We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of YHA London Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA London Central
Ranked #17 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 6 December 2010

In regards to the accommodation and location this was definitely a great place to stay, but all the other reviewers have already said this.

My only complaints/comments were these:

One night we had a staff member come to our room after we'd only gotten back to warn us that if we continued being so loud they'd have to split us up. Which was odd considering we hadn't been in our room for over an hour, but I guess they had no way to check the validity of the complaint and since nothing else happened it was mostly a non issue for us. Though we certainly made a great effort to read our novels extremely quietly, haha.

The only real staff related issue is (and I'm not sure how common this is) that one day a staff member barged right into our room to empty our garbage or something while we were all still in bed without even knocking. Which was.. kind of hilarious, yet still embarrassing since we were all snoring and lying around in our underwear when they walked right in.

They also have a book in the lobby of recommended dining/nightlife/etc. and we found that the scale they used to determine price or 'fanciness' was rather lacking. We realized this when we tracked down a club advertising live music, for average/cheap (in the book) and found it was a high class, cordons and 'do you look cool enough to enter' bouncer kind of place. We also tried a restaurant off the list which turned out to be Gaylord's, which.. yes individually the prices were low. But you had to order multiple items in order to have a full meal. They charged separately for: any naan, rice, curries, etc. which is not uncommon, and also included an auto 15% gratuity, which was rather uncommon, and ordering a full meal was not exactly cheap.

My final comment may be somewhat circumstantial, but we stayed up on the third floor on the back of the building, and there was a porn studio (I think) directly across from us, which had a tendency to throw the fire escape doors wide open while filming. While this was hilarious to us, it might not be so hilarious for families with small children. Whether they are still there, or if it was just for a couple days I don't know.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Velouaaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    536
    116
    23
    15
See reviews for
221
32
398
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

My family and I stayed in YHA Central London for 5 days. The location is quite convenient for getting to the main attractions in London (about 10 - 15 walk from Warren St Tube station), the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Would recommend it as a good base, at a reasonable price, for travelling around London.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singapore_Daydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Terrific accomodations, clean, and well run. the staff was terrific and helpful, and I would recommend this place to any who don't mind sharing with other folks.

All around, a very good experience.

Cheers.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Good location as it was only 15-20mins walk to Oxford Street.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Hostel staff also had organised a few social events which my friend and I signed up to do the Comedy club tour - this could have been better organised as they didnt explain how to pay for the bus and where to catch the bus to go back to the hostel. Also the staff that organised the tour left us at there to fend for ourselves.

Sleep was terrible as there were 8 people sharing the dorm room, with too many comings & goings throughout all hours of the night. The only good thing was meeting people from different countries.

Breakfast was good and cheap with a wide enough range of food to choice from.

The net was fast, but expensive compared to some other cities.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellervm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

nice location
clean rooms
great staff and lounge area
would stay again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Stayed at YHA London Central for 2 nights about mid-October 2010, in a 4-bed female dorm. Convenient location about 5 to10 minutes from Great Portland tube station (once you get Bolsover Street figured out, it is just a straight walk down). Bolsover Street is not considered a main thoroughfare and is not bustling, but the neighbourhood is safe and decent. Hostel has a lift, which makes it very convenient for those with heavier baggage. Room was en-suite and clean. Breakfast was not included in the price, but not a problem as there are plenty of supermarts and food outlets nearby. Overall, a good location for exploring London.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2010

I booked this hostel to stay in with 3 of my other friends after a wedding that we were attending 5mins down the road.
We had a private 4 bed dorm with en-suite.
I completely sold the hostel to 1 of my friends who is a VERY non hostel person with the reviews from trip advisor.
I'm happy (and relieved) to say it lived up to everyones reviews.
I have stayed in many hostels around the world and I have to say for a city place this was lovely,clean with a relaxed feel.

Brilliant value for money. £86 ( £74 for the room and £3 each YHA temp membership) Not bad for a clean bed for the night in the middle of London.

Would without a doubt stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#38 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#64 of 823 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Central

Property: YHA London Central
Address: 104-108 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA London Central 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your YHA London Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Central Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing