We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #820 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel was not the cheapest in the area but certainly felt like it. There was no fridge even though theres a cubboard for it so i used the scaffolding outside (as it was cold) as my fridge!
Reception was not the best and i couldnt believe i had to pay 7 pounds for wifi...
Wont come here again and think theres much better hotels!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    225
    216
    81
    67
See reviews for
179
228
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is handy for Stratford, Westfield and the Olypic site. It is modern, nicely maintained and with on site locked free parking is difficult to beat. The reception staff are very accomodating and the continental breakfast good but it was irratating that the half dozen breakfast staff with little to do just stand in the way gossiping.

The rooms were hot during our stay as there is no air con (although the the outside tempature was 30 degrees and humidity which only happens occasionally in this country). The fan helps but iin a heat wave you might want to look elsewhere or pick the lowest rooms.

Room Tip: Go low and at the back as the front faces the Romford Road which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobberdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Paid £55 a night for a room after going to the Wireless festival at the Olympic park. Was really only wanting a place to crash for a few hours but was very impressed when we arrived. Smart lobby area. Secure parking with electric gates. We stayed in one of the outside rooms which was nice and different. Room was spotless, very impressed with the cleanliness, especially the bathroom. Good facilities, however no fridge in the room. Very helpful staff, even when I needed to use their spare room key at 2am (reception attended 24hours). Breakfast was included which was a nice surprise but quite limited. Consisted of a buffet of toast, eggs, yoghurts, orange and apple juice and hot drinks but not complaining for what we paid. 15 min walk to Westfield/Olympic park. Overall very happy, will stay again next year if I go to the festival again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessyh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We needed a hotel for an overnight stay and this one was perfect in terms of location and value for money. The two guys on the desk were friendly and helful. The room itself was massive. It was clean and decorated to a high standard. The location was close to both olympic park and westfield shopping centre and we were able to walk there in about 10 minutes. The only slight crititism was that the breakfast was a little limited but hey we only paid £55 for a night for two of us so can't really complain.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

location was good, staff were very helpfull and friendly, room was really clean and comfortable, had an excellent time, really relaxing, the staff were really understanding when asked if possible to have a late check out, nothing was too much trouble, really enjoyed my stay here, great private parking no need to worry when leaving car in car park all very secure, will defo stay here again overall amazing.

Room Tip: room with balcony in case you want to smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Two of us turned up at around 6pm on a Wednesday evening having booked through booking.com. I handed over the credit card as aranged but was told it was cash only. He made me run in the rain 300 yards to the Sainsbury's down the road to get cash from a cash machine. This was bad enough but the whole transaction took place while he was behind a grill to protect him with an arrogance that suggested I was only to be trusted wuth cash. I appreciate Newham has it's problems with crime but this was 6pm in the evening and Sainsbury's didn't seem to share his concern, their vegetables were clearly on display for anyone to smash and grab - and they accepted all sorts of cards.
The rooms were ok and as you would expect at the price.
The 'free' breakfast was rather disappointing. There was a basket of eggs which I assumed indicated you could choose how you would like them cooked. Apparently not, hard boiled was the only option.
If you need a budet hotel close to whatever you need it for then this place will do the job, otherwise there is no reason to choose it over any other

Room Tip: Get a reduction for no breakfast, unless you are a fan of hard boiled eggs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huw A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for bank holiday weekend! The rooms are clean, basic, they have a tv and coffee facilities! Would be good to take your own towel.

Location - ten minute walk to the Stratford underground and rail station and Westfield shopping centre. Good value for money as saves on London central prices!

Didnt have breakfast as was a little early for us!

All in all I would stay here again if working to a budget.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0sebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#703 of 1,069 in London
137 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hotel ibis budget London City Airport
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#577 of 1,069 in London
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boston Manor Hotel
#785 of 1,069 in London
291 reviews
CityStay Hotel
#962 of 1,069 in London
246 reviews
Leigham Court Hotel
#533 of 1,069 in London
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 162 Romford Road, London E15 4LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #820 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing