We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel
Ranked #71 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Was visiting my daughter at UCL. Location very convenient to college, kings cross. For price, it's an excellent value. The rooms are clean, the bed comfortable. The shower is hot. Wifi free but spotty at times. Got to watch the Olympics commercial free on BBC. Breakfast hearty and included. Will stay again if in london

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank wlbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed one night on our way home in this small and surprisingly quiet pub/hotel. Whilst its very busy in the bar/restaurant, the noise doesn't travel up to the rooms. Bedroom was comfortable, clean but fairly basic. Breakfast was enormous - probably the best I've seen with v. generous portions and a wide selection too. We went back for lunch and found that to be really good too. The hotel is located off Greys Inn Road, fairly close to Kings Cross and British Museum. If you like walking rather than the tube its not too much further to walk to Oxford Street and Carnaby Street. Would stay again - its a bit quirky, good food and a change from large and busy hotels. Helpful staff, happy to look after luggage.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H0lidayh0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We found this gastropub/B&B through an online search of outstanding recommendations in the Kings Cross/St Pancras area. We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice: central location, easy access to trains and the London Underground, quick walking distance to almost everywhere a visitor would want to tour, and a charming local feel. There are only 4 rooms, so book fast if you see one is available! The breakfasts were amazing, with lots of choice and variety as well as generous servings, and we shared them with interesting guests from around Europe. The rooms are comfortable and basic; for an American used to big rooms in suburban power-center chain hotels, the bathrooms are relatively small and might take some getting used to, but they are entirely serviceable and the Neutrogena amenities are terrific. We enjoyed dinner as well -- check UrbanSpoon for the area and find it's far and away the top-rated meal. It's a genuine neighborhood pub, and (unlike a lot of American places claiming that status) quiet enough to relax and visit over your pint or meal. We will definitely stay here again when we come back.

Room Tip: There are only 4 -- get one if you can. We stayed in #2 and found it light, comfortable, and roomy.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbschlosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We booked here as it was a couple of minutes walk from Scala by Kings Cross where we were going for an event. The staff were fairly busy when we arrived, as it is a busy pub, but friendly and helpful. We were shown to the room which is up some very steep stairs 2 floors up. The room is basic but clean and comfortable, the shower is probably the smallest I have ever used, but functional. For London the area seemed quite quiet once the pub has shut and not that noisy beforehand. The food is fantastic, both in the pub and the breakfast served in the room. Wouldn't hesitate to go back here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have to admit, I booked this hotel by mistake while multi-tasking ineffectively. That being said, I was pleasantly surprised by this very small hotel just blocks from the train station. The food was great, the bed comfortable, and although they had a live band downstairs, it was quiet in my room and I had no problem sleeping at all. The only downside to this hotel is that it does not have an elevator and the rooms are on the upper floors, but they carry your bag so as long as you can climb stairs, you should be fine.

Room Tip: No elevator in this hotel - but they carry your bag you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tantomile_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for one night during a quick stopover in london. The location is super close to a major undergound hub (less than .5 miles) which makes visiting all the sights *very* easy. The bed was very comfortable, wireless was ok and breakfast was AMAZING. I also want to say that the staff was all extremely friendly and helpful.

My only regret was that we didn't stay more nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themaffeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I booked the hotel at late notice from laterooms, it worked out about 130GBP, the proximity to St Pancreas was great, I arrived at 12 which was 2 hours earlier than the usual check in time but it wasn't an issue. The room was clean although relatively spartan, showing some signs of wear and there was a constant sound of running water in the bathroom.
The breakfast as stated in other reviews was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#563 of 1,072 in London
570 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#258 of 1,072 in London
2,012 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#556 of 1,072 in London
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The House of Toby London
The House of Toby London
#73 of 563 in London
43 reviews
Bloomsbury
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#62 of 563 in London
387 reviews
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#72 of 563 in London
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel

Address: 28 Harrison Street, London WC1H 8JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £127 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrison Gastro Pub Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing