We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrid hotel”
Review of Holland Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holland Inn Hotel
Ranked #424 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    31
    56
    64
    140
See reviews for
29
97
44
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I booked this hotel from Australia and looking at the pictures online of the hotel it seemed pretty good! But when we got there the room was absolutely nothing like what was on the website. The bed was a simple fold out double bed with disgusting sheets on it!! The wardrobe was three bits of wood half screwed into the wall. The floor looked like it had never seen or felt a vacuum cleaner! The room smelt off! The top it off the bath room was just feral! The whole room was the shower and yes that did include the toilet and basin. There was nothing that separated the shower from the rest of the bathroom. The bathroom door had water damage and had bits of wood sticking out from it! I went downstairs as soon as we got in and demanded a refund. But conviently the person behind the desk had 'no idea' how to refund our room and suggested we wait for the manager to get in tomorrow at 12! It just so happened the 11am was the cut off for checking out so they could charge us for another nights stay!! I demanded a full refund but only received one nights stay back which was 70 pounds. I urge everyone not to stay at this hotel or else you'll experience this torment!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thepilotau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

On the positive side, the bathroom was OK and not too small, with a good shower including a detachable showerhead. It was good to have a window and a fan in the room as otherwise we couldn't sleep in there. The fridge was used too although too loud in the night so had to unplug it to sleep.

On any other aspect that mattered, where do I start?
On the first night we were transferred to another hotel (Holland Court Hotel nearby), described as their "sister" hotel, because "our rooms had been painted on the day and we couldn't stay in those". This was announced at 10.30pm on Friday we were due to arrive and as we were stuck in M6 traffic. The staff in the other hotel where we arrived exhausted at 2.30am treated us as if we were beggars asking to stay free of charge, answered all questions with "oy, mate, I am here to check you in" and we were informed that we were required to check out the following day and check into Holland Inn. Naturally this took considerable time off our sightseeing plans and was a lot of trouble to go through for a two nights' stay. Nobody was available to discuss the situation at either hotel, let alone offer redress. Especially at Holland Inn the reception staff rudely refused to even put us in touch with the manager who would only be back on Monday.

The double room we were given in Holland Inn was tiny, had a small double bed (more like a large single!) and a very saggy mattress. The breakfast was very poor with just toast done in very slow toasters, melted butter, perspiring cheese slices, jam singles and boiled eggs which disappeared as soon as out of the boiling apparatus. Very small basement space and difficult to move as well.
There was no locked luggage room, instead we were asked to leave luggage in the breakfast room where anyone could go at all times during the time we were waiting for check-in on Saturday morning. In general the hotel looked tired, with grimy carpets, smears on the walls, not enough furniture and what was there was falling apart, including doors caved in. So I would definitely not recommend unless you are very desperate for a hotel in Zone 2 and short of cash to stay somewhere decent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room for a window on the top floor away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ta3idiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Arrived and it was pretty much a buliding site as renovations had been going on there was filth everywhere, this had not been communicated or any discount given. Walked straight past the owner having a cigarette he claimed he didn't see us and was quite rude. Awful rooms cracks all up the walls. Demanded a refund and owner was disgustingly unhelpful and very aggressive. I would avoid this 'hotel' like the plague.

Room Tip: Just don't book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petepixelated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utopia, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The hotel is within 10 minutes on foot from Sheperd's Bush underground. Rooms are 40 GBP per person x 2 = 80 for a double or twin. Rooms are tiny and mine was windowless but it had a loud aircon.
If you think being charged 5 GBP for luggage storage in a out-of-the-way place is fair, as well as for WiFi, if you enjoy corn flakes and toast for breakfast, then this place is for you. Funnily enough, my room had a small safe, but it was not attached, so if you have valuables worth stealing, put them there, to signal to a thief that he can just walk away with the safe and its content.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Positive: new and clean toilet; working shower cable; working blow dryer
Negative: defective shower stall; sink clogged up; mold; dirty carpet; defective furniture + bed; bible in room; stench and fumes of bleach overpowering; opening fridge at own risk as stench was horrendrous.
Location: regular bus service to Shepherd's Bush

Not a hotel I will chose again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyre13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Just minutes away of Kensington Palace, very good location in central London but next time I would think twice before going there again.
For £50 I had a noisy night in a room with dirty carpets. No air condition, just a fan, they charge you for using internet and the breakfast is the poorest I ever had.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cristian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Simply Rooms & Suites
#578 of 1,067 in London
240 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#711 of 1,067 in London
447 reviews
Hotel 65
#753 of 1,067 in London
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#465 of 1,067 in London
367 reviews
MStay Russell Court Hotel
#139 of 557 in London
175 reviews
The Kensington Studios
#133 of 557 in London
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Inn Hotel

Property: Holland Inn Hotel
Address: 59 Holland Road, London W14 8HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #424 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holland Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holland Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing