We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clink78

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clink78
Ranked #74 of 803 Speciality Lodging in London
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2016

Thank you for a perfect stay, every thing was very clean and tidy. We were in a private room with a private restroom. Breakfast included, very active bar space and funny people, atmosfere was really nice.

Room Tip: private rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EthamCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Clink261, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, 4 March 2016
Hi Etham,
What a nice review, thanks for that! Great to hear you liked our bar :-)
Hope to see you back again soon!
Kind regards, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    711
    470
    195
    178
See reviews for
113
215
565
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baza, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2016

Clink78 is located super close to King's Cross Station which made moving around London very easy. And close to the British Museum! The hostel is set in an old courthouse with many cool rooms & features. WiFi was very reliable & fast in all parts of the hostel. The free breakfast that was simple and efficient.
Had to wait almost 30 minutes to check in with many people coming in behind me also waiting. Members of staff moved about the reception area/desk doing other things reassuring us that someone would be along to help us soon. Otherwise, the staff was very helpful with any questions that I had about the hostel or London. When my keycard stopped working two nights in a row, the young man who helped me the first night remembered me the second time & we chatted about music.
I booked a room in an 8-bed dorm & received a top bunk in a 6-bed dorm. Unfortunately, the room smelledstrongly & the window let in a lot of water (condensation) over night. As my bunk was next to the window, every morning parts of my duvet were wet.
A pretty good hostel with a great location & many awesome features. Would definitely be easy to make some new mates while staying at Clink78.

  • Stayed February 2016, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpjbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Clink261, Front of House Supervisor at Clink78, responded to this review, 2 March 2016
Hello,

Thank you so much for the review! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Clink78 and had fun. We have recently (about time, right?) made the wi-fi available in all the rooms so your feedback is highly appreciated. Sorry for the long wait during the check in, we are trying to move as fast as possible but from time to time get a bit overwhelmed with the amount of people, we hope your check-in went smoothly and you felt welcome and taken care of. We are sending you best regards and hoping to see you again soon. Safe trips!

Indra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

There are some pretty poor reviews on here, I'm not sure why.

3 out of 5 is fair for this place.

Guys, it's a hostel. Are you expecting 5 star luxury for the price you paid? Sadly you don't get a champagne lifestyle on a beer budget!

The good:
- beds are comfortable
- the hostel was clean throughout
- the bar area is great and easy to chat with others

The not so good:
- beds were unmade when we arrived, so we made them ourselves
- climbing into the top bunk was a little like one of those old school climbing frames and I'm a little clumsy
- nowhere to put luggage, our room was massive for a private twin room but only beds and a sink, no shelving or lockers etc.

We paid £80 in total, so £40 each per bed for one night. Breakfast was included.

Stayed February 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Follomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Clink261, Front of House Supervisor at Clink78, responded to this review, 2 March 2016
Hello there,

Thank you for your time leaving us a review. High five for your insights! Clink78 is a hostel indeed, being located in a heart of London - close to King's Cross station, from where you can conveniently reach any other station within minutes, based in an old court house with loads of history, having a free breakfast and all of this for a fairly low price is a pretty good deal :) Our housekeeping team changes the bed linen after guests check out every day, all you need to do is to spread your clean bed sheet on the mattress, if your bed wasn't cleaned by mistake - just come to reception and we will sort that out for you. Wishing you great future travels and hoping to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Indra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

I loved the venue, the location, the eclectic people and most of all I loved the atmosphere! Although a big hostel you could still chat with lots of people not just In your dorm!

The bar is also great fun! Don't worry about the language barrier just chat with who you can! If thyme dont speak English give their language a crack!

You're close to Euston, St Pancras and a tube stop so easy to get to! A big sainsburys is also close for those on a budget!

Compared to other hostels this may be a little expensive but the bar makes up for it...

The only draw back is THERE ARE NO CURTAINS IN THE ROOM!! This can pretty damn annoying as the front Is a Busy road!

Stayed March 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FlashJordan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Clink261, Receptionist at Clink78, responded to this review, 2 March 2016
Hi There!

Thank you for taking the time to write such great review! We love that you had such a great time here and that you love our hostel just as much as we do. As you noticed we are in a very convenient location for travellers with an abundant amount of transportation options available. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you need a place to stay in London.

Regards, Lucinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in a private ensuite with a friend. It was dirty, the sheets had mould on the top corner, the bed made SO much noise with the slightest movement and was so uncomfortable. The bathroom absolutely stank! There were hairs over it and just generally dirty. The room itself smelt bad. There was so much noise constantly if I hadn't booked tickets for the second night I would have left.
The only good thing was the staff, they were friendly.

Stayed February 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, 1 March 2016
Hi Lauren!

We would like to thank you for taking some time and leaving your feedback with us from your stay at Clink 78. Every kind of feedback is welcome as it will always help us improve in the near future.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. However, there are many ways in which we (both you and us) could have made your stay way better.

Our reception team is on 24/7 and are always more than happy to arrange a room change if you are not happy with your room, subject to availability. We also have HK team on site 24/7 and any issues regarding cleanliness would have been dealt right away had these been reported to our front desk.

If any of these issues are raised to, as you mentioned, any of our friendly staff, your stay would have been far better than apparently was.

We would also like to find more information regarding your stay, just to investigate further if there was a particular reason why, as you stated on your review, found the room in such condition. Would really appreciate if you could forward an email to reception.supervisor@clinkhostels.co.uk with further details.

Again, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations but are sure that, giving it another go, you would really enjoy your stay with us.

Best regards,

Ivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

The hostel itself is pretty nice, it's settled in a former court which Is crazy, wifi is free and really fast! Other good points: the bar is really cool and cheap.
However rooms are awful: small and cold! Plus all beds are next to each other.. You are literally sleeping with strangers.
Also please be aware that showers are not really warm and we were frozen...
I wouldn't recommend this hostel to a friend if it's more than one night

Stayed February 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, 1 March 2016
Hi Leah!

First of all we would like to thank you for sparing some of your time and leaving your feedback with us from your stay here at Clink 78.

We are happy to hear that you overall had a good stay with us with a few downsides there. Glad to know you enjoyed our lovely Clash bar, that brings entertainment and cheap drinks all week :)

Now it is true that some of our rooms are smaller than others. This is due to the unique shape of the building we are based on. However, a room change can be arranged from our 24/7 front desk at any time, obviously subject to availability but under no surcharge at all.

We had some issues with the central heating and this would explain why the room was not warm enough or the lack of hot water during this short period. We do have electrical heaters that can also be borrowed from our front desk. However, we sincerely apologize for the issues this may have caused you during your stay.

Would like to thank you again for your review and hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards

Ivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

Generally Clink78 is one of the best value UK hostels I've visited. But this time the toilets weren't flushing, there was a hammer and drilling sound late into the night that seemed to be just through the nearest wall. And I was unlucky enough to be sharing with people on a completely different timetable to me: 2am typing, zipping/unzipping, rustling bags, eating hot food and crisps, dropping dozens of pencils across a wooden floor... Granted that last bit is luck of the draw and I should have earplugs and an eye mask... but why can't there be 'early bird' and 'night owl' dorms? I'm sure my 6am start frustrated my fellow dormers too.

Stayed February 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank roeged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, 1 March 2016
Hi there!

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us here at Clink 78.

We are sorry to hear that you did not overall had a great stay with us this particular time.

It is a shame that there was this slight issue with the bathrooms and noisy pipes. As a returning customer you were probably aware that our reception and HK team works on site 24/7 and are always available to check/fix any issues if these are reported and within our capability.

As you mentioned on your review, roommates are always a bit of a lottery you might say. We are sorry that you were not "lucky" with them this time and were woken up during your sleeping hours. A room change can always be arranged under no surcharge subject to availability.

There is unfortunately no functional way to classify the guest that way as not always everybody with the intentions of arriving late will always do so and the other way round too.

Again, would like to thank you for your review and we will hopefully see you soon!

Best regards

Ivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#62 of 803 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#34 of 803 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#42 of 803 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#27 of 803 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 803 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clink78? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink78

Property: Clink78
Address: 78 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 803 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clink is a social and stylish backpacker hostel in a converted court house! Experience a heritage building with a modern twist: internet and TV courtrooms, prison cells, private rooms, dorm rooms, self-catering kitchen, funky bar... Judge for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clink78 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing