We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

The Hummingbird Bakery
Ranked #15 of 279 Bakeries in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Notting Hill
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were disappointed with this place. We have the cookbooks and were excited about trying the cupcakes/cakes. They were fine but nothing special, overpriced and overall definitely overrated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyager91819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    122
    33
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuantan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Excellent cupcakes! Must try when you are in Notting Hill. They have numerous choices of cakes and cupcakes for you to try. I tried the carrot cupcake and red velvet cupcake, and it was super delicious!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akramaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent top notch cakes”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Humming bird remain top notch despite their expansion to several other sites. This place really does do some of the best cakes around, very moist, and not prohibitively expensive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinoudelondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Amazing cupcakes”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I'm an avid baker and have tried cupcakes in many different shops around London but Hummingbird cupcakes are way up there in my favorites!!
We stopped off here for breakfast (if you can call a cupcake and cuppa breakfast) and I had the carrot cake which was to die for!! Also brought a box of 6 for my Dad for Fathers Day and chose 2 of their fathers day specials, chocolate melt, carrot cake, double chocolate and red velvet...I was told they were all delicious!
Lovely packaging too, really pretty boxes and bags to take away with you. The staff in there were so lovely and friendly which I thought was rare as in some bakeries (high end ones too) the staff behind the counter can be quite stuffy and cold whereas the girls here were so sweet and kind.
Will definitely come back next time I'm in LDN!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank browneyedowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Heavenly cupcakes”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I made a concerted effort to find a Hummingbird Bakery while I was in London, because after years of trying out all the recipes from their recipe book, I wanted to try the real thing: one of their famous cupcakes. I could not have been rewarded more - they truly are the most heavenly cakes I have ever eaten (I chose the double caramel, my friend had the famous red velvet). The texture and flavour is absolutely perfect, and every tiny mouthful is a delight. The cake displays were also just as I imagined - rows upon rows of interesting, mouth-watering flavours, and each cake was beautifully decorated. The only downside was that you have to pay extra if you want to eat or drink in the cafe; so as impoverished students, my friend and I perched on a ledge on the side of the road. And I would do it again, just to have one more mouthful of those heavenly cakes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NtrepidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hummingbird Bakery also viewed

 

Been to The Hummingbird Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing