We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St
Ranked #82 of 860 Speciality Lodging in London
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and perfect location!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We booked this hotel last minute so that we could go up to London to visit my son who was in Great Ormond Street hospital. They did not appear to have any rooms free but I contacted their team via the online chat facility and told them our plight so they offered to squeeze us into a studio (we were a party of 2 adults and 1 baby). There was no need to worry about space. The pull down bed was a good size and there was plenty of room for the travel cot as well. The only problem was the lack of places to sit other than the bed and the small table but of course it was a studio.

The studio was lovely. Very clean and modern, with lots of storage space and cleverly designed to fit in a kitchenette as well. The bathroom was also excellent with a fab shower. We were on the top floor, so no noise above us. However there was an interconnecting door to the next flat and we were disturbed by hair dryer noise late at night but that is due to the guests and not the hotel.

We had a large balcony which I imagine would be pleasant on summer evenings if you want to take in the sights and sounds of London. We didn't really use it as we were just back and fore the hospital.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and we parked our car in their car park with no issues. I would definitely stay in these apartments again (if I can afford it! London is way too expensive for my liking!)

Room Tip: Top floor is best. But note that studios do have interconnecting door to the larger flats so can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leppyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan E, Manager at SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Leppyloo,

Thank you for your detailed review! Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay at SACO Holborn and that we reached your expectations. We at SACO are always here to provide a great service to make sure are guests are always happy and comfortable in our apartments - It seems we achieved this!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,

Hassan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    16
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
10
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We are a family of 3 adults and have many luggage. There is no way that we can fit into a hotel room in London. Hence we searched for a service apartment. We booked a 1 bed room apartment for 5 days and asked for an extra sofa bed. But we did not need to use the sofa bed because we got a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom unit - what a nice surprise!!

The unit is very spacious - even for a family of 4-5 persons. The furniture and appliance are in good condition. All necessary cooking and eating amenities are there and clean. There are 2 bathrooms and they are huge and comfortable.

The location is ideal. It is about 5-10 min walk from Russell Square station which is on the Piccadilly line (the line connecting to Heathrow airport). It is located on a quiet street but cafe and a local supermarket is just around the corner.

The staff in the check-in counter is very helpful.

This is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunnsHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan E, Manager at SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay in SACO Holborn. I am glad to hear you found the apartment well-furnished and equipped for your needs and that the location was convenient.

We hope to welcome you back to SACO in the foreseeable future.

Best Regards,

Hassan Mantawy
Asisstant Apartment Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC, area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in a two-bedroom, two-bath apartment in the summer of 2013, from early-July to early-September. We found everything pretty much perfect. The staff was very welcoming and helpful when we arrived and remained attentive and responsive throughout our stay. The office is open daily until quite late, making it easy to communicate one's needs. The apartment was spacious, clean and neat, serviced once a week if you're staying at least seven days, and well stocked with kitchen utensils and appliances plus a starter set of cereal, milk, coffee and so forth. Unlimited complimentary wi-fi is furnished at speeds adequate for anything but super-broadband requirements. The neighborhood is pretty quiet, except on the warmest summer nights, when the next-door restaurant and pub can become a bit boisterous for a few hours as they spill out onto the sidewalk.

Buses to Trafalgar Square and the South Bank via Waterloo Bridge leave from a stop five minutes away, and two Underground stops are within ten to fifteen minutes' walk: Russell Square (Piccadilly) and Holborn (Piccadilly and Central). At the Russell Square station is a small commercial complex with a fully-stocked grocery and several popular restaurants. Even closer is a co-op grocery in the same building as SACO and numerous restaurants along Lamb's Conduit Street. A pleasant stroll from Soho, Covent Garden, or West End theaters will bring you home in less than thirty minutes.


It is likely hard to find a better value for money in this part of London.

Room Tip: Top floor apartments have a nice balcony and great views east to the City and the Shard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nellenod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed in a 2 bedroom flat at Saco Holborn from 17 till 23 August 2013. The flat although small but is well furnished and well equipped. Avoid first floor as it could be noisy. The facility is well looked after and well secured however I was not happy that during my 6 days stay no one showed up to clean the flat and put new toiletries and fresh towels; I think serviced flats demand they do so without asking. Overall, I would recommend to go there if you really want to enjoy London without being in the middle of noises (they have two nearby underground stations: Russell Square on the Piccadilly and Holborn on the central and Piccadilly).

Room Tip: Remind them to provide service to the flat as they appear to forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kghanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian C, Manager at SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay in SACO Holborn. I am glad to hear you found the apartment well-furnished and equipped for your needs and that the location was convenient. In regards to servicing the flats, we provide a weekly service for stays of more than 7 days, and as you stayed for 6days this did not fall under the inclusive weekly servicing. However, we do still offer this service to stays less than 7days at a small fee and this would involve providing fresh linen and towels as well as topping up some of the toiletries. I hope this clarifies the situation.

We hope to welcome you back to SACO in the foreseeable future.

Best Regards,

Lilian Clarke
Apartment Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

It was our first time staying at Saco Holborn. We liked the location of the apartments. It was close enough to walk to most places. We ended up walking with our luggage to St. Pancras to catch the train to Paris; it was about a 10 minute walk. Our initial perception of the place was lukewarm as the receptionist really did not give us any talk about the place. I.e. rules, internet, where the garbage was located, the welcome pack in the room. I got most of my info from the binder in the room. She was trying to upsell someone who was just checking in that day as well, the internet package. I spoke up and said that I was told via email that there was complimentary internet. And then she said, oh yes. but it is slower. Neither one of us was planning on streaming anything. The free internet is sufficient for checking email. Although it would lock you out after one daily entry.

The location was great. There is an awesome italian restaurant downstairs that was always busy. Make reservations there if you want to eat. The pub downstairs on the corner is famous. Couldn't really go with the kids. It is around the corner from Coram's Fields which my 9 and 11 year old kids loved. We had to go everyday for the zipline. The nearest tube station is Russell Square. Near that was a food/shopping court with a full supermarket there. The restaurants were nice there too. The tube station is a hassle because you had to wait for a lift to get up and down to the station. The only thing about this place that I would really warn people about is the noise level. While we were there, they were experiencing a heat wave. Although, there is no air conditioning, you were fine if you left the windows open. However,

Overall, I highly recommend this place. Except for the unfriendly woman who "greeted" us the first day. The other people in the office were nice and helpful when I had questions. Also, there is in room washer and dryer--one unit. The dryer hot steams your clothes, doesn't really dry them. But it is so hot and steamy, that when you take it out and drape it something, it will dry.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian C, Manager at SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at SACO Holborn. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed by the location and standard of the apartments. I am sorry to hear you did not feel the receptionist on duty gave you an introduction to the way things work ie the rules, garbage disposal and internet information. I can assure you we are addressing this aspect of your feedback within the team. I am glad to hear though that these questions were answered in the guest information folder in the apartment.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to SACO in the foreseeable future.
Best Regards,

Lilian Clarke
Apartment Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed in this apartment for approx 3 weeks whilst working in London. We had a 2 bed, 2 bathroom apartment with a combined kitchen and lounge. The apartment was well equipped, towels and all kitchen appliances were included. The check in was next door to the apartment block and the office is open long hours incase you have a problem - for example we asked for additional sheets and they were provided. On arrival we received a welcome pack which included milk and water in the fridge, cereal, hot chocolate, toiletries and choclate bars which was much appreciated. We purchased the internet access which was good and realiable although it was a little annoying you had to plug in the access code every time you wanted to access the net. The location is brilliant, 8 minutes walk from Russell Square station and about 15 minutes walk from Chancery Lane tube station. The area is a little noisy at night as there is a pub nearby but this did not bother us with the windows closed and the noise seemed to quieten down quite early. The location is also good for Oxford Street, Covent Garden and Leicester Square. Underneath the apartment block there is a local supermarket which was really handy for purchasing everyday items. There is also several restaurants nearby, the Italian a few doors down the road was very good, however it may be advisable to book. I am not sure how the apartment works out price wise, but it is worth considering especially if you are staying for more than a few nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I have enjoyed my staying very much. It has an excellent location; street is lovely. It’s close to City, Soho, Covent Garden, Oxford Street. Apartment has nice, modern equipment. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PikaPeterle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
City of London
SACO - The Cannon
SACO - The Cannon
#3 of 860 in London
109 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Rosebery Aparthotel
The Rosebery Aparthotel
#37 of 860 in London
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
SACO Bloomsbury - Tavistock Place
Bloomsbury
No 5 Doughty Street
No 5 Doughty Street
#452 of 860 in London
40 reviews
Earls Court
Templeton Place Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St

Property: SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St
Address: Spens House | 72-84 Lamb's Conduit St, London WC1N 3LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 860 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saco London - Holborn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing