We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
341
19
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
19
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the imperial war museum london apartment film studio royal suite wonderful hosts captain's cabin lambeth north tube station london eye breakfast provisions ray joyce self contained home away from home thought of everything short walk old vic big ben borough market
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2017

The Captain Bligh House was not just where we stayed on holiday, it was an integral part of our London experience. From the moment we arrived, our room in The Crow's Nest was our sanctuary after busy days of visiting palaces, museums, and monuments; climbing up and down stairs; and standing stoically on the tube. We felt as though it was truly our home due to the fully-stocked and inviting room, the quiet and privacy, and the graciousness and knowledge of our incomparable hosts: Gayna and Simon. Their promise was that we would see as much or as little of them as we wanted and it was just so - with a ring of the ship's bell they would come scurrying but when we were worn out from a long day we came home to peace and quiet. They were accommodating with us and always willing to offer superb advice about seeing the sights, navigating, and experiencing the joie de vivre found in London.

In the nearby area we found plenty of casual cafes, restaurants, and pubs with excellent transportation options (bus stops across the street, Lambeth North and Waterloo stations a short walk away). There is a nearby cashpoint for currency needs. The Lower Marsh Market is nearby for an eclectic collection of shops and food. Past the Lower Marsh Market, well within walking distance, is the majority of London that can be seen on post cards, in tour guides, and in television shows and movies. We found the overall area to be pretty quiet and felt safe walking around in the evenings.

TripAdvisor currently ranks the Captain Bligh House as the #1 B&B in London. We rank the Captain Bligh House as the #1 B&B in our hearts, full stop. We will be back!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank adventuresbyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We loved our stay at this incredibly charming B&B. It's in a great location - on a quiet street extremely convenient to several bus stops and a quick 3-minute walk to the Lambeth North underground station. The owners were wonderful hosts and made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Royal Suite and loved the room and decor - we would absolutely stay here again and hope we have the chance to, soon! We honestly didn't have a single complaint about our stay and could not have asked for better accommodations for our trip to London.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

We are looking forward to our 9th yr (we think). Love staying at Gayna and Simon's apartments usually the Royal Suite. Very special, but have stayed in the smaller Film Studio which also provided us with everything we needed for a lovely 3/4 nights
Next year we will stay in the London Suite
This is a home from home all apartments comfortable clean unique charming and quirky a pleasure to stay in .much preferred to a hotel room
Gayna and Simon are very accommodating for guests, helping out wherever possible
Thank you for your patience this year whilst we confirmed our dates
We are very happy to have found this super place so many years ago. Always a great welcome and pleasurable visit

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank retiredcouple60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We have just returned home from another stay at our favourite B&B in London
Captain Bligh House 100 Lambeth Rd .
Our hosts Gayna & Simon are a delightful couple warm and welcoming .The accommodation is characterful and comfortable. We absolutely love staying there, and
have visited nine times now.
Ray & Joyce Pace

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ray p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Given all the five star reviews that the Captain Bligh House has received I don't need to extol the many features that make it a great place to stay. What I thought I would do is give you an idea of the walking distance to a few of London's major destinations. (Of course one can always take the tube or bus.)
Imperial War Museum - 2 minute walk
Old Vic Theatre - 10 minute walk
Young Vic Theatre - 12 minute walk
Waterloo Station - 12 minute walk
The Eye - 12 minute walk
National Theatre - 20 minute walk
Westminster Abbey - 20-25 minute walk
Trafalgar Square - 20-25 minute walk
Royal Haymarket Theatre - 25 minute walk
Piccadilly Circus - 30 minute walk
British Museum - 35-40 minute walk
Note - I am middle aged and I walk at a brisk pace.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mncgrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews