We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful place to stay”
Review of Romany House Hotel

Romany House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Romany House Hotel
Ranked #352 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful place to stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This is a cheap place to stay in central London, but there is a reason why it is cheap. I was put in a small room up the narrowest of attic stairs.
The room was still 1950s decor, but not nice. The curtains didn't fully cover the windows, and I felt unclean spending any time in the room.
The linen, although smelt clean, was really old and had marks all over it.
The cupboard was falling apart, and I wouldn't have been surprised if the bed had fleas!!
My friend had a room with its own bathroom - the in built wardrobe had been turned into a toilet, and her shower was in a cupboard out in the hallway!!
To top if off, the owner had quoted £25 over the phone, yet when I paid he insisted it was £35.
Really, avoid this place and pay a little more.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Almaty
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

The room was basic but always clean, with shower (though towel needed to be changed). The location is very good, quite close to Victoria station and underground, Sainsbury's and Tesco supermarkets. A very quite area. The self-service laundry is a few streets from the hotel. The owner was helpful as to info and tips... Breakfast (in some cafe outside) was continental and good. Upon my request they provided their own iron and ironing board to press my garments. And accommodation was quite cheap. I felt at home in this bed and breakfast guest house.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank castle-builder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

mmm...ok, I don't want to be too cruel in my review, as a friend of mine is a regular of this b&b, as he seems to quite like it. I stayed there with my mum for two or three nights back in 2007 and never booked there angain for my short breaks in London.

Shabby is the first adjective that comes to mind.

Pros: location, quite close to Victoria Station; bathroom was clean
So, what else?...I'm sorry but there's nothing else. I know London doesn't offer a good price for value but I'm sure you can find something better than this.

Cons: very small room (my room was suposed to be a triple but beleve there was no space to walk between the beds), very small bathroom, very old furniture, extremely uncomfortable beds, towels and blankets were worn out and shabby. I don't think the blankets are ever washed after guestes live, as I found several hairs on mine.

A weird thing we noticed: we had a chace to see the room next to ours and it was so much better than ours! So if I haven't persuaded you not to go to Romany House, at least I suggest you to ask for that room.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

The Romany House hotel is a small ten room guest house in the centre of London - approximately 6 minutes walk from Victoria train station and 10 minutes to Pimlico. The hotel is surrounded by shops, restaurants and travel links.

The hotel is situated at the end of a quiet little street which has a great pub on the corner. The ten rooms - I was shown all of them - are en-suite, nicely furnished and very peaceful. There is a breakfast room which is currently being refurbished and this is situated in the 15th century part of the house which was once used as a drinking and meeting den for local ruffians - fortunately that is no longer the case. In fact, I felt very at home and safe at the hotel.

The hotel is run by a lovely couple who were helpful and friendly during my stay. I was at the hotel for 4 nights for work and it was the perfect base for a quiet nights sleep, an easy trip to the supermarket for breakfast (not needed after the breakfast room refurbishment) and to get to transport hubs for going out across London.

I was charged an extremely reasonable rate for my single room (double bed) which I was grateful for as I'm on a tiny research budget. Due to all these pluses in a very expensive city, I will always return, on my own for work or with my husband, to the Romany.

Don't be under the impression this is a luxury or touristy hotel, it's not, just a kind, easy, clean and safe place to stay. In the Victoria area of London there are a lot of tourist hotels which are overpriced and under cared for, this is not the case with the Romany.

  • Liked — The quiet location and comfortable room
  • Disliked — The lack of breakfast but it wasn't really a problem and is soon to be remedied
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MsCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Pimlico
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#486 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#547 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#614 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Pimlico
London Residence
London Residence
#335 of 555 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romany House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romany House Hotel

Property: Romany House Hotel
Address: 35 Longmoore Street | Westminster, London SW1V 1JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing