We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Strand Hotel
Ranked #273 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights as part of our UK vacation. The rooms are clean and have been recently updated. The owner(s) were friendly and accommodating. It was very hot during our visit so the owners provided a fan and also moved us to a cooler room. The rooms are small but comfortable. The hotel is a short walk from Hammersmith Station. There are several affordable places to eat nearby. Breakfast was basic but they cooked eggs to order with toast and baked beans. Yogurt and cereal were also provided.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    64
    58
    20
    22
See reviews for
46
57
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I was very pleased with the golden strand before I had even arrived. We were staying here due to an event at the hammersmith Apollo, which ended up rescheduling the date. I contacted the golden strand and they were happy to transfer my room to the new date. The room was clean and quiet but very warm, however I cannot complain as a fan was provided. It was somewhere to sleep for the night and we were satisfied.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

While the staff persons (I met) were friendly and tried their might to be helpful, the hotel is in a word dreadful. It's not due to cleanliness issues, but lack of space and convenience. The "hotel" is converted house and the rooms are painfully small. Mine was essentially a closet under the roof up about 65 stairs from reception. (There is no lift and I wondered about evacuation in case of fire.) Even a small dorm room is palatial by comparison. The bed had only one pillow and a comforter. What do you do with that when it's warm outside and the roof's been baking all day? The limit was reached for me when, since they couldn't find the extra pillow I requested in any of their other hotels or this one, I had to buy one of my own.But I guess this is par for London, which is way overrated as a destination due to, among other things, massive human congestion on every street and sidewalk, breathtaking expensiveness in every area for quite inferior products, and the native English who are, with some few exceptions, generally quite rude. Really the best part of my trip to London on business was leaving it and the very sub-par hotel I was staying in. Never again.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheEyeTem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is minimalistic hotel for people, who wants cheap stay, but still want value for their money. The great thing about it that for very competitive price you get breakfast as well. Moreover, hotel staff are very helpful! You can enter hotel any time in 24h, so that means you can go to town without worrying to get to your room later.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPaulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were booked in at the royal London hotel but on arrival were told that we were actually going to be staying at the Saba hotel actual words were "you have nice big room at other hotel" after a five minute walk to the Saba hotel we were told that no we were staying at yet another hotel just up the road when we eventually got to the next hotel the golden strand we were not even on the booking list however this was booked months ago after some more confusion we were directed to our room! Room would not be a word I would use to describe what we were stayin in more of a cell! The "room" was a box with a bed and an old computer desk with a tea tray on the top the bathroom the same I we ha been staying any longer than a night I would have demanded a change of room. We didn't hang around for our breakfast of cornflakes and eggs and it out as soon as we could and had a lovely breakfast in a cafe up the road! Avoid this chain of hotels at all costs!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Classic case of you get what you pay for. Rooms adequately clean but with a few rough edges, very compact en suite!
Don't expect a full English for breakfast but the scrambled eggs that were on offer were very good.
Overall a cheap place to stay in the capital, all be it on the outskirts.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ade31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Adequate hotel for price paid. Staff very helpful and friendly (both prior to stay and during stay). Good location for transport links into the City. Plenty on doorstep if you don't want to travel on an evening. No lift and we were on top floor - which is 3rd. We were OK, just about, but parents would have struggled. Didn't get chance to sample breakfast but that's my fault, not theirs. Family told me it was OK. Situated on a fairly busy road, so having windows open overnight caused some noise. Shower towels are fairly small, just over hand towel size, so did struggle a little after a shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathryn716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Royal Guest House 2
#697 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seraphine Hammersmith Hotel
Hammersmith / Fulham
Grantly Hotel
Grantly Hotel
#685 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saba Hotel London
#169 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Royal London Hotel
#247 of 567 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Sapphire Hotel London
Sapphire Hotel London
#356 of 567 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Strand Hotel

Property: Golden Strand Hotel
Address: 85 Shepherds Bush Road, London W6 7LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing