We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The membership card is a value for money there!”
Review of YHA London Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA London Central
Ranked #19 of 869 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The membership card is a value for money there!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hostel is excellent due to it's address: very close to the Regent's Park, Oxford Street, Picadilly and few minutes walking until the palace. There were 3 situations I ws looking at the map which station I should take to come back and then, I realised I was few minutes away. The room I have stayed was not so big,but have lockers. It is supplied with lockers for those who get there earlier or would leave London city later than the check out time. There is a bar where you can order sandwiches, a huge pizza (a starving person can eat, but a regular should share) and drinks. The only negative point is that there are only 2 showers for the whole corridor. Staff are excellent! I highly recommend them!!

Room Tip: Ask room in the fourth floor. In the fifth, the pressure of the shower is not very good and sometime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael V, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking hte time to leave us a review. Itsounds like you had a fantatic stay with us and enjoyed many of our great hostel facilities including the cafe/bar, safe storage lockers and, of course, our fabulour location!
You noticed that there were only 2 showers per floor in our hostel. This is because most of our rooms have ensuite facilties inside, meaning that the showers in the hallways are ronly shared by the 2 rooms per floor which don't have ensuite bathrooms. If you would like to have a room with an ensuite just send us a qucik email next time you book and you can request to be put in one of these rooms :)

Thanks again for your lovely review. See you at the hostel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    551
    125
    26
    15
See reviews for
228
33
415
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ferrara, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have been in this hostel with three friends in a private room with bathroom. Our room was small but clean, wifi wasn't free. Staff is really nice and friendly! This hostel is perfect for those who want to visit London, just 5 minutes from the tube and Oxford street. Beautiful location! We really enjoyed our stay, highly recommended, we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefania N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael V, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you for review. We really pride ourselves on happy, helpful and friendly staff and I'm glad you noticed.

The WIFI is free for members of YHA or HI and we always reccomend guests buy these as it also gives you a £3 disocunt off any further nights you stay with us after you buy the membership.

Thank you again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Have stayed here a good four times. The staff are always friendly and helpful with the tube, attractions and general information. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. The location is key though, don't need to take the tube most days because you can walk everywhere. If you arrive early and have time to spare before you leave, they let you store your bags downstairs in the luggage room. If you're a member, you get unlimited wifi, which is totally worth it if you plan on coming back to London in the future. The food and drinks served there are good too. They have a full kitchen downstairs you can use which comes in handy when saving money and a 24 hour Tesco down the street from them.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the main floor, the wifi works in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyleeWinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael V, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you for the great feedback about the hostel. We are really proud of our friendly, helpful staff and the food we serve in the cafe. It also sounds like you took advantage of our central location, the discounted attraction tickets we offer and also the free members WIFI.

Thank you again for the feedback and hope to see you at the hostel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I'd guess that this is one of the best hostels in London. Me and my friend M were quite nervous about it at first, since this was our first time hostelling, but the laid-back atmosphere and friendliness of the staff gave us a good introduction.

We found that you really should bring your own lock if you're planning to drop your luggage off in the hostel's storage room, which thankfully I had done. The hostel is enormous and we met a good number of people just going to and from the storage room.

It's a pretty typical hostel -- large dorms, echoey stairs with concrete walls, overpriced WiFi, basic linen, and hall bathrooms. The important thing to me was that it was clean, as I've heard there are a fair number of London hostels with hygiene problems. The beds weren't the most comfortable in the world, but I fell asleep just fine.

The reason I'm calling this one of London's best hostels is the price. It's right in the mid-range of London hostels and is easily affordable for even the tightest-budgeted traveler. And yet it manages to be clean and friendly and fosters a kind of community for all the travelers who stay there. This would definitely be a hostel to recommend if you're interested in meeting fellow globetrotters.

Five stars to the hostel lounge, which was big and beautiful and fun. And the breakfast wasn't half bad, either.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael V, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you for yor feedback. I'm happy to hear you found the hostel fun and good value. We really pride ourselves on having a space that guests can use to socalise in and meet others and also at a great price!

The WIFI can be accessed for free by members of YHA and HI, and with this membership you can also recieve a £3 discount per night you stay with us once you have the memberhip.

We have also just updated our breakfast menu to offer you more when you buy it, including items like cheese and bread, making it even better value!

Thank you again for your comments and feedback, see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed 2 nights in 6 bed female dorm. Hostel is in great location: within walking distance from many sightseeing objects and Oxford street. Room was nice, comfy beds, private shower (for the room) was clean enough, what else do you need in a hostel? :) Most of the people staying in this hostel were young people and the central lobby had a buzzing vibe - I liked that. One of the cons is that there's no free wi fi, but there're plenty of coffee houses around.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael V, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
HI Aldona,

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay at YHA London Central. We really pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the hostel and friendly atmosphere in the common spaces. And, of course, the location :)

We do offer free WIFI for members of YHA or HI and we always reccomend guests become members as not only do they get the free WIFI but they can also recieve a discount on any nights booked once a member (£3 for adults and £1.50 for U18's).

Thank you for your feedback adn see you at the hostel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartp100
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Not stayed in a hostel for a few years but was pleasantly suprised. The central lobby area was comfortable and relaxed, modern and sociable. Service was very friendly and the pizzas were great. We took a private room for 4 people set up in 2 lots of bunk beds - rooms were clean, qiuet and and beds comfy. Best was the location - Oxford Street and Soho within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael V, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hi Stuart!

Thanks so much for the great review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on having an amazing team (who can make amazing pizzas!) and it's awesome to hear you took advantage of our central location.

Thanks again for the kind words and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

London is a VERY expensive place to stay for travellers. For this hostel, as long as you go with the right expectation, you'll be very happy.

We stayed in a 6 people bedroom with private bathroom and shower. Room including in-room bathroom and shower stall were clean. Bunk beds were also comfortable.

There are some issues with the shower stall. The floor in the private shower stall could get very wet and had small puddle of water accumulated after shower. One of us slipped twice in the shower stall because of the wet floor after shower. The washing basin was also unusually small. The problem was that the basin was small, and there was a rack immediate on top of the basin, so your face would easily hit the rack when brushing your teeth.

We stayed there for 3 nights and one night there were noises from outside the room. Someone was talking on the phone loudly late night making it difficult to sleep. Overall, noise level was considered low.

Wifi was free for Hostel members and we had no problem with that as we were members. Wifi signal was only good on the ground floor and we were ok with that. The reception area was also a great hangout place with big tables and benches.

They serve simple but very affordable breakfast in the lounge. In the evening , they also serve pizza and beer at a very low price.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Safety was not a concern as the main entrance access requires card key in the evening.

Location is excellent. It was only a 8-10 min walk to Oxford street.

Many people commented about the pad lock for the in-room lockers. Basically, it's not the overall size of the shackle or the length of the shackle that matters, it's the diameter of the shackle that matters. There is a little latch inside the hole where your lock's shackle goes through. So if the shackle is too narrow (small diameter), it cannot push against the latch inside the hole and the locker will not be locked properly.

So if you don't want to bother buying / bring the wrong padlocks, just buy them at the reception there for 2 or 3 pounds.

This hostel is not perfect and it is not as even good as many other hostels in many aspects. However, if you consider how much money you have saved by staying here and the location , you'll realize that this is a great place to stay in London.

In summary, this place offers a great location, inexpensive food, friendly staff , safe environment and a cheap rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael V, Manager at YHA London Central, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at YHA London Central and thank you for your feedback. You mentioned the shower floor being quite wet and there was an issue with slipping on the floor, we are aware of this issue and are in the process of getting all of our bathrooms remodelled to stop this issue from happening. I am sorry that this time you did get alloacted into a room with the old style bathroom. However, please be assured this issue is being dealt with.

It is also unfortunate to hear that you were allocated into a room with the old style of locker. We have actually started the process of changing all the lockers to a mecanism which will mean any size padlock will fit and secure the lock. This process should be compeleted very soon.

I am sorry that you had an issue with noise one night. Our hostel is usually very quiet at night time as we are in a residential area, however, if there is every a problem we do have a 24 hour reception team which can help to keep the building quiet if we are told about an issue late at night.

It is lovely to hear that you took advantage the memberhsip rewards of free WIFI and enjoyed our meals and spending time in our social spaces. It is also great to hear that you loved our team, we really pride ourselves on have a friendly team!

We hope to see you again at the hostel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#23 of 869 in London
707 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 869 in London
2,549 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#57 of 869 in London
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
City of London
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
#53 of 869 in London
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Central

Property: YHA London Central
Address: 104-108 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 869 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London Central 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your YHA London Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Central Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing