We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place must be n trouble!”

Maple Leaf Sports Bar and Grill
Ranked #5,580 of 24,420 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$13 - US$20
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Description: The Maple Leaf is a little piece of Canada in the heart of Covent Garden. The pub serves traditional Canadian food and drinks, showing Hockey, Football, Rugby, Darts, Cricket and NFL. The Maple Leaf also offers free wi-fi so come down and say hi to the team- they look forward to seeing you!
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We went in to check it out and there were 5 people there at 2pm. We ordered different beers from the taps and I don't know where they get their Sleemans, but they were off. They we're out of Coors Light. Huge problem was the food!. We ordered platter to try a few things first. Good thing we did! Canadian pubs most important item is food to survive. This place is a disgrace. Had to say something so told staff the half eaten platter "was terrible". She just nodded and walked away meaning to me that she gets that a lot. You can go to watch old hockey games,etc just don't eat.....and drink from bottles only.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NiceguyNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alliemapleleaf, Director of Social Media at Maple Leaf Sports Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

HI there,

We are sorry to hear about your experience and hope you pop by and give us a second chance!

Cheers
Allie
The Maple Leaf
Director of Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Have come here a few times now, and to be honest it's not the best watering hole in London by any means, but is a bit of a lovable dive and you can usually find a seat sooner or later on a busy night. The Canadian beer choices are a nice change and the atmosphere is usually pretty good. Staff are friendly and drinks are fairly priced. Food isnt anything to write home about (think Wetherspoons).

Would recommend for an easy drink with a friend, or to watch sports on the big screen TVs (they'll show major games and a couple of screens will have some ice hockey or American football.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SirAttilaMeridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alliemapleleaf, Director of Social Media at Maple Leaf Sports Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for reviewing the Maple Leaf! We hope to see you again soon for a visit!

Cheers
Allie
The Maple Leaf
Director of Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Don't like it, won't go back. This is a pub in central London yet the toilets were disgusting (clogged and overflowing), no soap in the dispensers. Three of their draught beers including Sleeman Honey Brown ran dry. Food is sub-par at best. Think of cheap cafeteria poutine and that is what is served here. Nachos are as bad as most places in London. When I complained management was more concerned with counting their money than looking after their customers. Go else where, its not worth the trip. There is nothing really Canadian about it- they don't stay open for major Canadian sporting events that fall outside regular hours (Grey Cup, Stanley Cup playoffs/Finals). If this pub was in Canada I wouldn't go to it. There are lots of good pubs in London, this is not one of them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alliemapleleaf, Director of Social Media at Maple Leaf Sports Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Hi Chris,

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience at the Maple Leaf. We are currently under new management and hope you stop by again one day to give us a second chance.

Cheers
Allie
The Maple Leaf
Director of Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Have been in here twice and it always seems to be busy. Good selection of drinks, never tried the food. Great Canadian pub!

Thank PurpleJuice11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alliemapleleaf, Director of Social Media at Maple Leaf Sports Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Hi there,

We are glad you enjoyed yourself! Hope to see you again soon for a visit!

Cheers
Allie
The Maple Leaf
Director of Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

A little taste of home. Had a craving for poutine and a moose light and they did not disappoint on either. Food was fantastic, the atmosphere is great. Service was great. All in all a great experience

Thank MonaMoonstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alliemapleleaf, Director of Social Media at Maple Leaf Sports Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Hi there,

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our pub! We hope we see you again soon!

Cheers
Allie
The Maple Leaf
Director of Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maple Leaf Sports Bar and Grill also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Maple Leaf Sports Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing