We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miserable, avoid.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Strand Hotel
Ranked #307 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed with mother and sister for one night (fri) weekend trip to London.

Bad Points
On arrival the reception staff were 'busy attending to other guests' and rude from the outset. We had arrived early to make most of our weekend and asked if we could have our luggage stored somewhere safe under our room was ready. We were told to leave our bags in dining room and 'they would sort it' -on arriving back at hotel 6 hours later we found our luggage still lying out in the open dining room with other guests sitting around it! When we tried to complain about this we were told 'the manager isn't here so you'll have to wait'. Thank god nothing was stolen.

The room was a family room with double bed and 2 single beds downstairs. It was terrible. The carpets all down the corridor and in the room were covered in stains and there were wires lying across the floor. The beds had thin tatty blankets on them and no duvet -we stayed at the end of May and all three of us woke at night absolutely freezing. To put this in perspective we all live in the north of Scotland and are well used to cooler climes.

The bathroom had a toilet seat that was cracked and flaking and there appeared to be no hot water from the shower at 7pm in the evening. We were awoken after the few hours sleep we managed to get at 6am (Sunday morning) by what I imagine was the staff moving all the table and chairs around in the dining room upstairs.

Good Points
Location, easy to find. 10 mins walk from Hammersmith underground station.
Breakfast was ok. Tea/coffee/fruit juice/cereal/yogurt. On arrival offered toast and choice of scrambled or fried eggs. Bizzarely the kitchen/dining room was open plan but at least we could see the food being made fresh.

We should have realised that something was not right when the hotel still had the 'vacancies' sign up whilst the numerous other hotels in the street were full -avoid.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliana86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

We stayed for one night in two rooms. They were decorating. The smoke alarms had been covered in tape. There was a fire in one of the rooms and smoke filled the Hotel. There was a lot of hammering and noise. Nobody seemed to be in control.
We were offered our money back. When our credit card had not been credited I wrote to Mr Khurram SABA who on the 30th March apologised and said he would revert back as soon as possible. Since then I have telephone four times and emailed once, with no reply.
This is how much he cares ...

Room Tip: Go somewhere else ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Myself and my partner were suppose to stay in this hotel and paid to except when we got there we were taken to another guest house a few doors down. Which was the tinniest room I have ever stayed, the walls were dirty decor very poor and was kept awake until 4 in the morning due to some very noisy neighbours. Only a very basic continental breafast was on offer. Overall not worth the 79 pound I paid to stay here.!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oscroxcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

On arrival we were shown to our room by a gentleman who struggled with the English language. We found it difficult to explain to him that the room he'd reserved for us had a faulty toilet. He finally moved us to one of the newly decorated rooms, although in hindsight we wished we'd stayed where we were. The new room was even smaller, and suffered from exposed electrical wiring, a dirty shower, unfinished paintwork, and blown lightbulbs.

Our two day stay was severely disappointing, which is a shame as the location and kerb appeal of the building are fine. However, the hotel management is particularly poor and despite what the website and its pictures may tell you, it's to be avoided.

'A depressing experience.'

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen-oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel whilst visiting friends in London. We've not been to Shepherds Bush before and were looking forward to a bit of sightseeing.

The hotel is a good 10-20 minute walk from the tube station although there are buses outside going to Clapham.

The hotel is being refurbished at the moment and after refusing to stay in the first room because the toilet was broken we were moved to a recently refurbished room. This smelt overwhelmingly of paint and the fumes were very strong.

The floor above had wires hanging out and the carpet was loose so it was easy to stumble on the stairs. The hotel was very expensive being £95 for the first night.

The staff were quite helpful but there was no glasses in the room so we had to use a soap dish for a drink of water in the night. There was also no kettle, hairdryer or any of the usual conveniences in a room.

On the last morning we were woken to the scaffolding being taken down at 8am.

The rooms were tiny and even being in the refurbished room the wardrobe door was wonky so it didn't shut properly. The tv worked periodically with several of the normal channels being unavailable.

I'm sure once the hotel is finished it wil be ok but until then it was a truly awful and expensive experience. I have paid £45 for hotels in London before and they are head and shoulders above this one.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sian_a_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I stayed at the Golden Strand Hotel for a total of five nights. My overall experience was ok, but I would look out for an alternative option when staying in London again.
The pros were the closeness to the tube station (Hammersmith) and a bus stop almost in front of the Hotel. Further pros were the TV and the internet connectivity.
Some of the cons include things of which some could be easily fixed and avoided. The room just being one level below the kitchen left me with some loud noises early in the mornings. Coming to terms of the kitchen, more precisely about the breakfast, one was only left with the option of fried or scrambled eggs. The breakfast as a whole made a very bad impression and was nothing like the one portrayed and implied on the internet page of the hotel.
Things that could easily be avoided: a battered toilet seat, worn out blankets and unstable bedframe.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexalex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This Hotel is in a good location, very close to Shepherds Bush underground station, and close to Westfield shopping centre. The room was small, but very clean with a comfortable bed. The room was equipped with a fan which helped in the hot weather. The breakfast was included in the room price and it was a decent breakfast. Our only problem was that when we arrived at the hotel, there was no one present to let us in, they had a sign up telling us to go to another hotel on the street which was owned by the same people, but there was no one in this hotel either! After ten minutes the owner arrived and took us to our hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bingo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Sapphire Hotel London
Sapphire Hotel London
#363 of 571 in London
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saba Hotel London
#238 of 571 in London
482 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 571 in London
788 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Hellenic Hotel London
Hellenic Hotel London
#328 of 571 in London
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Strand Hotel

Address: 85 Shepherds Bush Road, London W6 7LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £44 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing