We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Still the best hostel in London” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clink78

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clink78
Ranked #73 of 802 Speciality Lodging in London
Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
1 review
“Still the best hostel in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2016

I've stayed with Clink 78 five times now, and they never disappoint. Most beds are covered at the sides with woods to separate them, and if you hang your towel up you basically have a little cubicle with lots of privacy. This is the only hostel I've stayed in that had bunk beds like this and it's my favorite thing about the place. Friendly, safe atmosphere, too, and a great bar that allows both for studying, reading, gaming and dancing, and the drinks are very cheap. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I prefer mixed 4 bed rooms ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thanks a lot Dawn! Great to hear you love our bunk beds!
We hope to see you soon for your 6th visit :-)
Kind regards,
Laura, Guest experience manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    712
    472
    195
    178
See reviews for
113
215
568
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2016

I love this hostel. It has character and I've always met nice people staying there. The 14-bed dorm are a bit noisy, but it depends on your room mates. Breakfast is basic but fills you up and gives you a good start into the day. I enjoyed my stays there and I'll be back too :)

  • Stayed May 2015, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thanks Nadi, that's great to hear :-)
We hope to see you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Laura, Guest experience manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2016

We lived in Clink78 4 days .first day ,we slept on a room windows face to street ,very noisy ,I can't sleep whole night.
The second day we moved to 309 ,the room is quite ,good sleep .
The third day ,moved to 4 indian men ,2 of them snore whole night ,then they get up 6:30 am noisy until they left ,we could have a sleep .
The fourth day ,a lot of people ,but everyone is quiet .so good sleep .
my experience is : choose the room upstairs ,3,4 or 5 all good . window not face to street .then hope you met a good manner roommate .
location is good ,but Clink 261 more convenient place .

Room Tip: upstairs ,window not face to street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guxiao73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Hi!
Thanks for your review! I'm sorry to hear you had some bad experience with snorring roommates. To make sure you don't get bothered by roommates you can also book on of our private rooms, we have some cool old prison cells for example :-)
Hope to see you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Laura, Guest experience manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

I had a lot of fun and met new friends! I recommend you go on the free tour! You gonna love it.. The hostel has a live band every Friday..you can cook what you wanna eat and also there's a diner across the hostel. P.S you gonna pay for your towel and make sure to buy phone adapter for you to charge ur phone! Overall the place is lively

Stayed March 2016
Helpful?
Thank Idara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Hi Idara!
Thanks a lot, that's great to hear :-) We have often nice events in the bars. Every Friday we have a DJ or a band. Hope you (and your new friends) are coming back again soon!
Kind regards,
Laura, Guest experience manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setubal District, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2016

If you're looking for a place where your friends can crash your bags and leave out into the city, look no more.
I stayed in 6-bed room on the fifth floor with friends. The room did not have a mirror or coat rack so it got very messy very easily. It has a heating system though.
The bathrooms and shower rooms are located at the end of the corridors so you have to either get dressed in the shower or walk with your towel to your room.
On the last floor (-1) you have the kitchen and the bar. My favourite part of the entire hostel. There's always someone there and the atmosphere is very lively. You can cook your own meals. The breakfast consists of either toasts of cereals with a selection of both (quite some variety of jams and a little less of cereals).
There's the possibility to choose between table football or snooker in the bar.
The location is great. A short way until King's Cross and therefore the Underground station.

  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Hi Daniela,
Thanks a lot for your great review, that's nice to hear :-)
Great to hear you also loved the atmosphere in the basement!
Hope to see you and your friends back again soon!
Kind regards,
Laura, Guest experience manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lidkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2016

I stayed at this hostel for 2 nights in the middle of Mars 2016, with a friend. We booked a 2 bed room and it was very smal, the door almost touched the bunkbed when it opened, so if one of us were inside when the other one opened the door we had to sit or climb up onto the beds so the other one could get inside. This was actually something we laugh at and also you shouldn't really book a hostel and have any special or high expectations.

Breakfast was kind of doll and unhealthy, but included, just try to arrive before or after everyone else.

Good and helpful staff.
Feels lika a labyrinth in the beginning, a lot of hallways and staircases.
When the maids are cleaning the elevator is kind of blocked, we had to carry our suitcases down the stairs to check out.

Only about 8-10 minutes walk from King's Cross and 5 minutes to nearest convenient store.
You can practily hear everything that goes on around you in the building so bring earplugs if you're sensitive to sound at night.

  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matilda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thanks Matilda for your review! We are in a old building and some rooms can be quite small, I'm happy you had a laugh about it :-)
You can also get free earplugs at the reception!
Hope to see you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Laura, Guest experience manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#56 of 802 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#32 of 802 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 802 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 802 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#24 of 802 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clink78? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink78

Property: Clink78
Address: 78 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 802 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clink is a social and stylish backpacker hostel in a converted court house! Experience a heritage building with a modern twist: internet and TV courtrooms, prison cells, private rooms, dorm rooms, self-catering kitchen, funky bar... Judge for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, SpeedyBooker.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Clink78 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing