We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisiteservice”

Sagardi Basque Country Chefs
Reserve with OpenTable
Sagardi Basque Country Chefs is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,608 of 25,464 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Shoreditch
Description: Sagardi Basque Country Chefs is a Basque Country restaurant based in the heart of the trendy neighbourhood of Shoreditch. Every day we offer a true Basque experience bringing the best products directly from the producer to the table. The best cuts meat from northern Spain, fresh fish from Cornwall ports, seasonal vegetables from our gardens and traditional Basque pintxos are key products representing our authentic cuisine. Enjoy!
Reviewed 27 June 2018

My bf and i walked in to have a couple appetizers and drinks. we had the most amazing bit sized nibbles and they were absolutely mouth-watering. The manager served us and had so much detail about the wine we were drinking. He was amazing. i will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank palmygal93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Maître d’“Basil Fawlty”’ forgot to order half of our meal and seem surprised when we weren’t happy to pay for those items which had arrived. A long argument with the owner ensued. At one point the owner threatened the phone the police. Other superior Basque / Spanish is available in the local area at a better price and service quality for a similar food quality.

4  Thank twc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Restaurant forgot to provide side dishes in our order, so provided cooked beef and nothing else (i.e half of a meal). We waited a log time for more food. Then the manager argued with us over the bill. This was disappointing as the price point is high and we were a large group willing to pay top dollar (including a large wine order).

Poor service and poor attitude from staff including the manager.

Would not return.

Would advise others to try different Spanish restaurants in London, such as Drake’s Tabanco (which is utterly superb in food and service). This restaurant should NOT be doing business in London.

1  Thank AnatoleLazarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoSAGARDI, Director General at Sagardi Basque Country Chefs, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Hi,

We always appreciate feedback from our customers so thank you for taking the time to write your review.

While we pride ourselves on attaining the highest possible standards in both our cuisine and service we understand that it is not possible to meet everyone’s expectations.

We apologise for the miscommunication between our waiter and your group regarding the 2 side dishes that you had ordered for the table. As a gesture of good will, the manager kindly offered complimentary dessert for the confusion but as you preferred a discounted bill, this was agreed.

After processing 25% off your final bill for the 2 missing side dishes, the discounted bill was only part-paid and left with an outstanding amount of £89+. After the manager gently brought this to your attention, you initially refused to pay whilst sadly explaining the negative reviews we would receive. We are pleased however that this was settled and resolved before departure.

We are always concerned when our customers are not entirely satisfied as every table is important to us at Sagardi. We catered for 90+ guests on Saturday evening and I am pleased to say we did not receive a single other complaint regarding our service or communication.

It’s clear however that you were disappointed and as we do not want this to be anyone´s memory of Sagardi, please feel free to contact us if you would like to enjoy a more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

The food was good...but sadly the service is woefully bad. Half the meal came and the manager had the nerve to argue that we had eaten some of it so should pay... I wouldn’t go back. Very poor.

4  Thank Lep1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

I chanced upon this place and I am so pleased I did, wonderful staff, kindness itself. Took me on a guided tour and the wine selection was amazing. The food superb the Albarinio fantastic. Booked for the Sunday Roast. The beef is something very special. Highly recommended x

Thank GILL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sagardi Basque Country Chefs also viewed

 

Been to Sagardi Basque Country Chefs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing