We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful celebratory lunch”
Review of Murano

Murano
Reserve with OpenTable
Murano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #201 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
nr Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful celebratory lunch”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and came here for a birthday lunch, and were blown away by it. The service was a little slow but very pleasant. The food was superb, with tender and flavoursome produce cooked and prepared superbly. The wines were remarkably reasonably priced, with some wine by the glass for less than a fiver! Given that Hartnett is only one eighth Italian, I'm not sure why this restaurant is so emphatically Italian, but it was delicious nevertheless.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DominicB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    936
    231
    134
    43
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
316 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Top notch London restaurant”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Friday night dinner for 2 to celebrate a birthday and it could not have been better.

The dining room is upmarket but subtle in decor rather than being pretentious. We sat overlooking the kitchen (small for the number of people working there) and it was fascinating to see the food being prepared.

The food was superb and the concept of choosing anything from the menu in any order is a nice change. Whether is was mackerel, john dory, pork or beef the flavours were superb, the ingredients of the best quality and the presentation very good without being an overworked design. The deserts - pear crumble and chocolate ganache were exquisite!

Service was excellent, friendly rather than stand-offish

Extra plate of treats for the birthday girl was a very nice touch.

Wine is expensive but there again it is in all similar London establishments.

We eat regularly in fine dining establishments and this is one of the best.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank PJT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely food, beautifully presented”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

On arrival at Murano we were surprised by the interior because it was quite old fashioned with dim lighting. The staff were very attentive and explained that we could choose whatever we wanted from the menu and the portion size would be adapted to our requirements. We choose the 6 course taster menu and opted for dishes which included ingredients we hadnt tried before such as razor clams and tempura courgette flowers.
However the courses all arrived very quickly and were not tiny so by the 5th course ( greasy pork belly) we were feeling very full up. We also opted for the wine pairing ( luckily only 125mls for each course) so the combination of the rich food in moderate quantities plus various wines left us with indigestion !!
It would have been better to have been guided a bit more with our choices so the dishes complemented each other and we didn't end on a fatty dish
The waiter we were assigned at the start of the meal moved on to other tables quite quickly which was disappointing because the new waiter did not describe the dishes as they arrived. However when I commented that I could not taste the razor clams in one of the dishes they bought out a little ramekin of clams for me to taste some more.
Overall I thought the food was of an excellent quality but some of the flavours listed in the menu descriptions were not strong enough to identify.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ktleo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic - highly recommended!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Lovely food, amazing service - exactly the right balance between friendly and formal. Simple, excellent cooking - Not a bad dish on the menu - can't wait to go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank veggiedoc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
153 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great choices...”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My parents ate here recently and raved about it. They aren't really food fans so that's either a really good or a really bad sign.

We went on a Saturday night and were very pleased. Nice wee pub round the corner for a pint before hand, and a friendly welcome into a smaller dining room. I love the menu. Rather than starter main dessert theory, it's set out as starters, fish, meat, vegetarian and you can have as many or as few as you like in any order. Sounds simply obvious, but I've never seen this before and it's great! Highlights would be the sweetbreads, and the pigeon was as tender as I'd ever had, if quite a mild flavour. Low point was the pud, mainly because the sorbet had melted before it got to the table, somewhat spoiling the effect.

Service is generally good, but here's a tip...with only two diners, I'm quite happy the waiter asks who is having what. I don't like to see the waiter bring the food to the edge of the table, panic, and return to the serving station to check the docket...twice.

A nice touch was to return the next day and collect gifts we had left in the restaurant and meet Angela. She seemed very friendly and down to earth...just forgot to get a picture!

Helpful?
1 Thank McFoieGras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murano also viewed

 

Been to Murano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing