We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a refurb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA London St Pauls
Ranked #49 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs a refurb”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is my third time staying at the hostel in the last 5 years. Now looking worn and needs a refurb.
Hooks no longer in the bathrooms. Description of rooms is interested. I thought I had booked a Twin, it was a set of bunk beds not good. Only noticed the bells at St Pauls in the morning, most annoying was the helicopter hovering over the protest.
Staff were friendly. Not a place for meeting other travelers.
No free Wi-Fi however Starbucks across the road has.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiing100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    230
    128
    43
    15
See reviews for
101
29
171
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schaerbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I'm not sure whether or not it was due to the fact that it was my first experience in a Youth hostel, but I didn't enjoy the place that much.

It's indeed ideally located, in a very calm neighbourhood, close to St Paul's Cathedral, and to lots of major attractions of London, but still not so easy to find.

This hostel is also not that astonishing, quite commonly decorated, and with not a that warm atmosphere.

My dormitory was also just in front of the laundry, and therefore extremely noisy, such as the people entering the bedroom till quite late in the evening. Though the place was said to have been recently refurbished, I was amazed to discover for the first and only time in my life so far, triple beds! Quite special, and not that cool, such as the showers, quite basic.

Lastly, the breakfast was good, but you could only go once, and didn't have that much choice. It was also like a cantine, and I didn't like too much the atmosphere.

Since then, I've discovered much better places for backpackers, and at a cheaper price!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotauvergnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Waltham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Have been YHA members for years and know exactly what to expect. If you're a camper, you'll be used to the type of facilities avialable, as good as any of the best camp sites. Yes, showers and toilets are usually common use, but there are plenty of them. Check with any hostel when booking, as SOME do have ensuite rooms, again, the most basic, but get real folks, we're using this network of hostels to save money! If you want all mod cons and featherdown, then pay at least three to four times the price for ANY other city centre hotel, it's your choice, but dont moan about hostels, itys a great network and the staff do a great job.

We initially booked purely for its locality to Somerset House because we where going there to see Beady Eye, booking two nights to make it into a city break. Its actual location is fantastic. Almost straight out of the door to St Pauls, Millenium bridge just around the corner, giving access to the Globe Theatre, Tate Modern and all of the eateries on the South Bank. Turn the other way out of the door for Fleet St. Very good access to several tube stations too - buy an Oyster card before you travel to avoid lengthy queueing.

The room was comfortable, has a wash basin and power sockets. Showers and toilets are conveniantly locvated around the hostel. Bar prices (just a bottle bar really) where much more competative than local pubs. We also opted for their breakfast at £4.99 each - very good value, have as much as you want. Cereals, continental, English, choice of fruit juices and fresh fruit etc etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishing I was there
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The location is outstanding, service very good and beds comfy and has a basin in the 3 bed private room we had. Bathrooms could use more hooks and some ventilation. Bed access borders on dangerous as beds are at 90 degrees to each other and no ladder so have to climb on the beds to get to top bunks. Overall all a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobeth2714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

St. Paul's is clean and very quiet, the builiding used to be the school dorm for the church choir so it does not have that cramped feeling a lot of hostels have. Dorm rooms very roomy with lockers, but the mattresses had seen better days. No kitchen facilities, but food is served. There are good pubs just down the alley and a lot of nearby restaurants. Staff very professional and got right on any plumbing issues. Can't beat this location for the price! There were a few families traveling with children and overall there was a very safe atmosphere. You will hear the bells of St. Pauls chiming every 15 minutes so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenkism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed there for four nights. And it was Ok.
My room was in the basement, right below the dining room. So it was close to the recpetion and I got the wifi in my room (feeble though). All the roommates that came and went were polite enouhg to be discreet when they came in late at night (even if some of them were slightly drunk).
The person who designed the showers and the toilets really were not thinking. The showers do not have even one shelf! So your toiletries have to rest on the floor! And there is no exhaust in the shower, althouhg it does dry up pretty fast. The sink in the toilet is too small to wash your hands afterward.

I see the reason why they have the awkward setting of the bunks at right angles. That way, when everyone is in bed, you are not seen by anyone and you cannnot see anyone else. But that also means that my legs hit the top bunk a few times while turning and night. This aught to definitely have woken up the person who was sleeping there. The lockers were very deep, enough to hold my carry-on suitcase and a backpack with some other stuff. All in all, things that could be improved, but things taht I could live with. Afterall, I didnt spend too much time in the room at all.

Also, the staff at the recpetion would rarely volunteer any information. The girl sold me a nine day Internet package which turned out to be Intenert for a full nine days, meaning I could haev used it for 108 hours! It did not mean only the expiry date! She could have told me!

The location was awesome. I could take the bus or the tube back late at night. Adn wiht the night buses, I could even find a bus to Heathrow early on Sunday morning when the tube doesnt run.
The breakfast was Ok. I had it twice and I did not regret it, becasue I didnot have to stop to eat lunch and only ate an early dinner on both days. There are other places to eat around the hostel, thouhg. Buy tickets for attractions from the recpetion to save a pound or two. My room was in the basement, along the road. So at nigth, if the room lights were on, a pedestrain could look right inside the room. And the sounds of walking people could be a little annoying.

Toilets were always clean, showers were always dry. The food was nice (even though I had to pay extra), and the reception had nice place to sit and surf the Internet (paid). There are locker rooms (paid). You can buy coffee and drinks at the reception. Location is very nice, just a few minutes from the tube and very close to important buses. You can walk to many attractions, which is great.

A few things people will not tell you about London: try the Barclay bike system. LOndon is very friendly for the cyclist. ALso, try the buses. They are more efficietn and more fun than the tube. The oyster card works on the buses too!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arc_rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is a wonderful hostel for location - 1 street away from St Paul's, and convenient to main tourist attractions by walking or metro.

The room was clean, with large lockers which was a plus. Sadly, the toilets were frequently blocked which made life difficult.

My major complaint is the poor security. There is only one powerpoint in each room of 8, but powerpoints are placed outside the room. Resist the urge to use them! My phone was stolen - and, to make matters worse, the receptionist on duty at the time was absolutely no help. While I was there, I was aware of 2 people who had their cameras stolen from their rooms. However, installing more powerpoints would be a cost-effective way of reducing theft.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#64 of 823 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
YHA London Thameside
#131 of 823 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London St Pauls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London St Pauls

Property: YHA London St Pauls
Address: 36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London St Pauls 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your YHA London St Pauls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pauls Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing