We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Viking Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viking Hotel
Ranked #864 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I've been a week in this hotel and I had no complaints about any aspect. You can get the underground just getting on the bus outside the hotel(25 or 86 both are good) and be in the centre of london in 20 minutes. Big mall, supermarkets and some restaurants are also near the hotel. At night you can rest well because the district is peaceful, what it is good if you have had a hard day walking around London.
Nice staff, room cleaned everyday and good toilets inside each room.
If you are thinking about having great days in London without a big budget, I recommend you this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tumaset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    215
    203
    74
    62
See reviews for
171
211
31
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dundee scotland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel was basic but clean and welcoming and the room was a reasonable size. Breakfast was basic but ample for the inclusive price and the free and safe parking suited my requirements, hence the overall 'very good' rating for my visit to London. The Stratford station, for us, was a ten minute walk and there is a Sainsbury's and Tesco express very close nearby.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel on Romford Road are noisier due to the busy traffic, and I expec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edm0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in Feb 14. Very unreasonable reception man took nearly 30 mins booking us in and asking for I.d (which was not available at the time). His views would seem to be very homophobic. Room was clean and tidy overall.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ollywoowaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

The room was big enough and clean. The bathroom was old but clean. Good brekfast.Stratford is far away from the centre but easy to reach thanks to underground and buses. The hotel is simple but clean.


  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Antonella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel was OK for the price. I have stayed in worse. Their mattresses on the beds are not the best. I moved room once to another room but just the same. The station is a good 20 minutes walk. Other than that breakfast was basic, the staff were cooperative and pleasant. Room was clean apart from cobwebs on the top of the curtains ( room 322) and for the most part quiet.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The main problem with this hotel is it's location. Having to walk so far to a tube station to get into London is severely restricting. It was a 15 minute walk to the tube (through what seems like a shady part of town) and then at least another 15 minutes on the tube to get to the closest attractions. As a young woman, walking with my boyfriend was ok, but I would shudder to walk around here at night by myself.

The room itself was clean and basic - serviced everyday but no fridge, TV remote or shampoo (only little disposable soaps). Breakfasts were basic but ok: cereals, eggs, toast, cheese & ham.

The staff were mostly great, the girls who do breakfasts and the room service were excellent, and the guy who does reception most days was extremely helpful. Some of the older males who man the reception desk overnight could be quite unpleasant.

Would I stay here again? Only if I was on a strict budget. If you can afford it, stay closer to Central London.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bethlouise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Sorry but this hotel didn't tick all my boxes. The good points were that it was clean and parking there easy.Price reasonable.

The bad points the mattress was very hard.Felt like an ironing board!There was no shampoo or
shower gel, just two small bars of soap.No hand towels or bath mat and no remote control
for the TV.When we said to the Reception in tyhe morning that there was no remote we were
told that they had them at the Reception Q!!! How totally bizare.Breakfast was very basic with
no fruit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lindajoyce21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#687 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
CityStay Hotel
#950 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hotel ibis budget London City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#577 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Forest View Hotel
#809 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#729 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Hotel

Property: Viking Hotel
Address: 162 Romford Road, London E15 4LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #864 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viking Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotelopia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing