We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small room but good public transport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chiswick Lodge Hotel
Ranked #469 of 582 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights somewhere in Oct 2008. Once you reached the hotel entrance, you have to ring the bell and need to carry yourself your luggages through the stairs which accomodate the reception table. It was more like a family business and the owner was very nice. It was a very small room to accomodate 2 adults and 1 baby (10mths old). No space to put down our luggages of 2 bags. We had to put it in the bathroom and the bathroom was indeed very tiny but it came with hot shower facility. The homemade breakfast made specially for you makes you feel "homey" (one bonus for this hotel).

However, this hotel located at a very nice area where you can find small shops along the road nearby. Quite numbers of interesting shops ie. craft, kids clothes, GAP. The Turnham Green station makes your holiday much more easier especially with a baby. But at night, you can hear the trains passing by and you can feel your bed shaken, it did effect our sleep.

It was such an experienced but we are not planning to stay here again due to the room size compared to the price we paid. We are not sure if at this time of year this hotel has improves.

Room Tip: Ask for room further than the sound of trains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iza_chuppakidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

The radiator was on full blast and I couldn't turn it off. It was inhabitable! They wouldn't help with this and not only was the guy rude, he refused to put me in another room or give me a refund. I ended up walking out and not getting my money back. So furious :(
Don't do it !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophiesly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The location: basically attached to the tube station - so that it shakes when the trains pass!
the entrance: via a grim alleyway with rubbish bins and scattered garbage
the smell: dust, dirty socks, post-curry sweat
the rooms: extremely small, very dirty, with antediluvian bathrooms and sticky moquette (i kept my shoes on the whole time). To access your room you have to climb up a steep and very narrow staircase.
the breakfast: after the night spent there, we didn't even bother trying the breakfast. Besides, there is no breakfast room, so you'd have to eat it on your bed.

On the bright side: you will never feel lonely. There are MICE in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annarb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I really wished I had checked Tripadvisor in advance rather than just going for the hotel website, which turned out to be completely misleading. I was expecting a basic but OK hotel, I just needed a bed for the night. But this place is horrible. It was boiling hot, smelled like the kitchen of a curry house, the room was tiny, with windows that opened straight above the overground tube station which sounded like the trains were driving straight through the room. And everything looked old and scruffy; didn't even there to investigate up close. We arrived late at night and had already paid in advance, but still realised it was going to be impossible to sleep there and walked out to find something else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mshappygolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel. After seing the mice and discovering the corresponding holes I could not sleep all night as I heard the mice scratching in the walls and underneath my bed. The hotel management are aware of the issue as some holes are fixed and some are just covered with furniture such as bedside tables.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

According to their website this "hotel" has recently been refurbished. If it has, I dread to think wht it was like before (do not be fooled by their photos either - take a look at mine). Noise level - high. The entrance is up a side alley full of dustbins and there is a narrow set of steps to the tiny reception area. TINY - as are the rooms. In our double you had to walk sideways via the bottom of the (very small) double bed to get to the other side. My husband placed his hat on the shelf next to the TV and when he went to retrieve it the following morning, it was grey with dust. The rest of the room was clean and the towels and sheets were fresh (not too sure about the state of the pillows under the pillow-covers though). Very, very basic and as for the shower - well, we simply did not bother. Difficult to see in the bathroom mirror as it was well behind the sink. They could do with mirrors in the room too. There was one cracked plastic hanger behind the door. As for breakfast - undrinkable tea & coffee and the croissants, having been reheated in the microwave, were inedible. (There is a "Cote Brasserie" just down the road serving superb coffee and breakfasts). We paid £69 for the double room. Having paid in advance we were unable to cancel but sadly, too late, we were told about Wellness, also in the immediate vicinity. We shall not need to stay in Turnham Green again but wherever we next find ourselves, we shall research much more carefully. HAVING SAID ALL THAT, THE STAFF WERE ABSOLUTELY CHARMING, FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. THE OWNER SHOULD TAKE NOTE. A further point to mention is that this place is unsuitable for people with mobility problems.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room away from the station/platforms/bridge but you will still hear the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkSophisticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Lets be clear, it's a budget hotel next to a tube station. It's a nice hotel, the staff are very pleasant and helpful, the rooms are small but clean, the bed was comfortable. We wanted a place to sleep, a bit of breakfast and to be on our way, and it was perfect for that. I will use it again if I'm flying from heathrow or visiting London.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank murphy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Venture Hostels
#710 of 1,081 in London
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiswick Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiswick Lodge Hotel

Address: 104 Turnham Green Terrace, London W4 1QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chiswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #469 of 582 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £44 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiswick Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chiswick Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiswick Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing