We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #764 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice; once for 7 nights and the other time for 5 nights. It is very good budget hotel with very basic breakfast, friendly stuff, clean room and is close to main station Stratford. The bus station is right in front of hotel and it takes you to the main underground station. Reception is 24/7 which is good because we came to London around midnight. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amandura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

While working in london my company booked us into The Viking, You walk in and think omg no it looks like a cross between butlins and a leiure centre but the staff were very freindly, the room i had was on the outside it was very clean very well fitted out with lush shower and a fan!!

Would happy stsy here for either business or pleasure

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebabydragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel was not the cheapest in the area but certainly felt like it. There was no fridge even though theres a cubboard for it so i used the scaffolding outside (as it was cold) as my fridge!
Reception was not the best and i couldnt believe i had to pay 7 pounds for wifi...
Wont come here again and think theres much better hotels!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Gee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is handy for Stratford, Westfield and the Olypic site. It is modern, nicely maintained and with on site locked free parking is difficult to beat. The reception staff are very accomodating and the continental breakfast good but it was irratating that the half dozen breakfast staff with little to do just stand in the way gossiping.

The rooms were hot during our stay as there is no air con (although the the outside tempature was 30 degrees and humidity which only happens occasionally in this country). The fan helps but iin a heat wave you might want to look elsewhere or pick the lowest rooms.

Room Tip: Go low and at the back as the front faces the Romford Road which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobberdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Paid £55 a night for a room after going to the Wireless festival at the Olympic park. Was really only wanting a place to crash for a few hours but was very impressed when we arrived. Smart lobby area. Secure parking with electric gates. We stayed in one of the outside rooms which was nice and different. Room was spotless, very impressed with the cleanliness, especially the bathroom. Good facilities, however no fridge in the room. Very helpful staff, even when I needed to use their spare room key at 2am (reception attended 24hours). Breakfast was included which was a nice surprise but quite limited. Consisted of a buffet of toast, eggs, yoghurts, orange and apple juice and hot drinks but not complaining for what we paid. 15 min walk to Westfield/Olympic park. Overall very happy, will stay again next year if I go to the festival again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessyh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We needed a hotel for an overnight stay and this one was perfect in terms of location and value for money. The two guys on the desk were friendly and helful. The room itself was massive. It was clean and decorated to a high standard. The location was close to both olympic park and westfield shopping centre and we were able to walk there in about 10 minutes. The only slight crititism was that the breakfast was a little limited but hey we only paid £55 for a night for two of us so can't really complain.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

location was good, staff were very helpfull and friendly, room was really clean and comfortable, had an excellent time, really relaxing, the staff were really understanding when asked if possible to have a late check out, nothing was too much trouble, really enjoyed my stay here, great private parking no need to worry when leaving car in car park all very secure, will defo stay here again overall amazing.

Room Tip: room with balcony in case you want to smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gunchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#711 of 1,077 in London
143 reviews
Boston Manor Hotel
#762 of 1,077 in London
298 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#622 of 1,077 in London
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Forest View Hotel
#763 of 1,077 in London
77 reviews
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#978 of 1,077 in London
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Address: 162 Romford Road, London E15 4LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #764 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £39 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing