We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palm Court

Palm Court
Ranked #4,026 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$69 - US$138
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: St. James's
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A great treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had to check it out for ourselves. What was the hype and rave about the famous tea at the Ritz all about? Staying at the Hotel and getting the opportunity to get some of the prime time for tea. It all is like a ceremony from the moment you check in for your table, to be seated and then served cakes, sandwiches, desserts, of course tea of your choice and if you want, champagne.
I can't follow some of the negative critics of other contributors here. The food is really fresh, definitely not dried out bread on the sandwiches, very high quality ingredients, freshly baked scones and some over the top pastries. Nothing to complain about at all. However it is busy, many people including us are making pictures as it is a memorable event. Service was friendly and efficient. Over all a nice memorable treat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    11
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Known for the best high tea in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Palm Court is known for the best high tea in London and it has no comparison! The stunning atmosphere, the delicious edibles, the great service and of course the variance of tea offered. If you want the true experience the Palm Court is worth every pound!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SquireJones155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I booked afternoon tea in Palm court for yesterday for mums 60th. I wasn't sure what to expect as we'd never done anything like this before. The first thing your blown away with when you walk In is the decor and abundance of fresh flowers. It is truly jaw dropping. We were shown to a cloak room and handed our coasts in then got shown to our seats. The tea set is as expected beautiful. I have a milk allergy and this was noted at time of booking. I got my own set of yummy sandwiches and cakes! I felt extremely guilty as I just couldn't manage if all. There was a constant flow of extra sandwiches and tea if you wanted it. Scones were served at the right temperature so you got these on request and were served with clotted cream and jam (the jam had whole strawberries in it!) Then came the cake trolley, we were so full we didn't get to sample this but it looked amazing-sticky toffee cake and a lemon drizzle cake, again you could eat as much as you wanted.
The waiters were extremely attentive, polite and aware of everyone's needs. They watched everyone constantly to see if they were comfortable and had enough to eat and drink. There was a man playing the piano throughout-lovely!
There was no rush what so ever, we sat as long as we liked.
I can't express how fantastic our experience was. It is defiantly worth doing and we hope to go again some time!
Thank you to the Ritz team!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raspberrycupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I have been”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Went for afternoon tea. I have never been so disgusted. The sandwiches were awful. The scones stuck to your palette. The cakes looked so awful we didnt eat them. In fact we were so hungry afterward went for a proper decent meal. The sevcice was dire and asked for more egg sandwiches and they bought smoked salmon. Go to the Dorchester instead as that was impeccable

Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

beautiful place to sit back relax and enjoy your surroundings a little piece of heaven , highly recommended

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rotherchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palm Court also viewed

 
 

Been to Palm Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing