We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super service, friendliest ever and great accomodations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel
Ranked #118 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super service, friendliest ever and great accomodations!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

If you want to experience a great little London vibe of a fun pub, passionate muscians, great foods and the friendliest and most helpful staff I truly have ever encountered stay at the Harrison. It is not luxury, but it is all ambience. This cute little place served the most fantastic breakfasts, had cozy clean and quiet rooms and bathrooms. It is walk up and it is only 4 rooms and it is a few blocks form the metro but worth every step. It is a sweet little place and the staff is so accomodating, the prices excellent and it's close to everything. It provides that small Inn feel and we would not hesitateto recommend it to everyone! Their english breakfast is the best part!! And it is included. The pub is fun and the rooms removed enough to be quiet. The neighborhood seemed very safe and peaceful. Thanks Harrison for the great memories, we'll be back.

Room Tip: One room had a tight shower (#3) ask for something else if you are big or tall person. Room 4 had le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    71
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
14
73
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We ate here based on a trip advisor search for nearby gastro pubs. Excellent decision! The food was plentiful and delicious. I went for the fish and chips; very nice indeed and a huge portion of fish. The tables are a bit crammed together which reflects the place's popularity and the seating not great, but with food and service so good it isn't an issue.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
218 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at The Harrison for 2 nights on our return trip from Paris (via Eurostar) back to the Isle of Man. We were looking for a reasonably priced place to stay, close to St Pancras and Euston stations, but all the hotels I looked at were asking silly money (for room only). Eventually decided on The Harrison as the price was reasonable (£219 for a double room for 2 nights, breakfast included - booked with laterooms.com), whereas the likes of the Novatel and the Premier Inn were charging over £350 for the 2 nights room only. The pub was within walking distance of St Pancras, the area around Kings Cross was a bit "lively" but we just kept walking, and turning into Harrison Street we could see The Harrison at the end of the road and it looked very welcoming with lots of candles lit in the windowsills. The barman who we checked in with was very friendly and showed us up to our room, which was fine. It was fairly basic but looked clean and comfortable - although my initial sight of it was a bit depressing. It was dark and quite cold outside, but the curtains were open as were both windows with no heating on and our host flicked the overhead light on (one of those energy saving lightbulbs which take ages to get properly lit and which made the room look a bit gloomy and cold). However, once we shut the windows, drew the curtains, switched the radiator on and put the bedside lights on it was transformed and was a very comfortable (if spartan) room. There was a hospitality tray which was very generously supplied with loads of coffee and tea, a flat screen tv, and very clean good quality white bedllinen. The en-suite bathroom was tiny - a cloakroom sized washbasin, with a glass shelf over it which made having a good wash a bit awkward, and a very small shower cubicle but despite being a bit of a squash, the shower was powerful and hot. Nice toiletries supplied too - Neutrogena shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and soap. The first night we'd arrived too late too eat, although we were offered food if we wanted it, and we just went into the bar for a drink. Very nice - beautifully decorated, it was lively without being too loud. The manager seems to have attracted a good clientele and we were so impressed that we decided the next night, instead of going to a show (our original plan) that we'd come back and eat in the pub instead. A very good choice - the food was just lovely, the atmosphere was great and the girl behind the bar was a star. Breakfast was impressive - you have to fill in a form with your choice of breakfast and giving the time you want to eat. The first morning I opted for fresh fruit and yoghurt and got a big bowl of berries, banana, an orange and and apple to go with my yoghurt. My hubby went for cereal (a choice of 5) then the full English which he enjoyed so much that he had it again the next day. Slept very well - comfortable bed, and no traffic noise which was amazing given the close proximity to Kings Cross and St Pancras stations. In fact, the only thing that woke me was the morning chorus from the birds in the trees outside! This is a great pub with rooms - not a hotel, so don't come here expecting a reception or room service (though having said that, we were offered the choice of breakfast in the bar or in our room). We would definitely visit The Harriosn again, either to stay or just to eat, and would recommend it.

Room Tip: The bathroom in room 3 is extremely small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here for a night on business. From the outside a good honest pub, inside bustling and full of atmosphere. Good beer and wine and very good well priced bistro style food - and personal preferences allowed which is a good sign of non formulaic cooking. Cellar is being converted to provide better live music venue and micro-brewery - look forward to that. Biggest impact on me were the staff, to a person friendly, helpful and professional.
Rooms are more B&B than hotel (fine for price) and are on second floor so I experienced no noise intrusion from pub, and being on a side street none from there. Best night sleep in london for ages. Rooms are big and clean and comfortable but utilitarian, and bathroom (I was in room 3, more so and small). Breakfast is ordered night before and while I did not partake (off at 0730 when breakfast started) what I saw made me wish I had time to partake. Would post five stars but bathroom pipped it.
Thanks for a good meal and a good night.

Room Tip: All are on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed for one night on a trip to London. The hotel is part of a pub but we did not hear any noise and slept well.

The location is amazing, so close to St Pancras (3 mins walk). The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast - brought to our room at no extra charge - may be the best we have had in a hotel.

On the day we stayed, there was a slight problem with the water (too hot) so we had to have a bath rather than shower but this was a minor issue.

Overall, highly recommended for a good value stay in central London.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisandCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I stay here every time I'm in London on business. You get nothing in London for less than £100.00 per night so to find somewhere around £120.00 with breakfast, free wi-fi and fantastic atmosphere staff is incredible!!! The bar has an amazing atmosphere, great beer and wines...never had a bad meal. The lunch menu is great, the evening menu is even better...many restaurants in London charge three times as much for much lower quality.. I've had rabbit rissoto, venison, chicken and everything bar steak is under £15.00 (at time of press ;).

The rooms are pretty basic, but comfortable and perfect for business. If you want fancy and romantic go to the St Pancras Renaissance hotel 2 mins down the road...gorgeous, but it'll leave you £300 a night down!! Beds are comfortable, rooms are always spotless, bathrooms are fine...showers could be more powerful but they definitely work and are hot.

Wi-fi is best in room 1 or 2 in my experience (room 3 and 4 tends to get weak).

Breakfast...immense...the best cooked brekkie i've ever had at a hotel. You make your choices on a little card the night before and leave it next to the office, next morning the cold stuff is waiting for you at the time you specified and within minutes your breakfast appears from nowhere with a great coffee...it's not called a gastro pub for nothing!!

Staff are great. You can leave your bags if you get there early and you can leave them all day if you're not travelling back till late.

Overall I've tried dozens of hotels all over the country and this is way up there for service, food quality, services (i'll say it again...free wi-fi & a great breakfast for less than £120!)

As I said in the title, I stay here at least 10 times a year and won't be stopping
Rob

Room Tip: wi-fi is best in rooms 1 and 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I prefer to stay where there's lots of people, rather than in a sterile hotel environment - this place was great!
Being near Xmas meant they were very busy each night but they looked after me, a woman on my own, like an old friend!
Staff are great, friendly, helpful, room was spacious and clean. Only problems were 1) toilet flushing like plane taking off, reported tho and will be rectified, 2) guest in next room to me for 2 of 3 nights was very noisy!! But not managements fault!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19wendycooper67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#539 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Bloomsbury
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#43 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#71 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Judd Hotel
Judd Hotel
#227 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Bloomsbury
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#94 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#255 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel

Property: The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel
Address: 28 Harrison Street, London WC1H 8JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrison Gastro Pub Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing