We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service for the money paid”
Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #801 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The room was big enough and clean. The bathroom was old but clean. Good brekfast.Stratford is far away from the centre but easy to reach thanks to underground and buses. The hotel is simple but clean.


  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Antonella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel was OK for the price. I have stayed in worse. Their mattresses on the beds are not the best. I moved room once to another room but just the same. The station is a good 20 minutes walk. Other than that breakfast was basic, the staff were cooperative and pleasant. Room was clean apart from cobwebs on the top of the curtains ( room 322) and for the most part quiet.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The main problem with this hotel is it's location. Having to walk so far to a tube station to get into London is severely restricting. It was a 15 minute walk to the tube (through what seems like a shady part of town) and then at least another 15 minutes on the tube to get to the closest attractions. As a young woman, walking with my boyfriend was ok, but I would shudder to walk around here at night by myself.

The room itself was clean and basic - serviced everyday but no fridge, TV remote or shampoo (only little disposable soaps). Breakfasts were basic but ok: cereals, eggs, toast, cheese & ham.

The staff were mostly great, the girls who do breakfasts and the room service were excellent, and the guy who does reception most days was extremely helpful. Some of the older males who man the reception desk overnight could be quite unpleasant.

Would I stay here again? Only if I was on a strict budget. If you can afford it, stay closer to Central London.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bethlouise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Sorry but this hotel didn't tick all my boxes. The good points were that it was clean and parking there easy.Price reasonable.

The bad points the mattress was very hard.Felt like an ironing board!There was no shampoo or
shower gel, just two small bars of soap.No hand towels or bath mat and no remote control
for the TV.When we said to the Reception in tyhe morning that there was no remote we were
told that they had them at the Reception Q!!! How totally bizare.Breakfast was very basic with
no fruit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lindajoyce21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

nice hotel, friendly staff, breakfast more less Ok, could be more different food except corn flakes ( 4 types), 2 types of ham, 1 type of cheese, and white toast,. there is also milk, coffea, tea.
beds where good for sleeping, every day clean towels. room was clean.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damir2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I stopped at the viking hotel for eight week's on business, this is a modern hotel, the room's are cleaned to a high level every day, the breakfast is nice and all of the staff are very friendly, there is secure on site parking and great transport links. I will definitely be stopping here again.
Adrian

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank adi-ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

For the price we paid we had a decent and very clean triple room though a bit noisy as it was on the main road. Breakfast was very good. No shampoo or shower gel available. Wifi was with a fee. Reception staff not very friendly. Yes will come again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charbo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#712 of 1,081 in London
144 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#637 of 1,081 in London
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#779 of 1,081 in London
472 reviews
Hotel 65
#755 of 1,081 in London
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Address: 162 Romford Road, London E15 4LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #801 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £40 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing