from another London vacation, we realize that, while we could never tire of this great city, a large part of the attraction for us now is our stay at Captain Bligh House. Here we settle into the cozy and comfortable Royal Suite and feel as if we are in our London home. We have been back for at least one stay every year since 2010 and would not consider booking anywhere else. (From the comments in the guest book, there are many return guests, but perhaps we hold the record for the most return visits from across the Atlantic.)

We love the wonderfully convenient location, the history of the house, the whimsical décor, the attention to detail, the cleanliness – and most of all, the warm welcome from Gayna and Simon. They offer helpful advice (especially about the theatre) then allow you to settle in to enjoy London as independent travellers. (If you need them, they are there!) This is not a generic hotel; however, in our minds, it offers much nicer way to enjoy London- a quiet, comfortable home-away-from home where you can relax after a hectic day of sightseeing. We just love it!

Room tip: We opt for the Royal Suite partly because there are fewer stairs.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gavazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews