We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broken furniture, no lift, cheap breakfast. That's what I should expect in London!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Ranked #807 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Broken furniture, no lift, cheap breakfast. That's what I should expect in London!”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Where do I start! The room was on the second floor without a lift so we had to carry a 2 month baby up and down the stairs every day in the buggy. The wardrobe and chest of drawers were broken and unusable and there were holes in the walls. The bathroom tap wobbled when you turned it on and the kettle was too big to fit under the tap to fill it up. The shower door leaked water onto the floor. The breakfast room was small, over crowded and dimly lit and the quality of food was poor, cheap and scarce. The reception staff were rude and always talking on their mobile phone and couldn't answer simple questions about the hotel such as 'what does the breakfast consist of?'. A holding fee of €5 is asked when leaving the bags on checking out which I refused to pay. All in all we were very disappointed with the standard of up keep and customer care. I made a complaint to the receptionist on leaving and was told that 'that's what I should expect in London'.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    113
    181
    93
    69
See reviews for
135
145
44
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

If you book this hotel prepare yourself for the most offensive smell throughout your stay. Also, please be aware of the false advertisement, and inaccurate photos. You do not get what you pay for! We booked a certain room, they gave us something else instead. We only stayed there 1 night, and changed our hotel the next day. The service was awful and very rude.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babyxan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

South Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 612 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Again an OK hotel - you get what you pay for. Staff were pretty nice and helpful. Rooms are clean if not too big but again for short trip and I was alone so i got single. Nice area with the usual restaurants and cafe's knocking about. I also picked the hotel because of its proximity to Heathrow and the metro.

Room Tip: When you arrive ask if you can have a spacious room & away from restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank afootandahalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Quiet hotel with very friendly welcome. Good size and standard of accomodation and a continental breakfast included in the price ofn the room.
Smart, clean, tiled en suite toilet and shower room..
Very handy for buses and underground travel into Central London.

Room Tip: Top floor a bit of a drag up the stairs so look for one on the first couple of floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#620 of 1,069 in London
203 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#637 of 1,069 in London
454 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#586 of 1,069 in London
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#366 of 1,069 in London
1,485 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#480 of 1,069 in London
223 reviews
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notting Hill Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notting Hill Gate Hotel

Property: Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Address: 7 Clanricard Gardens, London W2 4JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #807 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Notting Hill Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Notting Hill Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Notting Hill Gate London
Hotel Notting Hill Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing