We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Apartment”
Review of The Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Apartments
Ranked #92 of 824 Speciality Lodging in London
England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Although the amenities of this two bedroom apartment were excellent it was not at 41 Draycott Place as booked.
It was in fact in a side street and although it had everything we required it was in a basement and therefore lacking in fresh air and rather dark, especially as we had to keep the bedroom curtains drawn at all times as it was possible to look in from the road above and one morning when I opened the curtain I was face to face with a workman!
In view of this a reduction or even an apology would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    16
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
22
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We rented one of the 2 bed Apartments (21 Draycott) at the end of last summer for 15 nights. We are English but live in the US and 2 of our friends wanted to join us on the trip. We did the cost analysis of staying in 2 x 4 star hotel rooms in a comparable area versus renting an apartment and this made a lot of financial sense. We had a great stay. The apartment was on the top floor, with a lift (essential since 3 of us have problems with stairs), so nice and quiet and we were able to keep the numerous windows open all the time to catch the breeze.

Each couple had an 'English sized' bedroom, there was a comfy (US Queen sized) bed, wardrobe space with some shelving inside it and because the apartment comes with 2 bathrooms we had one each (master has the on suite and the other one is directly across from the bedroom door). There was a nice touch in the bedroom that we didn't need to use, a large sized umbrella, nice idea). The bathrooms were fresh, clean and each had a bath/shower combo and there is some nice storage behind the mirror for storing all our stuff and keep them out of sight. The 'move in kit' includes a small number of shampoo and soap if you are staying for more than a few days you may want to pop into Boots The Chemist around the corner on the Kings Road and pick up some of your favorites or try something new, they are not expensive.

The kitchen was a full sized one, with the usual standards which included a dishwasher, washing machine/dryer combo and things like toaster, coffee maker etc. We really appreciated the extra cups, mugs, drinking glasses etc. rather than 1 per person. There were also things like lots of dishwasher powder, washing up liquid, washing powder etc.. so we didn't have to go out and buy any.

The living room / dining room was ideal Being high up we were able to have those windows open all the time (yes, the sun does shine sometimes in London, we had 14 out of 15 sunny days). Was there some noise, sure there was, we were in the middle of one of the largest residential areas in London, so if this bothers you, pick up some ear plugs for the occasional car alarm or late night party. We had enough comfy seating for 5 people (a large sofa and 2 armchairs) and we really appreciated that the table in our apartment was large enough for accommodate 6 people which was perfect for us as we had lots of friends popping in. The other nice feature was the answer phone that saved us having to go down to let those friends in!

There are some nice touches in the apartment which for us made it a home away from home and in our opinion helped differentiate this experience from a bland hotel one. The team had lots of bowls, vases etc. available in the apartment so we were able to walk down to Marks and Spencer (10 mins walk) and buy beautiful fruit, flowers and lots of amazing ready made food as well as ingredients to make our own. So we were able to fill the fireplace with fresh flowers as well as put out bowls of fruit and nuts etc. for snacking.

You may want to consider that extra service offered for not very much money if you are staying for over a week, and that is that change of towels and bedding. There are limited towels and we found ourselves having to wash them midweek ourselves since we took baths/showers each day.

To us the sign of a good property is not just about the quality of the place (which does matter) but also how the property managers react and deal wih the unusual or when there is an issue. We did encounter one, which was the complimentary wi-fi didn't work on move in and we did find ourselves chasing every few days for an update. In fairness the team did come to the apartment, established the problem wasn't there, spent time in the basement, then we saw British Telecom come out and by the time we left the street outside the apartment was being dug up to resolve the issue. We were able to buy a service ourselves, it wasn't expensive, but it was inconvenient but out of their control, which we understood.

There are some great shops and restaurants nearby. Make sure you check out The Duke of York Square on the Kings Road (3 or so minute walk from Draycott Place). You are in for a treat. Start on your first day or so with a trip to Partridges an up-market grocery store for some of your needs e.g. milk, your brand of tea or coffee, bread or even some fantastic fresh deli items. Then if you have your back to the door of Partridges, you will spot some cafes and restaurants with outdoor (and indoor) seating. There is a small glass 'box' offering coffee and muffins called Patisserie Valerie, but if you want a full breakfast or lunch they have another bigger restaurant at the end of that row of restaurants to the left of the coffee one, we highly recommend that one.

This is a great location, near Sloan Square tube station (travel after rush hour for cheaper fares) and from there you can travel around London as well as get to all the main line rail terminals and from there places like Brighton, Hampton Court, Windsor Castle etc. are within easy reach).

In summary, would we stay there again, oh yes! We are booked already through Charles at SilverDoor for the end of May / June 2014 for another 15 nights in a 2 bedroom again so that our various UK friends can come and stay with us for a few nights at a time. Counting the days.........

Room Tip: Be really clear up front if you have special needs, e.g. need to have a lift in your building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed in one of the apartments at 41 Draycott Place, just seconds from the King's Road - the apartment was wonderful and nicely furnished, minimal noise at night for a city location and everything you need for a home away from home. Check-in with the codes was really easy and staff were very helpful with making the reservation and informing me of all the details I needed. Would definitely be staying again when I am in the area and recommend to all types of travellers.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank jstarr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This review is based on numerous recent hotel and apartment stays, in London and other cities, and my own knowledge of London, having lived there for many years. It intends to be unbiased and fair and I am very happy to answer questions on the area or the accommodation so please feel free to ask me anything that I have not covered in the review.

“The Apartments” are a group of “serviced” apartments (we’ll come to that later) situated in a number of different London locations. The accommodation is allocated on arrival, which is fine if you do not have specific location needs. The ones in Chelsea, for example, are all in good locations, with the possible exception of Britten House, which is very near a public house and not so near a tube. But there are buses on nearby Sydney Street and King’s Road – both major (and busy) roads.

We stayed for 7 nights in a ground floor studio in 41 Draycott Place. This is a fabulous location – for those who don’t know London, it’s in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, property here is expensive and all in all it’s a desirable area in Zone 1. The nearest tube station is Sloane Square (District and Circle lines) a few minutes’ walk away. Harrods and Harvey Nicks are not far away, neither is the Saatchi Gallery and the iconic King’s Road, with all its shops and restaurants, just around the corner.

Before we arrived, we had asked them at The Apartments if they could allocate us a quiet room with a bath but only received a rather rude reply saying there was nothing they could do to guarantee the request. While I understand that, I was surprised they didn’t also say they would do their best to try to accommodate our needs and be a little more friendly! Not a good start.
Please be sure that you understand this is deemed a self catering apartment (there is a certificate in the hallway to this effect) but the website clearly says that it’s a “serviced apartment”. Mmmmmm. As it happens, they did tidy up the apartment twice during our 8 day stay but when you read the information booklet, you see that Housekeeping come once a week, charge £35 extra to change linen or towels and if you require an additional clean they want to charge you a whopping £70, therefore to call this “serviced” is a bit of a stretch. To be expected to keep one’s towels for a whole week, I think, is not appropriate when you are paying more than £150 per night for accommodation, central London or otherwise. At the very least they could come in every two days and empty bins and top up toiletries (which are only provided for your arrival but not replenished). It is ironic, therefore, that for a large part of each day you will see cleaning utensils and rubbish bags and laundry bagged up in their multitude in the hallway leading to your apartment.

Instead of there being any sensation of guest care, you get the feeling that now you’ve checked in, you’re on your own. Two days after our arrival they slipped a note under our door to say they would be inspecting the apartment the following day – great, we thought, this means they are going to service it after all. But no, they were coming in to measure up for new kitchen units – yes, a complete stranger walking into your apartment (who knows if they’re accompanied all the time?) and invading your privacy whether you like it or not and you are also not invited to give your consent or decline. Another day there was a very severe looking memo – which looked a little like a death threat, all typed and nasty like you see on the movies - handed to me by a stern looking woman who didn’t say a word, just handed the note and walked off as if she was handing me a court summons. Gosh, they need to work on their customer care! It said they were coming to install new blinds the day before we were leaving but she marched off before I could say that it wouldn’t be convenient (or desirable!) Why, oh why, could they not wait until just a few hours later when we’d gone? Check out is at 10 am so I’m sure they have time and they must understand that it’s not right or fair to expect a guest to be happy with renovation work taking place during their stays when they could easily organise themselves to timetable it outside of bookings. When we mentioned it, however, they did very cordially agree to reschedule the blinds’ installation until after we had left and they also granted us a late checkout, which was much appreciated.

On to the apartment itself. It is an adequate sized room with high ceilings and a double bed, one lounge chair (only space for one!) and coffee table, plus small dining table and two chairs. There is a functional wardrobe which is a bit institutional, plus shelves, a tiny little television (with a remote that doesn’t work well) that you can’t both see from the bed and a mixture of traditional and Ikea furnishings together with a floor rug that you trip over every time you go to the kitchen because it does not lay flat on the floor. There is wi-fi and it does work.

I found the bed comfortable, but my husband had back ache every morning when he woke up and has never had this before in his life. It would, however, be nice to have a duvet that actually fits the bed (and a duvet cover that fits the duvet) as this one barely stretches to the sides. We all know couples love to play the duvet-stealing game but the need to be covered during the London winter ensured this turned into a real battle!

If the windows were clean enough (which they are not, unfortunately) you would see that the view outside is of the row of terrace house, obscured by security grilles – not nice, but necessary in London, and you do get the feeling of safety. There is also a safe for your personal effects.
Just a note to tall people! Please be careful if you are staying in this apartment – 41 Draycott Place, Apt 2 – the internal doors are really low. I am 5’8” and although I didn’t quite have to stoop to pass, I did it instinctively as they are so low! You will have issues if you are 6 foot or more.
The kitchen is basic but functional and clean and has an oven, microwave, fridge and kettle but no washing machine nor dishwasher. There are cups and saucers, plates, bowls, glasses and mugs and various other utensils. Washing up liquid and a tea towel are provided. So are some teabags, coffee and little milk sachets: handy if you’ve arrived late and don’t want to pop out to the shops.

The bathroom. Sigh. If you like a lukewarm shower, you are in luck, as for portions of the day this is all there is. Either that or a shower which alternates being the temperature you selected initially and suddenly turning freezing cold, alternating between the two for the entire duration of your shower. Great – it’s less than 10 degrees outside!

Heat-wise in the studio, by the way, you have individually controlled radiators, so you can select your desired temperature with ease.

The room was perfectly clean and adequate, however you would not want to stay here too long as, apart from anything else, there isn’t much free space in the bathroom or bedroom in which to put your things.

Be warned, the entry phone system does not work so my friend, who came to visit, stood outside for 10 minutes ringing all the doorbells before being able to locate our (overseas) phone number and calling us to ask us to open the door for her. Very frustrating, and it just enforces my view that there is little attention to detail and making the guests’ stay enjoyable and comfortable.

Would I stay here again? I’m not sure. Although the apartment itself is ok, and the location is really good, there are plenty more rentals to choose from and I think until the staff organise themselves better to welcome their guests and think about what makes their stay comfortable, I shall be seeking alternatives.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsSparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Where does one start? The heating system does not work through the night and countless complaints don't seem to make it work either. I have a 11 month old freezing every night. They have an emergency out of office hours number - when u call it, all they tell you is someone will call you at 9am to check it!! Hahaha... Why did I call u then? The bathroom doors don't have locks, no hanging points, very poorly lit flats, wardrobes don't have shelves, serviced just once a week.... I haven't been to a worse service apartment and this is the most expensive one I have stayed in!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank bhavsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our party of 4 stayed in a two bedroom two bath apartment (6/36 Draycott Place, Chelsea) for a week (26th Sept to 3rd Oct). The apartment is in a fantastic location only a 5 minute walk to the Sloan Square Tube and a very sort walk to all the shops and restaurants on Kings Road.
The apartment has all the facilities that you require and they even supplied amenities in the bathroom which other apartments on our trip did not supply. The staff were fantastic and very helpful right from the first email sent to place the booking right up to our last day when our request for a last check out was no problem. If you are looking for a quality apartment in a great location this ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I just came back from a 1-week stay at The Apartments, London (Chelsea location). There was a mix-up when we first arrived in that we were given the wrong apartment. This was quickly resolved by the manager and his staff resulting in apologies for the mix-up and an upgraded apartment for our stay. We would have been happy just getting the apartment we booked (deluxe studio) but their response was outstanding. We had occasion to visit the management office twice more during our stay (to request additional kitchen supplies, a scale to weigh our luggage! and to arrange an airport transfer). Each time, they were very helpful. The location was ideal; within walking distance to the Sloane Square station (3 minute walk), South Kensington (8-10 minutes) and lots of shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this apartment and location and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: 36 Draycott has a lift but 41 Draycott does not. Street traffic can be a little noisy but not an iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MP_Woodbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheApartmentsUK, Front Office Manager at The Apartments, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Toni S,

Thank you for your review.

It is pleasing to hear that the apartment suited your needs, and that all the staff were helpful.

We would be delighted for you to visit us again.

All the best,

The Apartments, London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
San Domenico House
San Domenico House
#532 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#498 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#99 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Sydney House
Sydney House
#221 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Belgravia
Cheval Phoenix House
Cheval Phoenix House
#20 of 824 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Chelsea Bridge Apartments
Chelsea Bridge Apartments
#96 of 824 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apartments

Property: The Apartments
Address: 36 Draycott Place | Chelsea, London SW3 2SA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 824 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run, boutique London serviced apartment letting company with over 15 years experience. We understand that quality facilities, privacy and comfort are equally important, whether your stay is for business or pleasure. All our high quality, serviced short-term flats and apartments are housed in attractive period buildings, and fitted with fully equipped kitchens; en-suite bathrooms; broadband, Wi-Fi, digital TV and iPod docking stations. A weekly maid and linen service is included with each rental. Our quality serviced London apartments in Chelsea and Marylebone offer an ideal base for business trips and London vacations. All our flats are ideally located within easy reach of Knightsbridge; Chelsea, the West End and City of London. Rates start at £175 per night, providing attractive financial savings compared to traditional hotel accommodation, as well as increased flexibility and the comforts of home. Our apartments are located close to numerous public transport links, making these luxury serviced flats ideally situated for connecting with, and exploring London's attractions, museums and shopping, as well as the theatres and restaurants of London's West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing