We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place I have ever stayed at!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Pembury Central Park
Ranked #978 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Okay so I had a twin room on the top floor. It was unbelievable hot and the dirty windows hardly opened! So I slept horribly and the puke stain on the floor, dirty dirty walls, blood on the pillow case, pube on the bed and incredibly smelly 'bathroom' didn't help with my stay here whatsoever.

Needless to say I didn't have breakfast, only stayed the one night out of two and would never ever go near this place again!

Oh and the relentless groaning was just laughable but gross...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guru_fordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2010

We were booked this dump by our ill-informed travel agent. They now know better!! The lift wasn't working (judging by previous reviews it has been broken for at least 7 months!!) so we three females had to lug 8 pieces of luggage up two flights of stairs to our room. The smell hit us as soon as we'd opened the door. It was like someone had died in the bathroom several days earlier and then someone else came and defacated on the corpse! The towels were stained with yellow (not that we were going to risk opening that bathroom door anyway!) and the heating was so high that we had to open up the windows to cool down.
We escaped early the next morning after receiving nothing more than a snide smirk from a male person who appeared to be working there but who "knew nothing".... ahh God love him! We were then forced to find accomodation in London for New Year's on our own!! Cost me an arm and a leg paying for the extra accomodation and the whole thing ruined London for us.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaycatMackayQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Actually, we thought we were booked into the OTHER Central Park Hotel, and for what we paid, we should have been. I noticed a review that indicated payment of 25 pounds per night and we paid more than three times that! How were we to know that there are 2 Central Park Hotels!
The elevator (lift) was not in working order and we had 2 full suitcases each, plus hand-luggage because we had just come off of a 15 day cruise. I feel sorry for anyone staying in the room beneath ours because the floor squeaked horribly with every step.
The curtains on one window were coming down and did not close completely.
The first day we had both hand towels and bath towels; after that we only got bath towels.
The bed linens were clean and fresh, but consisted of only a bottom sheet and duvet with cover. The first night was quite warm, so we took the cover off the duvet and used the cover as a top sheet.
The bathroom was tiny but clean - and sadly in need of an upgrade - but there was no place to put anything! No hair dryer, and I didn't realize that we could have borrowed one from the front office until I happened to see someone return one on the final day of our stay.
There were no water glasses in the bathroom or room, but the night registration desk clerk got us 2 when requested. The next morning, when I asked for 1 more, the dining room attendant rudely addressed my request noting there are not enough for everyone to have a glass. Excuse me! If this location is going to advertise as a hotel, then water glasses in the room is a very minor amenity they should provide - along with hand towels.
Desk clerks were very friendly and helpful and even loaned us a converter so we could charge our camera batteries.
As with other reviewers, I agree that it is conveniently within minutes walking distance to bus or tube transportation.
Free internet was nice.
As for noise level at night, weekends were very noisy during the late hours; the week-day nights were quiet.
Be aware that this location is more of a hostel than a hotel, and not worth what we paid for the accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cwsunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

This hotel was basically picked as it is close to where my sister lives which was the reason for my visit....

After reading the reviews i was worried and arriving int he dark- still not impressed.

On reflection it is cheap. For my £25 a night i got to park my car in a safe area (very rare in London), i was 3 minutes from tube - which was 10 minutes from central London, breakfast and ensuite bathroom.

Staff - especially lady who did breakfast were a bit lacking in charm but guys on reception always said hello. Curtains didnt fit window and drains smelt slightly but we had fresh towels everyday and as we were out sight seeing it was more than bareable for a long weekend.

Dont expect the ritz!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinaG1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2008

Clean enough....
that's it for the positives
Neighborhood unbearable
Staff- not much help
no amenities

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeydiblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romuald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Viviane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembury Hotel
Pembury Hotel
#888 of 1,076 in London
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge London Finsbury Park hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western London Highbury
Best Western London Highbury
#544 of 1,076 in London
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Brent Cross
5.2 mi away
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#51 of 946 in London
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Pembury Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Pembury Central Park

Address: 3-15 Wilberforce Road, London N4 2SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #978 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Number of rooms: 309
Also Known As:
New Pembury Central Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing