We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing and enjoyable”

Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge
Ranked #81 of 22,692 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$43 - US$57
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southbank
Description: Offering postcard-worthy views over Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge is housed in the Marriott County Hall Hotel. In this landmark building, gorgeous library-style surroundings offer old world charm.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“very relaxing and enjoyable”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This wonderful afternoon tea starts with the warm friendly welcome from the knowledgeable and professional staff. The tables are comfortably spaced and the views across the Thames towards the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben are fabulous.
You are offered a wide varied of teas to enjoy and the tasty sandwiches and cakes are surpassed only by the 'free flowing' bubbles. Well worth a visit, whether you're celebrating a special event or not. We will certainly be returning!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFun24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    74
    23
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely way to spend a few hours”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Arrived and shown to a table away from the live pianist - perfect as we had asked for a quiet table.
Staff arrived with glass of 'champagne' and a box of teas to decide on. Open up the jars and decide which you like the smell of. Any dietary issues? no problem - they can swap any of the food if necessary.
Then comes the tea + sandwiches - thin bread, mix of fillings, no crusts + scones - sweet and savoury with cream, jam and cream cheese + bite sized cakes - all excellent.
Staff were lovely explaining everything, attentive and all with a smile.

Went with the offer of free flowing bubbles - and it was, we were offered more of everything.

Note - price seems to have gone up since we booked so look around - no need for the extra cost of birthday cake - cake is included!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoyTravell1ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea with freeze flowing bubbly!!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is the second time I've been for afternoon tea and it's just as good! Food excellent, service even better and the bubbly just keeps flowing! I couldn't fault it even if I tried - thank you to the Library Lounge - we I'll be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I went for afternoon tea for a friend's birthday. As there was a big group of us we had a private room which was beautiful. The staff were amazing and made us feel very welcome, the sandwiches & cakes were lovely and were generous with the Cava. Although in a private room we didn't have the privilege of the stunning views but once afternoon tea was winding down and people started to leave we were allowed to go in to the main dining area. It is by far the best place that I've ever been to for afternoon tea (been to the Savoy, the Ritz, the Grosvenor etc) and will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackiefern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon tea”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Was initially sceptical about this after girlfriend suggested we go during a recent trip to London, however fears were quickly put to rest.

Upon arrival we were told our table was being made ready and instead offered a seat in the adjacent bar with a glass of champagne. After a ten minute wait we were led to an excellent table by the window.

Everything about the day was brilliant. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable, taking time to explain what everything was. Despite not being a particular fan of tea each one I tried tasted great. All the food; from the cakes to the sandwiches and scones were impeccable.

The Champagne was free flowing for the entirety of our visit and for under £40 each represented excellent value for money.

The building itself is incredibly historic, having been the seat of the London Government from 1922 to 1986 and the Library Lounge is beautiful with wonderful views.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BN1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Afternoon Tea at The Library Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing