We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not great for couples weekend away bit like a hostel”
Review of 198 Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
198 Suites
Ranked #200 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“not great for couples weekend away bit like a hostel”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Not happy with the greeting had to go 300 yards up the road for keys and then the door to apartments not well signed at all. I think I have been charged twice and when asking the receptionist she looked at my card and then processed it again without my permission
Room is very compact and not like the picture we had seen on booking site
Bathroom clean and shower nice and hot but kitchen facilities are awful I refused to prepare anything in a cupboard with a Cooker and fridge that s older than me
When we entered the apartment at the front door there was a horrendous smell of someone smoking grass in there room and noise all night from ppl coming and going
We was also not advised that we was booked on third floor and no lift
On a good note it's ideally located for London tube and train 5 min walk and lovely restaurants and bar's
If you don't mind hostel type accommodation then this is perfect

Room Tip: Don't think there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caps111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    39
    13
    2
    11
See reviews for
10
37
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrived and was treated with a pleasant smile but the room was the total opposite, the fridge door handle was broken, no glasses or cutlery for drinking/eating, and as my wife was drying her hair we had a power cut in the toilet no lights/hair dyer or anything! As we were leaving I rang reception to hear not even an apology or refund offer... Now 1 day later I've noticed the cheaky snakes have charged my card twice!! NOT HAPPY DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stayed here during a one-night trip to London and was a bit confused by having to pick up the key at 274 West End Lane and walk back up. I hadn't realised there were different numbered suites.

It wasn't a major problem although the offices weren't that clearly marked so I did wonder if I'd found the right place. Once entering though the staff were friendly enough and I didn't have any problems.

I didn't use any of the facilities apart from the bathroom and the bedroom. I found the room to be completely clean and the bed was great. The bathroom was small but again I found it clean and I appreciated the towels (for some reason I wasn't sure whether the place would have them). And the free wifi is always a bonus.

For the location and the price I thought it was perfectly decent for a solo traveller looking to stay somewhere relatively central (near to where I wanted to be anyway). I'd certainly check out their prices and consider staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timblankt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Couldnt ask for more . Excellent location and value for money. Free wi fi. TV channels. Fridge stove cutlery, steamy hot water and quiet room. Spotless shower. Cleaned daily. Bed matress quite comfortable. Safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karinaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

It is not a proper hotel: you collect the key at 274 West End Road and then you have your own way in and out the room/flat. There's no reception, no staff, only 10 rooms. Rooms are nice, wide, bright and the kitchen facilities essential but useful: kettle, toaster, a couple of pans, crockery and cutlery. Everything clean and a wonderful high pressure shower (not easy to find in pretty cheap hotels in London!). Not luxury but definitely good!

It's just pretty annoying not having staff to ask questions if you need and to collect the key somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta_Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paralimni, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The service and the ladies at the the desk were very rude and could not help me in anyway i needed. I think this hotel is oly for closing down. The rooms had mice in also spider webs. CLOSE THE HOTEL!!!!

Room Tip: Dont go. Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marios M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The service was terible. There was a misunderstanding about the payment and the receptionist agreed not to deduct the first night and once we checked out they withdraw the money from our account and they are not returning them now, even though we email them and called them several times.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omonoia1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Hampstead
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#623 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#567 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
291 Suites
291 Suites
#341 of 823 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
274 Suites
274 Suites
#472 of 823 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charlotte Guest House
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 198 Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 198 Suites

Property: 198 Suites
Address: 198 West End Lane, London NW6 1SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — 198 Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your 198 Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
198 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing