We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!”
Review of YHA London Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA London Central
Ranked #18 of 897 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Have stayed here a good four times. The staff are always friendly and helpful with the tube, attractions and general information. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. The location is key though, don't need to take the tube most days because you can walk everywhere. If you arrive early and have time to spare before you leave, they let you store your bags downstairs in the luggage room. If you're a member, you get unlimited wifi, which is totally worth it if you plan on coming back to London in the future. The food and drinks served there are good too. They have a full kitchen downstairs you can use which comes in handy when saving money and a 24 hour Tesco down the street from them.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the main floor, the wifi works in the room!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KyleeWinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael V, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hello,

Thank you for the great feedback about the hostel. We are really proud of our friendly, helpful staff and the food we serve in the cafe. It also sounds like you took advantage of our central location, the discounted attraction tickets we offer and also the free members WIFI.

Thank you again for the feedback and hope to see you at the hostel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
There are newer reviews for YHA London Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

I'd guess that this is one of the best hostels in London. Me and my friend M were quite nervous about it at first, since this was our first time hostelling, but the laid-back atmosphere and friendliness of the staff gave us a good introduction.

We found that you really should bring your own lock if you're planning to drop your luggage off in the hostel's storage room, which thankfully I had done. The hostel is enormous and we met a good number of people just going to and from the storage room.

It's a pretty typical hostel -- large dorms, echoey stairs with concrete walls, overpriced WiFi, basic linen, and hall bathrooms. The important thing to me was that it was clean, as I've heard there are a fair number of London hostels with hygiene problems. The beds weren't the most comfortable in the world, but I fell asleep just fine.

The reason I'm calling this one of London's best hostels is the price. It's right in the mid-range of London hostels and is easily affordable for even the tightest-budgeted traveler. And yet it manages to be clean and friendly and fosters a kind of community for all the travelers who stay there. This would definitely be a hostel to recommend if you're interested in meeting fellow globetrotters.

Five stars to the hostel lounge, which was big and beautiful and fun. And the breakfast wasn't half bad, either.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael V, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hello,

Thank you for yor feedback. I'm happy to hear you found the hostel fun and good value. We really pride ourselves on having a space that guests can use to socalise in and meet others and also at a great price!

The WIFI can be accessed for free by members of YHA and HI, and with this membership you can also recieve a £3 discount per night you stay with us once you have the memberhip.

We have also just updated our breakfast menu to offer you more when you buy it, including items like cheese and bread, making it even better value!

Thank you again for your comments and feedback, see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed 2 nights in 6 bed female dorm. Hostel is in great location: within walking distance from many sightseeing objects and Oxford street. Room was nice, comfy beds, private shower (for the room) was clean enough, what else do you need in a hostel? :) Most of the people staying in this hostel were young people and the central lobby had a buzzing vibe - I liked that. One of the cons is that there's no free wi fi, but there're plenty of coffee houses around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael V, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

HI Aldona,

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay at YHA London Central. We really pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the hostel and friendly atmosphere in the common spaces. And, of course, the location :)

We do offer free WIFI for members of YHA or HI and we always reccomend guests become members as not only do they get the free WIFI but they can also recieve a discount on any nights booked once a member (£3 for adults and £1.50 for U18's).

Thank you for your feedback adn see you at the hostel again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Not stayed in a hostel for a few years but was pleasantly suprised. The central lobby area was comfortable and relaxed, modern and sociable. Service was very friendly and the pizzas were great. We took a private room for 4 people set up in 2 lots of bunk beds - rooms were clean, qiuet and and beds comfy. Best was the location - Oxford Street and Soho within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuartp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael V, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi Stuart!

Thanks so much for the great review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on having an amazing team (who can make amazing pizzas!) and it's awesome to hear you took advantage of our central location.

Thanks again for the kind words and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

London is a VERY expensive place to stay for travellers. For this hostel, as long as you go with the right expectation, you'll be very happy.

We stayed in a 6 people bedroom with private bathroom and shower. Room including in-room bathroom and shower stall were clean. Bunk beds were also comfortable.

There are some issues with the shower stall. The floor in the private shower stall could get very wet and had small puddle of water accumulated after shower. One of us slipped twice in the shower stall because of the wet floor after shower. The washing basin was also unusually small. The problem was that the basin was small, and there was a rack immediate on top of the basin, so your face would easily hit the rack when brushing your teeth.

We stayed there for 3 nights and one night there were noises from outside the room. Someone was talking on the phone loudly late night making it difficult to sleep. Overall, noise level was considered low.

Wifi was free for Hostel members and we had no problem with that as we were members. Wifi signal was only good on the ground floor and we were ok with that. The reception area was also a great hangout place with big tables and benches.

They serve simple but very affordable breakfast in the lounge. In the evening , they also serve pizza and beer at a very low price.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Safety was not a concern as the main entrance access requires card key in the evening.

Location is excellent. It was only a 8-10 min walk to Oxford street.

Many people commented about the pad lock for the in-room lockers. Basically, it's not the overall size of the shackle or the length of the shackle that matters, it's the diameter of the shackle that matters. There is a little latch inside the hole where your lock's shackle goes through. So if the shackle is too narrow (small diameter), it cannot push against the latch inside the hole and the locker will not be locked properly.

So if you don't want to bother buying / bring the wrong padlocks, just buy them at the reception there for 2 or 3 pounds.

This hostel is not perfect and it is not as even good as many other hostels in many aspects. However, if you consider how much money you have saved by staying here and the location , you'll realize that this is a great place to stay in London.

In summary, this place offers a great location, inexpensive food, friendly staff , safe environment and a cheap rate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael V, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hello!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at YHA London Central and thank you for your feedback. You mentioned the shower floor being quite wet and there was an issue with slipping on the floor, we are aware of this issue and are in the process of getting all of our bathrooms remodelled to stop this issue from happening. I am sorry that this time you did get alloacted into a room with the old style bathroom. However, please be assured this issue is being dealt with.

It is also unfortunate to hear that you were allocated into a room with the old style of locker. We have actually started the process of changing all the lockers to a mecanism which will mean any size padlock will fit and secure the lock. This process should be compeleted very soon.

I am sorry that you had an issue with noise one night. Our hostel is usually very quiet at night time as we are in a residential area, however, if there is every a problem we do have a 24 hour reception team which can help to keep the building quiet if we are told about an issue late at night.

It is lovely to hear that you took advantage the memberhsip rewards of free WIFI and enjoyed our meals and spending time in our social spaces. It is also great to hear that you loved our team, we really pride ourselves on have a friendly team!

We hope to see you again at the hostel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

First, the good things about the hostel:
Location (close to everything, with lots of restaurants, cafes and supermarkets nearby);
Cheap food and drinks;
Staff is polite and nice;
Good comforter;
Lockers were big enough to fit suitcase + backpack;
They took out the trash from the room every day;
ATM inside the hostel'

The bad:
The room was small and had a moldy smell in the beginning. We left the window opened and it helped. I think it smelled because of the shower room, that smelled like sewer. When I was going to use the toilet there was a huge and dry bugger on the right wall. But I think you could only see it if you actually sat to use the toilet. So maybe that't why the cleaning staff didn't see it.
Whenever someone would shower it would get very wet all around, since there's only a very short plastic curtain and no barrier to block the water on the floor. Good luck keeping your pjs dry.
There were a lot of families with kids at the hostel. We woke up to a little girl doing jump ropes right outside our room on the second day of our stay.
Most of the power outlets in our room didn't work.
Wi-fi only worked at 0 and -1 floors and you had to pay for it. They do that to force people to interact with each other, but I have stayed in hostels were the internet worked in all floors and people would still interact with each other.
Bring earplugs, because the walls are very thin. Also, the floors and surrounding streets are very noisy. Every night some people would stay right outside in front of our window laughing and talking very loud an we were on one of the top floors. They would sit right in front of the hostel to smoke.
Also, our room was right beside the door that separated the rooms from the elevator area, so imagine a door slamming loudly every 20 minutes or so with people talking while they went through it?
One other thing that really bothered us was a weird woman that barged into our room saying she had forgotten a book there. She knocked on the door and we just opened a little bit to see who it was, but she forced herself into the room and started to ask about a book. Very uncomfortable situation since nobody at the hostel seemed to know nothing about this.

I would not stay in YHA central again. I would probably rent an apartment or something.
All 4 of us friends that shared the room felt the same and we are used to staying at hostels.

But it's an option for those who don't mind the above and want affordable accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priscilla_M_Anjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hi Priscilla,

Thank you very much for the feedback provided. We are sorry to hear about the unsatisfactory condition of the bathroom. Sitting on the toilet, testing the seat and looking at the bathroom is something that we actually do so it is unfortunate that this happened to you. We will be checking this issue very closely.

The bathroom being wet due to the design- we are in the process of remodelling all of our bathrooms to address this issue and many have already been completed-. We are sorry that there was an issue with the bathroom that you had both with the water on the floor and the smell- both of these issues are being addressed.

We check everyday the power outlets and lights in the room- prior to arrival, not during a guests stay. The plugs not working is often caused by a foreign electrical appliance being used that trips the fuse. We are sorry that we were not made aware of the situation as reception could have helped you with this 24 hours a day and resolved the problem straight away.

The wifi is only provided in the Cafe/bar and self catering kitchen and is free to members of the YHA or Hostelling International- payable to non members, from £1. Making the WiFi not available in rooms was designed to make the hostel more socilable and to bring guests together. Thanks to feedback such as yours we are currently looking at the possibility of putting WiFi into rooms and reviewing the cost of provision- thank you for this feedback.

We have three night security guards at the hostel who keep the noise down at the front of the hostel for the benefit of our guests. We are sorry to hear that the noise inside and outside the hostel was an issue for you. This is not an issue that is common but we will definitely be discussing this with the night team as well as looking at the noise from the door that you mentioned.

Your last point about a guest coming into your room looking for a book is completely unnacceptable. We have excellent security measures in place in the hostel (we rate very highly for this on all review sites) and a guest who had stayed in the room accessing the room to look for her book is not at all usual. The keys are designed to stop working at 10am on the day of departure. We can only apologise for the incident and assure you that a full review of procdure will take place. Again, thank you for bringing this our attention.

We thank you for the positive comments and assure you that all of the other feedback will be addressed.

Enjoy your travels,

Regards,

James Ryan

Hostel Manager
YHA London Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Location was perfect, everything was clean and the hostel all looked very modern. Only thing I was disappointed with was the size of the room was really difficult to get ready in the mornings and things there was so little space. Would defiantly stay here again although would request a bigger room .All staff we extremely friendly and it was good value for money (: x

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danii L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesRyan704, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hi Danii,

Thanks for the review. It is always great to hear nice comments about our lovely team- thank you.

We have many different types of room available so when you come to visit us again, mention this when booking and we can put you in one of the larger rooms.

Thanks again and happy travels!

James Ryan

Hostel Manager
YHA London Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 897 in London
2,587 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#23 of 897 in London
721 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#61 of 897 in London
406 reviews
City of London
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
#51 of 897 in London
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Central

Address: 104-108 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 897 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £23 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London Central 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your YHA London Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Central Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing