We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Craic,good stay. Good people.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #492 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Good Craic,good stay. Good people.”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Made a booking through email with mark. Who is a true Londoner and gent. It's literally a two minute walk from the hotel to the London eye. Everywhere is accessible by the tube, which is across the road.

A good price in relation to prices in regards for location.

Again mark the manager will accommodate any needs you have. And will have no problem telling where hot spots are.

Overall good food,good price,good Craic.

Regards Ken

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenny556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Hi Ken
Thank you for your review it was good to meet you and like you said it was a good Craic i have not heard that word for a long time .
Anyway you take care and hope to see you back at the wellington soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    192
    102
    32
    26
See reviews for
79
201
53
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Went here for dinner and didn't realise it was part of a chain with The Bear and Staff and possibly most other ye olde London pubs. Food is good,large serves average price of 12 pounds a main. Desserts around 5 pounds. Service is excellent.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spud387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
I am happy you enjoyed the wellington and you found the service good i must be doing something right ha now we do try and make it a good experience for our guest we dont get it right all the time but we give it a go and all i can ask of my staff is try and do your best . thank you for your review and hope to see you again here soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Booked a night here when taking the family for a break in London.
Room was nice but a double,single bed and pull out bed, suited us but it was on the 3rd floor. After a day of sight seeing and two young children it was knackering getting to the top.
Could eat in the bar as we had hoped after our day as it was rammed full of drinkers, so we took to the Pizza Express just around the corner.
Breakfast was nice. All in all - value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi third floor its hard work that one ! a big thank you for your review i hope the little ones had a good time here and london itself . if you wish to stay with us again please ring us here at the wellington ask for me and i see what i can do for you with regards to a room on a lower floor as we are having a major refurbishment on the hotel at this time and we are making another family room on a lower floor so it would be better for you. please take care enjoy the summer
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

On entering the building, you are greeted with a very large pub area and fantastic art work on ceilings.
Check-in was a little slow as pub was packed, but a little patience doesn't hurt.
We had 2 double rooms booked and got 4 and 5. Back staircase leading from pub area was a little spit and sawdust but it is an old building. Rooms were clean well appointed and comfortable. Noise of trains passing was ok, have slept though worse in New York.
Breakfast was worth every penny. Loads of everything and if reading this you think different, try and get bed and breakfast in the center of London for less that £95.
Staff were perlite and friendly.
Would stay again.



Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank notso186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
afternoon thank you for your review we try out best here at the wellington we are not the Ritz but we are friendly . We are having a major refurbishment at this time on the Hotel so i hope if you come and stay with us again you will see the difference .Again thank you for the review and hope to see you soon
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The positive:

It's conveniently located next to the entrance of Waterloo East. Also if you want beer or two, you are located directly above the bar.

The negative:
The noise: considering you are literally next to a very busy main line, you would think the owners would have invested in double or triple glazing?
The cleanliness is somewhat disappointing, with dust and dirt in the stair well to the rooms, the rooms were dusty and the shower room needed a good bleaching. Talking of which, I am pretty sure the poor lighting in the shower room was to hide the fact it wasn't very clean.
The sleep was obviously effected by the noise, but the bed itself was not that comfortable and the duvet was thin and lacked quality.
The breakfast as I only had scrambled eggs (rubbery) and juice (concentrated). They also only started service at 08:00, which for business travellers is usually to late.

I've stayed in worse, but I for the the cost I could have stayed in a "Secret location" 4 star (so why didn't I?)

Room Tip: I would suggest staying somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and your stay at wellington hotel. I am sorry that the standards were not great . we are having at this moment a major refurbishment at our hotel. I would like you to visit us again at our new refurbishment hotel. please contact me in person and i would be more then happy to look after you .
kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Wellington is excellect, we stayed mid week for my birthday, the room we had was clean and warm. The bed was very comfortable. The shower was amazing really woke you up. The breakfast was brillant a lot of choice, plenty of tea, coffee and juices. The staff are lovely and make you feel very welcome. The 2nd time we have stayed there and we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 18 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear guest
I would like to thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at wellington hotel.Wellington hotel will be even better place to stay on your next visit to london as we are having a major refurbishment and we look forward to see you agin soon.
kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I agree with previous reviewers that this place needs a bit of TLC, but it was an ideal base for a couple of days in London.

We stayed in a family room on the 3rd floor facing the road and the noise didn't bother any of us. In fact we all slept very well. Noise would be reduced further if the windows closed properly! Room and linen we're very clean, towels soft and fluffy, beds comfy. No bath, but FANTASTIC shower. Yes, we had to climb a few flights of stairs, but this wasn't a problem.

Breakfast was great. Option of cooked, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, tea, coffee etc. Set us up for the day. There was a nice atmosphere in the pub itself. Felt really welcoming even with a very tired 7 year old! Free WiFi a bonus.

Location is ideal for Waterloo, South Bank & the West End. Walked to the London Eye, over Waterloo Bridge to Covent Garden. Direct tube to Bond Street to hit Oxford Street and to North Greenwich to the O2 Arena.

Overall The Wellington is good value for money in a great location and I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: We slept fine facing the road, can't comment on the rooms near the tracks. If you're a ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SezIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your kind review and your stay at wellington hotel. just to let you know that at moment we are having a major refurbishment at the hotel . we look forward to see you again in near future so you can enjoy the stay even more .
kind regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#201 of 1,069 in London
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Property: The Wellington Hotel
Address: 81-83 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#276 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Chefs know you can only make great food with the best ingredients. So they demand that seasonal, local produce is delivered fresh every day. That’s our Chef’s commitment to your food and one of the reasons they put their signature on every menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing