We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Antigallican Hotel
Ranked #248 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent budget accomodation”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. We did ask for 2 twin beds and received a double, which wasn't bad but not ideal. The shared bathrooms were always clean and the common room was nice. There isn't any A/C and we didn't have a fan so it got a bit warm in our room, but we managed. Wifi is good and there was a sink in our room which was nice for brushing teeth/etc.

A few things about location: the hotel/hostel is pretty much in the middle of nowhere. It's probably great if you're going to the O2, but since we were just in London to sightsee, it was a bit inconvenient. It is literally across the street from the Charlton train station, which is very nice and made traveling convenient, but I would've preferred not to have to travel 20+ minutes just to get to London.

Our room was also right above the pub, which got a bit noisy on Friday/Saturday night, but things seemed to quiet down fairly early so it wasn't a bother.

Good if you're looking for a shorter, budget stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    38
    29
    17
    12
See reviews for
16
26
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend to watch a concert at the 02. Could not get a more ideal location, train station and bus stop are opposite the hotel, with buses for the 02 arena running every ten mins right up until 1.15am.
The hotel itself is basic, so if you are wanting luxurious facilities this isn't the place for you. However if your wanting a room for the night that is clean and comfortable then you are in the right place and the price is unbeatable. It is noisy as you are on a main road but hey this is london a busy bustling city so it is more than expected.
The hotel is very secure which makes it ideal for travelling females. The manager is very hospitable and all the rooms are cleaned to an extremely high standard so hats off to the domestics. Tea/coffee making facilities and you can grab a hair dryer from reception if you forget yours.

I will be staying again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed here with a friend for a night while seeing a concert at the 02. It's so easy to find at just a 30 second walk from Charlton train station, you can't miss it (although don't let that put you off, there was no noise). There is also a bus stop just outside with buses running to and from the 02 every 10 mins for just £2.40. The room itself was basic but had all you need for the night. We stayed in a twin with ensuit (definitely worth paying the extra £10 go have the ensuit) the beds were comfy, it had a tv and tea/coffee making facilities. It was very clean and all you need really. The bar could do with updating but all in all very good value for money in London. And anyone who knows London knows you don't have to stay in the centre to see the sights, as long as your near a station it's only a short journey to most places! Will definitely be staying here when we return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We booked the Antigallican as we were travelling to the O2 and the usual Holiday Inn style hotels where we would normally stay were all full. We were recommended the hotel by Booking.com but the pictures showed a bit of a rough diamond above a pub. How pleased were we then when we were shown to our triple room, with en suite facilities, tv and tea/coffee making facilities. The shower room was a tad small but it was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the room. The hotel is on a main road which made us slightly concerned about noise levels but we never heard anything even with the windows open. Charlton station is across the road, the 486 goes straight to the O2 (bus stop outside the station) and there is a 2 hour parking time limit in the car park behind the hotel between the hours of 0900 and 1830. You can park over the road on the trading estate and then move the car across at 6.30 pm. Entry into/out of the hotel is very secure and there is even a little courtyard where you can have a cigarette! All this for £85 for three people - bargain!

Room Tip: If there are three of you, room 19.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed in double room , 2 nights to seeshow at o2, got own bathroom, clean, spacious. Had shared kitchen to prepare own food with lounge and pc , kettle and tea etc in room, towels provided. Access via door code come and go as you please. Next to train station and bus stops near mc donalds and two supermarkets minutes on bus to o2. Friendly staff, well knowledged. Only down fall above busy pub on noisy main road so not good for light sleeper s. Would stay again if going to o2 for easy access.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccaburgess1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I don't know why this hotel is so expensive. I've been there only for one day and I am really happy I didn't have to stay for more. The next days I was in Trinity College of Music dorm rooms, and it was way better.

The room was so small that I didn't even know where to open my baggage. It wasn't that clean and it was noisy. I would stay there again only if I don't have any money to spend elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad_nassos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Boston UK
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

You have to view this place for what it is - very basic, budget accommodation. No frills but having said that, it does the job if all you want is a place to rest your head for the night. More suited to men's outings in my opinion, which is what ours was. I was with my two adult sons and we were attending the O2 Arena for boxing. I booked a 'triple' room for £95 for three of us, room only. This turned out to be a single and a twin opposite one another, with communal shared bath/shower room. I had the single, and the room was really quite good, flat screen TV wall mounted, tea and coffee making facilities, wash hand basin, decent wardrobe and drawers. I've certainly seen worse and for this price, in London, I think it was good value and more than adequate. The staff on hand were predominantly foreign, but with a good command of our language and polite and friendly. Cannot fault it, for what it is, and it was probably better than I expected. About 30 mins walk to the O2 Complex (Millennium Dome), but we took a bus nearby, which runs about every 10 mins. 4* rating for me, but within the perspective of reasonable expectation and it is really a blokes' resting place. I understand that some rooms are even 8 bed dorms and spoke to someone who had booked a bed in there for about £13 for the night! That's a step too far for me, but if you don't mind sharing with strangers, there ya go!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
The Angerstein Hotel
The Angerstein Hotel
#133 of 554 in London
97 reviews
Norbury Apart Hotel
#230 of 554 in London
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A to B Hotel
#394 of 554 in London
111 reviews
Paradise Accommodation
#266 of 554 in London
14 reviews
Greenwich
The King William Hotel
The King William Hotel
#310 of 554 in London
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Antigallican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Antigallican Hotel

Property: The Antigallican Hotel
Address: 428 Woolwich Road | Charlton, London SE7 8SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Antigallican Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Antigallican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing