We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, good value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of LSE Grosvenor House Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LSE Grosvenor House Studios
Ranked #156 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I booked a double en-suite studio at GH for two nights as I was attending the Frightfest film festival in Leceister Square. I had read both good and bad reviews about the accommodation so was unsure what to expect, however, I was pleasantly surprised.

The location is excellent, right on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Leicester Square and Shaftsbury Avenue. Amazing shops and restaurants all around and only a few minutes walk to the Covent Gardent tube station and about ten minutes to get to Leceister Square.

The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly. My room was on the 5th floor, accessible by two lifts or stairs. The room itself was very light and comprised a double bed, kitchenette with hob, microwave and fridge, table/chairs and an en-suite bathroom. The only critisism with the room was that there was no kettle - despite a host of other kitchen utensils, plates and pots etc. The room was quite hot and the windows only open a certain amount but the room was provided with an electric fan which was good.

The bed was fairly comfortable but the mattress was a bit lumpy - possible due to age, but the towels, sheets and bathroom were all very clean. The shower is very 'snug' but luckily I am slim so had no problems!

I booked the Continental breakfast option which is £5 and you have to walk to the Holborn House building about 5 mins away. The breakfast was ok, but on the second day I chose to eat in a local cafe and have a cooked breakfast instead.

Would I book again? Yes. Grovesnor House offers good value in a prime location. If you are expecting 5 star luxury and a trouser press then this is not for you, but if you are happy with a clean. safe and friendly place to stay at a fair price then I suggest you give them a go.

I would definately book

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ademitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    43
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
17
41
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

There are two good things about this place: some (but not all) of the staff are friendly, and the location is very convenient to the tube and Covent Garden's lively shopping area.

The room was extremely basic, typical student digs. Hadn't been refurbished in several years by the looks of things. But that would have been okay had the room actually been clean-- but it wasn't. There was hair in the shower, the sink was grimy and dirty especially round the taps, and the toilet was heavily stained. In the main room, the bed also had hair over the sheets, and in under the duvet. Worrying as it implies they were not changed. At one point I went to plug something in under the desk and when I stood up I was covered in fluff and dust, so this area had clearly not been vacuumed for a while. I soon started to notice that my asthma was playing up, which I put down to sleeping in a dustier room than I would normally.

The kitchenette was only basically equipped with mismatched (not in a charming way) bits and pieces, and the cutlery was grimy and not washed properly. The microwave didn't seem to have been cleaned very well either, as there were signs of food inside it. The inside of the kettle was literally disgusting. I couldn't use it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hathat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

As I had heard good reputation about Grovenor House (as one of the best student halls of LSE), my expectation was much higher than what I actually experienced. I thought this was just an average student hall (in terms of the smell of the kitchen and stains on the floor). Nonetheless, the location was superb and you would not regret if the main reason for choosing Grovenor House was its location for such a reasonable price. Furthermore, the size of the room was big enough (for London).

It was annoying that the fire alarm rang around 5am and we had to evacuate the building. I didn't think it was a real fire - this may be an occasional event you need to expect when staying at a student hall.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

Great place to stay. Located less than a 10 minute walk to the tube station, and about a 25 minute walk away from piccadilly. If all you need is a place to sleep and store your luggage, then this is the place. Internet is 4 pounds for every 20 minutes or so, but there's a starbucks around the corner that has free internet. The beds are comfortable enough. TVs only get 4 channels, but I didn't go to London to watch TV. All in all a pretty awesome place to stay-I just wish it was open all year around. Will for sure be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattyboy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

Hi I stayed at Grosvenor House with a friend in a twin bedded apartment. It was clean, spacious and quiet. There were good cooking facilities and with M&S food just down the road we saved a fortune on eating out in London. It's in a great location. The staff on the desk were very friendly. I'll definitely stay there again when I visit London.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freespirit024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frimley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

The location and price of Grosvenor House are just outstanding. So close to Covent Garden and Leicester Square at a price that cannot be beaten. The room was comfortable though I would have liked to see a few more kitchen bits and pieces (like a saucepan, another plate and some cutlery!). There was some road noise but you can't expect peace in such a central location. Would definitely stay there again and plan to next summer.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oetzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

Unsure what to expect when we booked - pleasently surprised when we arrived, planning to book again as we left!!
Checked in early no problem, room ground floor large twin, kitchen basic but very usable great to have that facility, shower room small but all you need great shower always hot water, clean towels every day except Saturday just leave them on the shower room floor and they are replaced, Reception staff very helpful and friendly - looking at some of the other reviews maybe you are treated as you treat others!
To be fair this is student accomodation it exceeded our expectations and yes its a basic stay in central London for a budget price. You don't get a view or room service but you are 3 mins from Covent Garden Market and Tube Station.
Points to note, Tescos is ten mins walk and open till midnight most nights, M&S food hall 5 mins walk, Breakfast at Holborn 5 min walk (basic and fresh)
Valerie's Patisserie on Long Acre 2min walk highly recomended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bainesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Fielding Hotel
The Fielding Hotel
#163 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#240 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#515 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Covent Garden
Seven Dials Hotel
Seven Dials Hotel
#682 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Covent Garden
LSE High Holborn Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Grosvenor House Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Grosvenor House Studios

Property: LSE Grosvenor House Studios
Address: 141 Drury Lane, London WC2B 5TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Grosvenor House Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor House Studios is comprised of studio flats on Drury Lane in Covent Garden.The location of the accommodation is unbeatable, just yards away from the main plaza of Covent Garden and within easy reach of Oxford Street, Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus and all central London attractions.Each studio and apartment has its own kitchenette and private bathroom; first-rate facilities in the heart of London.Bed & breakfast bookings are also available, with breakfast served at our High Holborn residence, just a five minute walk away. Both residences are shown on the detailed map to the right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your LSE Grosvenor House Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor House Studios Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing