We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clink78
Nearby Hotels
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock(London)(Great Value!)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton London Canary Wharf(London)(Great Value!)
US$395
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$317
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$409
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,290)
Filter reviews
2,290 results
Traveller rating
439
843
545
243
220
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
843
545
243
220
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclash barinternet roomcourt roomold court housebed mixed dormbottom bunkfemale dormfree breakfastcross stationking crosscommon roomrooms are smallst pancrascourthousecourtroomcerealtube
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 2,290 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Clink78 is located super close to King's Cross Station which made moving around London very easy. And close to the British Museum! The hostel is set in an old courthouse with many cool rooms & features. WiFi was very reliable & fast in all parts of the hostel. The free breakfast that was simple and efficient.
Had to wait almost 30 minutes to check in with many people coming in behind me also waiting. Members of staff moved about the reception area/desk doing other things reassuring us that someone would be along to help us soon. Otherwise, the staff was very helpful with any questions that I had about the hostel or London. When my keycard stopped working two nights in a row, the young man who helped me the first night remembered me the second time & we chatted about music.
I booked a room in an 8-bed dorm & received a top bunk in a 6-bed dorm. Unfortunately, the room smelledstrongly & the window let in a lot of water (condensation) over night. As my bunk was next to the window, every morning parts of my duvet were wet.
A pretty good hostel with a great location & many awesome features. Would definitely be easy to make some new mates while staying at Clink78.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mpjbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Clink261, Front of House Supervisor at Clink78, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Hello,

Thank you so much for the review! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Clink78 and had fun. We have recently (about time, right?) made the wi-fi available in all the rooms so your feedback is highly appreciated. Sorry for the long wait during the check in, we are trying to move as fast as possible but from time to time get a bit overwhelmed with the amount of people, we hope your check-in went smoothly and you felt welcome and taken care of. We are sending you best regards and hoping to see you again soon. Safe trips!

Indra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

There are some pretty poor reviews on here, I'm not sure why.

3 out of 5 is fair for this place.

Guys, it's a hostel. Are you expecting 5 star luxury for the price you paid? Sadly you don't get a champagne lifestyle on a beer budget!

The good:
- beds are comfortable
- the hostel was clean throughout
- the bar area is great and easy to chat with others

The not so good:
- beds were unmade when we arrived, so we made them ourselves
- climbing into the top bunk was a little like one of those old school climbing frames and I'm a little clumsy
- nowhere to put luggage, our room was massive for a private twin room but only beds and a sink, no shelving or lockers etc.

We paid £80 in total, so £40 each per bed for one night. Breakfast was included.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Clink261, Front of House Supervisor at Clink78, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Hello there,

Thank you for your time leaving us a review. High five for your insights! Clink78 is a hostel indeed, being located in a heart of London - close to King's Cross station, from where you can conveniently reach any other station within minutes, based in an old court house with loads of history, having a free breakfast and all of this for a fairly low price is a pretty good deal :) Our housekeeping team changes the bed linen after guests check out every day, all you need to do is to spread your clean bed sheet on the mattress, if your bed wasn't cleaned by mistake - just come to reception and we will sort that out for you. Wishing you great future travels and hoping to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Indra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

I loved the venue, the location, the eclectic people and most of all I loved the atmosphere! Although a big hostel you could still chat with lots of people not just In your dorm!

The bar is also great fun! Don't worry about the language barrier just chat with who you can! If thyme dont speak English give their language a crack!

You're close to Euston, St Pancras and a tube stop so easy to get to! A big sainsburys is also close for those on a budget!

Compared to other hostels this may be a little expensive but the bar makes up for it...

The only draw back is THERE ARE NO CURTAINS IN THE ROOM!! This can pretty damn annoying as the front Is a Busy road!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank FlashJordan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Clink261, Receptionist at Clink78, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Hi There!

Thank you for taking the time to write such great review! We love that you had such a great time here and that you love our hostel just as much as we do. As you noticed we are in a very convenient location for travellers with an abundant amount of transportation options available. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you need a place to stay in London.

Regards, Lucinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in a private ensuite with a friend. It was dirty, the sheets had mould on the top corner, the bed made SO much noise with the slightest movement and was so uncomfortable. The bathroom absolutely stank! There were hairs over it and just generally dirty. The room itself smelt bad. There was so much noise constantly if I hadn't booked tickets for the second night I would have left.
The only good thing was the staff, they were friendly.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Hi Lauren!

We would like to thank you for taking some time and leaving your feedback with us from your stay at Clink 78. Every kind of feedback is welcome as it will always help us improve in the near future.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. However, there are many ways in which we (both you and us) could have made your stay way better.

Our reception team is on 24/7 and are always more than happy to arrange a room change if you are not happy with your room, subject to availability. We also have HK team on site 24/7 and any issues regarding cleanliness would have been dealt right away had these been reported to our front desk.

If any of these issues are raised to, as you mentioned, any of our friendly staff, your stay would have been far better than apparently was.

We would also like to find more information regarding your stay, just to investigate further if there was a particular reason why, as you stated on your review, found the room in such condition. Would really appreciate if you could forward an email to reception.supervisor@clinkhostels.co.uk with further details.

Again, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations but are sure that, giving it another go, you would really enjoy your stay with us.

Best regards,

Ivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

The hostel itself is pretty nice, it's settled in a former court which Is crazy, wifi is free and really fast! Other good points: the bar is really cool and cheap.
However rooms are awful: small and cold! Plus all beds are next to each other.. You are literally sleeping with strangers.
Also please be aware that showers are not really warm and we were frozen...
I wouldn't recommend this hostel to a friend if it's more than one night

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Leah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2016

Hi Leah!

First of all we would like to thank you for sparing some of your time and leaving your feedback with us from your stay here at Clink 78.

We are happy to hear that you overall had a good stay with us with a few downsides there. Glad to know you enjoyed our lovely Clash bar, that brings entertainment and cheap drinks all week :)

Now it is true that some of our rooms are smaller than others. This is due to the unique shape of the building we are based on. However, a room change can be arranged from our 24/7 front desk at any time, obviously subject to availability but under no surcharge at all.

We had some issues with the central heating and this would explain why the room was not warm enough or the lack of hot water during this short period. We do have electrical heaters that can also be borrowed from our front desk. However, we sincerely apologize for the issues this may have caused you during your stay.

Would like to thank you again for your review and hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards

Ivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews