We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fair weekends stay”
Review of Lodge 51

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodge 51
Ranked #396 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I came to stay here with friends for a weekend. Cheap rooms, although my bed was basically a mattress shoved on top of a 2 seater leather settee. Was moved rooms and belongings without being told and the bathrooms are grotty. Other than that can't complain. Parking is 2 car spaces for the whole hotel, luckily I got a space. Close distance to the tube.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MaeWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Not gonna say it's the worst place i've ever stayed, but it wasn't the best.

People can moan, but at £50 for a double/twin room it's not too bad. The staff are polite, let us book in early and we parked on the front yard which was convenient.

They put my mates in the wrong room at first, so when we got back in the evening they had moved all their stuff using the master key which i wasn't best impressed about.

The rooms were of an ok standard, the blinds didn't work so i had the sun in my face from 7am, but they seemed clean enough.

If you stay here then secure your valuables somewhere else! we found that the room keys are all the same so we could open each others doors.

The location is decent, it's 10 minutes walk from Westfield Stratford, so Central London isn't hard to reach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Location is perfect - only 5 min walk to Stratford Station and national express bus stop (for everybody who land at Stansted AirPort). Our room was clean and well furnitured. Beds was comfortable. In Shered kitchen you will find everything what you need: dishes, cups, suger, tea and fresh milk in the fridge. Kitchen isn't very clean. Staff in the Lodge 51 was very nice, talkative and helpfull. I don,t recomend this place to people who demand high standards, mostly because of the bathroom. It was terribly small. Shower was dirty.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Zuzanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

now i dont mean to be harsh as the staff where polite...but this place was like something from the movie hostel....first of all its not in london....its in stratford, to get to the train station its at least a 15 min walk then a 45 min train ride...i know its cheap but believe me...dont be so tight and spend a bit more, their are better and nearer hotels for only a slightly higher price.
room was dark, dank and grim...shared and dirty bathroom, worlds thinnest duvet and one pillow between two of us! window didnt open and the towels they gave us where the size of flannels! brown food stains (well i hope it was food) on the walls and an all round horrible smell...i feel like im gonna go to hell for writing this review....lesson learnt - dont let your mother in law book a hotel for you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This place costs £40 a night and it's in London. What do you expect? I stayed here in January on a Tuesday night. Pluses: the room was warm and clean; the shower worked; the water was hot; and the WiFi worked. Minuses: the TV stopped working; it's a bit of a grim area; and the bed, whilst being comfortable enough, felt like something was nipping at me (might have been psychosomatic). I have to go up most Tuesdays, and have decided that I can stretch to the IBIS or the Travelodge, but for £40, it's just about OK.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank BrightonJapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

If you enjoy twisting your neck to see the TV, listening to every word said in the rooms around you, people coming and going at all hours slaming doors arguing, cold showers, cold badly kept rooms and windows that rattle in there frames every time a bus goes past well this is the place for you. Oh did I mention you have to pay for this privilege.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#52 of 931 in London
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge 51? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge 51

Address: 51 Romford Road, London E15 4LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Hotel Class:2 star — Lodge 51 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Lodge 51 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge 51 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing