We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Stars ???”
Review of Greenland Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greenland Villa
Ranked #389 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Chose the hotel by the pictures that were put on the website and the distance from the O2 arena!
Luckily we were only staying for one night! On our arrival we found that the hotel certainly was not a 4 Star hotel and could possibly be classed as a bed and breakfast (and thats pushing it). The reception area was not as depicted in the photos as it was full of office equipment and bric a brac (rubbish). The room was in desperate need of decoration and the queen size bed were two singles pushed together with broken headboards. The double duvet cover was bleached yellow, but should have been white (we think?)The wardrobe was tiny with no room to hang any clothes. It also stored the two single duvets, which were rolled up and thrown in the wardrobe. There was also a shoe tree pushed into the corner which was impossible to use. The carpet had seen better days and the whole room required a good clean. The hairdryer was placed in a position were there was no access to a mirror. The shower was tiny with the light hanging down into the cubicle itself (water and electricity does not mix apparently?).
On checking out we waited for around 15-20 minutes (which was timed) in reception without seeing anyone. Eventually we decided to cut our losses and left, without breakfast. A big con!!!
Having travelled around the world on various occassions a third world country hotel with 1 star would definately be better equipped and more clean than this so called 4 Star? Whoever rated this hotel needs to get there eyes and nose tested as it is not a 4 star and is not worth £99 a night.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DGF1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Greenland Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and we were very surprised when we got there ,it was clean the beds very comfortable the staff very good and welcoming and they gave it a homely feel would recommended to family's couples or friends .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My Fiancee and I stayed here on 12/06/2013 for a gig at the O2 that evening. We had booked via booking.com

http://www.booking.com/hotel/gb/greenland-villa.en-gb.html?aid=303948;label=bookings-naam-3jHr6EsDyn1Uq9ttdGmKKwS21593524221%3Apl%3Ata%3Ap1%3Ap2300%2C000%3Aac%3Aap1t1%3Aneg;sid=789aa116a06fe96b0dfe31de42877fed;dcid=1

and after seeing the photos and write up decided that this would be the perfect place for us to stay! However after booking via this third party website, we then realized going through their own webiste it would have been about 20-30 pounds cheaper, and would have included breakfast. Sadly this was extra from the website we used!

We arrived at the property ten min before check in time, as we had arrived by train and walked up the hill. We were very pleased we had not decided to drive, as the only 3 parking spaces outside the building were already taken, and the only available parking was paid on street parking otherwise.

We rang the 2 bells, and knocked the door and had no answer. We then rang the guest house telephone number and finally the mobile number on the business card (stapled to the door) before we were finally given access. Upon entering that lady who came (presumably proprietor, as she did not introduce herself) informed us in a very unfriendly way, that the reason we were not answered was due to the fact that she was busy elsewhere in the property preparing things and that we were in fact 10 min early!

The reception area did not look clean, modern and inviting, but cramped, dirty and like someones over crowded lounge which had been made into a make shift reception area. Upon being handed our key the lady attempted to be slightly more friendly by informing us that she had been making bread for breakfast the following morning.

She went on to go through a few formalities before telling us where our room was located. When we asked about the licensed bar, she seemed very apprehensive and asked if we wished to have a drink now. When we said not now, but perhaps before we went out later, she then said the bar was under construction, but we could contact her should we wish to have a drink.

We went up to our room, and after shoving the door open using our entire body weight we entered our room for the night. The room we were given was not one that we had seen on any website advertising the building and now I know why!

We had a look around the room as you do when you arrive, and this is what we found.

Magazines as reading material (3 dating from 2010 - 2012)
One of the bedside lamps did not work
A stain (possibly blood) on the duvet cover
Bathroom was tiny (no good for larger people) or those with long legs! (see photos)
bathroom bin had not been emptied from previous guests
we had to ask for more toilet roll, as there was hardly any and no spare in room
Garden and furniture was very tired (see photos)
fridge in room was rusty inside (see photos)

room was boiling hot, so had to leave window open all night (lucky i guess, seeing as I didn't want to use the stained duvet! However this did mean we had to go and buy some earplugs, to block out the city sounds (as we are both light sleepers)

Plug sockets in the room (which we don't know what they switched on/off)

TV/Video combo manual (this wasn't even in our room!)

and a wardrobe that housed spare duvets (no covers) and spare coat hangers. This facility had a hanging device on the door which was hanging off, and the door would not stay shut as the fastening was broken

Checking out was as much fun as checking in!! The lady (different lady to when we checked in i believe) was sat in an office chair on the far side of the reception desk. When we walked in she looked up (with her hand still rested on her chin) and forced a smile and only spoke when we spoke to her! We simply said "we're checking out" of which she just said "yes" and after I looked to see if we had to sign out as well as in, she put her chin back on her hand and looked back at the computer. We then left the key on the top and said "goodbye" and she just said "goodbye, Thank You"

We had no interaction about how our stay was, and she couldn't even be bothered to get out of her chair!

Still, there were just a couple of good points!! Yes honest, there are!

The bed was massive and very comfortable
New carpet in the hallway was nice
The power and heat of the shower was lovely
The curtains however unattractive were extremely good at blocking out the early morning light
The residence was a quick ten min walk up the hill from Westcombe Park train station and a quick ten min bus journey from virtually outside the door to the door of the O2 on number 422 bus

Sadly the good points are not enough to outweigh the bad in my personal opinion. We were extremely unsatisfied!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyHumphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

It s a pure scandal ! 4 stars ? On which scale ? Price is scaled on 4 stars, confort is 2 stars.
Room is crap, plenty os useless stuff and essential missed. "English" breakfast made in China.
Forget it !

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Didier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The hotel is close to blackheath, walking distance to greenwhich park and station. Breakfast was good, comfy beds for us all. We stayed for one night as a family of 6, 2 adults, kids aged 8,6,4 and one month. The room included a cot bed and its very affordable. I run a hotel myself and did not notice any of the negative stuff left by other guests but we all see things differently and easily blame the hotel, if you notice something then let the staff know so it can be addressed. Parking is free and you can purchase travel passes in the hostel reception, wife was free as a bonus.

Room Tip: well I did not see all the rooms but bed sure to let the staff know what you need prior you arrival...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rakyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel on the 18/05/12. I paid £138 for the "luxury suit", which was a waste of money. The good points where that across the road was a nice Chinese restaurant and the location was close to the 02 Arena. We received a king-size bed which was extremely comfortable and there was a lot of storage areas, they also provided us with a fridge which we used. The room was presentable but nothing what the pictures on the website were we booked it from. Our main light didn't work and the DVD controller didn't either so once we had got comfy in bed we had to get up to press play etc... The bathroom was clean but the Jacuzzi on the bath didn't work. Me and my boyfriend went downstairs to ask if something could be fixed and we got told that the jacuzzi is waiting for repair that's why the price was lowered for us but £138 isn't a low price for the outdated room we was given, I wish I had taken some photos to show you all.

From the website it suggested that the breakfast is £6 something.. so we went down in the morning to find out that it was £10 for a full English which I refused to pay and we went out for breakfast. If this hotel was at a lower price possibly £60-£70 I would have thought it was good but seen as it is overpriced I would advise anyone that they can find better accommodation (probably with breakfast included) for the price. The website also states that Parking is available luckily when we got there we did find a space but it is only a drive which can fit around 3 cars so if the hotel is busy you may not be promised parking.

Room Tip: Our room was number 7, right at the top and we had no problem with the busy road outside.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Location is fairly close to main road, so perhaps not ideal for light sleepers. We had a major discount off quoted price; if we'd paid the full price, we would definitely have felt cheated! As it was, the price would have been OK, except that I awoke to find two intensely itchy bites on my feet - too large for fleas or mosquitos, and hence almost certainly due to bedbugs! Avoid this place until it has been fumigated!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#423 of 1,073 in London
1,202 reviews
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#267 of 1,073 in London
1,919 reviews
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#399 of 1,073 in London
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
The Angerstein Hotel
The Angerstein Hotel
#108 of 563 in London
103 reviews
Greenwich
The King William Hotel
The King William Hotel
#324 of 563 in London
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenland Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenland Villa

Address: 9 Charlton Road | Blackheath, London SE3 7EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £62 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenland Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenland Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing