We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't take the promo offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Ranked #817 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 11 February 2014

They have four rooms downstairs, in the basement. Small, no windows, no air, terrible bed / shower, it's either too hot or having the air conditioning blow all night. That's what the promotion offers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

Absolutely horrendous.

We booked here not necessarily anticipating luxury, but we were not anticipating such a disaster.
Upon check in we were informed we had been moved to a different hotel, but it apparently wasn't a different hotel it was still their hotel but in a different building. We were then walked out the door and down the road, round the corner and taken to this other hotel and reception.
We were then taken to the top floor (4 floors up and no lift) and presented with a room that was ridiculously small with a single bed. We complained as we had booked a double room and were then taken back out of the building and into another one!

Nobody had a clue what was going on at all it was ridiculous. We were finally placed in a double room which was okay and relatively clean but it was in the basement and so no natural light, no windows and no air con properly working and so due to the room being so stuffy we barely slept.

Never ever returning. Customer service was appalling upon complaining - they offered us 50% off our room when we next return, no thank you, we will not be returning. Ever.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charm089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here with a friend late January for a couple of nights. The hotel has one good thing going for it: location. And one major downside: cleanliness.

Pros
- Location: near Notting Hill tubestop (5-8min), a 10-15 minute walk to High Street Kensington with a lot of shops (M&S, Whole Foods, New Look, H&M..)
- Lot of shops nearby - numerous restaurants and small shops
- The staff were always friendly
- The bathroom looked all new or newly renovated

Cons
- Noisy! There was a LOT of noise all through the night. Our room was located downstairs, below street level. All evening and night you could hear water running and/or dripping, doors slamming etc. Especially the fire door outside our room made a lot of noise when people entered and exited through it.
- Cleanliness: no bugs were observed, but the room somehow felt a bit dirty. There were a lot of hairs that did not belong to either of us (dark hairs - we're both blonde) on the carpet, the sheets and pillows. Not very appealing, and worrying, as they always appeared even though the cleaning crew did our beds every day.

All in all:
It's simple, conviently located, but don't expect too much (even if it's Notting Hill). It's okay if your plan is to sleep there, and if you're not a light sleeper.
The breakfast (included) wasn't all that, and the room (we ordered a triple room, but we're only two - and I can't imagine being three in there) is cramped and gets stuffy when someone takes a shower.
But- there's air-condition, the breakfast is included and we were in London to see London, not our hotel! :)

Room Tip: A room above street level would probably not be as noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel was great value for money. It was clean and tidy, the room had quite a few imperfections of surface features paint and finishings but nothing that affected me to much. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of blankets it did squeak a little bit. The shower room was tiny but the shower was hot and good pressure. The toilet and sink room was also tiny but adequate, the major problem was the smell from the toilet, it was just of bad sewerage, it stuck to the toilet room only but was bad, I did tell reception and they did try to fix it but i don't know how fixable this problem is. The wi fi was great however the room was downstairs so did not get cell phone reception. Breakfast was included and looked great but i always left to early to have it. Being downstairs there was some noise from people walking around upstairs. Over all for the price this was a great hotel and the service was exceptional however maybe request an upstairs room to avoid the noise, reception and smell issues.

Room Tip: Request one upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I had a hard time finding a "central" hotel in London, and found that the city is really too spread out to find a place that is centrally located to all main attractions. However, this hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Notting Hill Gate Hotel and right by Hyde Park, so if the weather is nice and you like to walk, that is definitely doable. However, if you're traveling with a few friends, you'd probably be better off taking a taxi. Staff is really nice and front desk is open 24-hours. The free breakfast is a plus, too! Toast, hard-boiled eggs, fruit cocktail, nutella, jam, coffee and juice. The room was a little small, but it definitely worked and I found the hotel to be a good value for what we paid in London!

Room Tip: I was traveling with 3 other people and we had a room that had a double and two twin beds, so maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed overnight with friend and given a room in the basement. Very small but lovely and clean, fresh towels, nice shower, good breakfast served from 7am til 9.30am. Staff very helpful and polite staff, great location, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandral123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed with my wife here for one day and we were not at all expecting anything more than a basic accommodation. We stayed here after staying in Crown Plaza London where we payed 150 pounds for one night. After booking the hotel from the hotel website we called up the hotel as My wife has booked it for one person instead of two by mistake ( Prices were same on the website ), But instead of solving the problem operator has hung up the phone. We were disappointed. But when we reached in the hotel which is very conveniently located less than 5 minutes walk from Notting Hill Tube station and the bus stops, we were surprised by looking at the room. It was a big room with television , coffee maker and very cozy temperature in the room.

The bathroom was very small but designed in a way that you will not feel congested, I a toilet freak but toilet was nice and clean. yes hotel does not have new carpets but what could you expect in the heart of London in 42 Pounds. The hotel was really every penny worth if you are visiting this historical city. check out timing is 11 am and if wish to leave your luggage, till 1 pm it is free and after that they will charge you 5 pounds. All the attractions and Buzzing night Life of London is Close by. You can take bus number 94 all over the night if you want to party late in London. extremely great Location.

Breakfast is very basic continental breakfast but you will get everything what you want. The Breakfast room size is very small but we got the table as we were there by 8 am but I suppose later it will be difficult to find the table. It was all Italian young people staying in the hotel. Will definitely return back to save money.

Room Tip: Room number 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anurag s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#590 of 1,077 in London
484 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#741 of 1,077 in London
676 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#411 of 1,077 in London
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#274 of 1,077 in London
1,737 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#423 of 1,077 in London
288 reviews
Caring Hotel
#553 of 1,077 in London
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notting Hill Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notting Hill Gate Hotel

Address: 7 Clanricard Gardens, London W2 4JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #817 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £40 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Notting Hill Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Notting Hill Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Notting Hill Gate London
Hotel Notting Hill Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing