We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
Review of YHA London Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA London Central
Ranked #18 of 931 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

During my grandson's and my 30 day Euro/UK tour, this Hostel was one of the best of 5 in which we stayed. Facilities, location and amenities were excellent. As a Hostels International member, I did not pay more for WiFi. Membership was paid for in the first two stays at reduced cost. Staff was very helpful, and booked us a play at reduced cost. Well worth it for this 77 year old!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wy'east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

404 - 410 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great place, great crowd, great decoration!
A bit expensive, as everything is in London...
Close to underground stations, theaters and so on.
They can book pub crawls, tours, buses to cities nearby.
I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

After i payed over 33 pounds for 1 night:

After a 33+ pound check in for 1 night, they told me:

*PAY EXTRA per 20 minutes of wifi.
*PAY EXTRA to use the computers.
*PAY EXTRA ALOT extra for food.
*Etc. Etc.

Seeing the hostel offers NO extra value, besides being big (the rooms are not, they are much smaller than appear in the pics), i feel ripped off. Please go to a better hostel and spare yourself this horror. I can not over stress this.

Best regards from a fellow hicker,
Ben

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benmagicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Hi Ben,

We are sorry that you are dissatified with your recent stay with us. The pictures of our rooms online are a fair representation of the size of the rooms, as they are all standard size and offer a great range of facilities for our guests, including built in bed lights, personal power sockets and also a locker for each guest. A complete list of all our facitlites is available on all booking websites and it also does indicate which are free and which are paid.

The price you paid for the stay is comparable to other leading hostels in central London, especially as you booked over a weekend. You may find hostels which are cheaper, however, with much less to offer in terms of guest facilities and in a far less central location. Our WIFI is free for members of YHA or HI, and with this membership you also can recieve a discount of £3 per night when you book with us.If you are not a member when you book you do have the opportunity to buy membership on arrival to gain access to the members benefits.

Many thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms are clean and quite comfortable (except for the pillows, way too thin) each bed has their own bedlight and power socket, which is ideal! Staff is friendly and welcoming and the location of the hostel is perfect. Will stay here again!

Just a note to future guests, please do NOT blow dry your hair at 6 am in the morning! ;-)

Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great trip to London, with an a amazing stay in YHA London Central - great location for metro, a lot of cool pubs in the area. Friendly staff, clean rooms, great meeting area where you have an opportunity to mingle with other guests in the hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiticSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I really like this hostel, it´s very well located, but still in a quiet area, so you can relax when you want to. Staff is very friendly and helpful, and I believe there are few things they will not solve. Amenities are good, and the kitchen is generously big. There's a mix of young people, somewhat older, and also families, so creates a good atmosphere. Recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnotherSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and found it to be overall very good value for money. I was in an 8 bed room, and although it was clean and the beds were fairly comfortable, my only complaint would be that it was quite cramped with 4 bunks and everybody's stuff everywhere. The location was great- there's a couple of major tube stops within walking distance and it's very close to Oxford Street. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBall1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 931 in London
2,677 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#27 of 931 in London
630 reviews
Safestay
#19 of 931 in London
1,201 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#52 of 931 in London
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Central

Address: 104-108 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 931 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £24 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London Central 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your YHA London Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Central Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing