We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as last time, bit grubby and anti-social behaviour not dealt with”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA London St Pauls
Ranked #46 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time, bit grubby and anti-social behaviour not dealt with”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We booked YHA St Paul having stayed their during the Olympics when it was great. It is still good value, but it was not as good as last time. The room appeared clean, but there was chewing gum stuck under one of the bunks, clearly visible from the bed below and the bed side drawers had not been cleaned properly - tissues and rolled balls of foil shoved down the far end of these. But the biggest disappointment was the noise! (Not from the bells, I love these). There was a party of teenagers staying on the same floor as us and they decided to use the area outside the showers ( and also our room) as a youth club at close to midnight in the evening. We called to the front desk who were very ineffective and it was only when another family staying there stepped in and asked the teenagers to go down to the main canteen area that the 20 or so screaming teenagers moved and we could finally go back to sleep. In future the hostel should consider putting families on separate floors from big school groups ( and not near the communal areas) and be firmer when dealing with nuisance noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hectorshouse09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    230
    125
    44
    15
See reviews for
101
29
171
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

I've stayed in a number of hostels in London and this is probably the best I've stayed in. The hostel was easy to find close to st Paul's tube station and about a 15 min walk to covent garden. The staff were friendly and check in was quick and simple. It was really quite, no banging in the middle of the night. room was clean (6 bed female dorm) and a good size so there was room to move around. The shows and toilets were spotless and there was plenty of hot water. There is a choice of paying extra for breakfast (£4.99). I would stay here again no questions asked.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hsasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAStPauls, Front Office Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
We appreciate all your positive feedback; we are happy to know you had such a nice stay in our hostel. We would be delighted to have you with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton upon Humber, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

As it was my friends first trip to a youth hostel, and mine my second, we aren't exactly world-travellers. So, when we arrived (about 9pm due to train delays), we had an extremely quick sign-in and directions to our room (consisted of "through the cafeteria, along the corridor, left, right, through the door, up the stairs...." - No use, nor ornament). After finally finding our room, it was a rather large 8-bed dorm, very clean, extremely warm, with 2 sinks and 1 plug-socket. We then had to hunt for the shower room and toilet as we hadnt been told where they were (or that they werent even in the room), but found them to be pleasantly clean. Only overnight stop, didnt sleep for church bells every 15 mins and binmen at half 5 onwards.Location extremely close to St Pauls. Follow directions to St Pauls - Hostel is signposted. Close to tubestation, millenium bridge and lots of bars/restaurants around
Overall, clean where needed to be clean, good for a nights stop-over, but not advisable for anymore than 2 nights. On checking out, bloke at reception was extremely perky for 8am :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayley Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAStPauls, Front Office Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Thank you for all your feedback, it is very valuable for us. We are sorry you didn't feel our check-in procedure was thorough enough, we try to make it quick sometimes (especially in the evening when we feel guests can't wait to get to bed) and we never felt it necessary to give directions for toilets and showers as they are distributed all along the corridors, but no harm on mentioning it from now on!

Best regards,

YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed there is a two bed room with our own bathroom - all together was below 50 pounds a night a room. Nothing much to tell about the room - small with two single beds - two small night tables - and the bathroom - and that is it - but what else do you need in London when you spent most of the time out?! And this location - just perfect -close to the river, walking distance to must see attractions, very close to train line, buses etc. The only drawback was lack of atmosphere in the room - four walls square and the roof - almost like refuge condition.
Great service - I forgot my coat - they found it and sent it back to my home address - thank you

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgasiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAStPauls, Front Office Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
We appreciate all your positive feedback and we are happy to know you received your coat in the end!
We hope to have you staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed here quite a few times last summer. Great value and very efficient staff. Best value entertainment nearby is the free stuff over the Millennium Bridge at the Tate Modern and the £5tickets at TheGlobe Theatre.

Room Tip: Get a single if you can. Brilliant value in the heart of London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 344Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAStPauls, Front Office Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback, we are glad to know you had a nice stay in our hostel and that you enjoyed the nearby attractions like the Tate Modern gallery and Shakespeare's Globe Theatre. Our single rooms are definitely unbeatable value in the city centre, you just need to book way in advance!

Best regards,

YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgos, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Beware thefts
we stayed in january 2013. Be careful with the belongings you left at the room when you go out: some money dissapeared from our room, it was not in sight, someone had to search a bit.

good located, good facilities, warm, good breakfast (eat all you want, £4.95).

wifi only available at hall. Internet £1-20mins (a bit expensive)

Room Tip: no lift, hope you´ll be lucky to get room at 1st floor :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burgalesporelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAStPauls, Front Office Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate us. I am sorry to hear you had something missing from your room during your stay; although we trust our guest's good will, it's always best to keep your valuables secured in the lockers when you stay in a shared dormitory.
We are happy to know you had a good stay apart from that.

Best regards,

YHA St. Paul's Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed over new year. The groung floor room was clean althought no tv. Water was hot but took a long time to have a shower.
Great breakfast and had lasagne one evening, very enjoyabel and cheap.
Would definatley stay here again. Great location for St Pauls, Tate and river. Great location if you enjoy walking. easy reach to tower of london and Tower Brige and in the opposite direction the embankment and up to westminster if you enjoy walking.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 256Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Hi Heather

Thanks for your review - I shall double check the water supply to make sure it's piping hot. Sorry for any inconvenience was experienced during your stay.

Great tips for other travellers too, Tate Modern is a particular favourite of mine!


Thanks again,

Matt Edwards, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#60 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
YHA London Thameside
#138 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#17 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London St Pauls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London St Pauls

Property: YHA London St Pauls
Address: 36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London St Pauls 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your YHA London St Pauls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pauls Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing