We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Ranked #818 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is just around the corner by Notting Hill Gate subway, and a good value if you don't have high standard or comfy needs. The breakfast room is smallest in the solar system known to man, but staff is friendly and it's at least clean. And the rooms have proper floors without the dirty old carpets you'll find at most London hotels. Just make sure you don't get room no. 8, (we did) as it is located outside the breakfast room stairs and the reception toilet. Lots of traffic!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Engangskamerat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very small rooms and breakfast hall apart, the Hotel is good situated, no noise, confortable and very clean.
People are friendly and everything was OK.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank manuela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

A nearby subway station and close to hyde parc makes it a good sleeping place. Breakfast and restaurants in the neighbourhood are sufficient and make it a nice place to stay.
We enjoyed our visit to London and might come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Cornelis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The only reason to choose this Hotel is the nice location near Hyde Park and Notting Hill area. However, I doubt it's a good enough reason to stay in this hotel. We booked a so called dobble rom, but it was so tiny, that there were almost no space to move. They had just put in another bed (hard). Soon we discovered so many failures that clearly there is no follow up of what they actually are offering. WIFI was so slow that we couldn't use, one bed was incredibly hard, the other was biased and on wheels slipping all the time from its position, lighting did not work, the loo had problems, and the pipe for the sink was loose. The room was so tiny with so little air movement that they had installed an airpump that made an incredible noice. The breakfast rom was so small that one had to queue several times, and had to wait to have access. The offering was stingy, and even it it was in the middle of the summer, you had to be there at 9.30 at the latest. There is no common room to even sit for a second. The whole hotel is a symbol of minimum investment. Doors keys are taped, as well as numbers on the doors. There is total absence of competence among the staff, and even arrogance and irritation over the fact that we dared comment on things. Despite having to wait 15 min for access to breakfast, we were critized for common 3 minutes to late to breakfast. Apparent, the staff had a continous row with the employees in the breakfast service, which led them to critize clients. If it had not been the period during the Olympics, we would have cancelled all nights as soon as possible. The price we paid is almost a road robbery. The attitude of the staff and the owner is incredibly irritating as well. In one word, avoid this hotel, even the location is not a reason to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OsloErikS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Everything worked very smooth. Nice staff that was very helpful. The room was a bit small but it had everything we needed for a weekend. Perfect location very close to the underground station which took us to London in just 10-15 minutes.
We had a great experience and would gladly choose this hotel again if we were to return to London!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank 875ANNIE
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We've booked for three night but we cancel the last one as soon as possible when we enter the room.
A very small room, smelling sewers with a poor bed, and with a gum on the wall??
The breakfast room is underground and don't expect for an english breakfast, you will only have the bred and the marmalade.
Yes it's in a good location, close to the metro but for this price we found a better place for our last night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiclix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#616 of 1,077 in London
473 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#355 of 1,077 in London
1,554 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#595 of 1,077 in London
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#424 of 1,077 in London
310 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#290 of 1,077 in London
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notting Hill Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notting Hill Gate Hotel

Address: 7 Clanricard Gardens, London W2 4JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #818 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £49 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Notting Hill Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Notting Hill Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Notting Hill Gate London
Hotel Notting Hill Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing