We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced - paperthin walls”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of MStay 146 Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MStay 146 Suites
Ranked #128 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Overpriced - paperthin walls”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

Booked this suitehotel as it is in an area close to Marylebone Station where I was to arrive and depart in London. Found it on Booking.com. Check in was at a hotel 8 minutes down the road. Had problems all the time getting in. The electronic key gave a "signal" that seemed too weak to trigger lock. Rather irritating to try 5-10 minutes everytime you wanted to get in. My socalled 1 bedroomed apartement was in the basement. In the livingroom there was no window, the bedroom had a window onto a 3 sqm courtyard. The bedroom was so small that the door could not be closed. The only upside was that it looked fairly new, and that the bed was OK. The bathroom was tiny and the toilet seat cracked and glued. The really bad thing was however, the thin walls. You could hear every sound from the flat over and from the flat next door. On the first night I heard loud snoring and thought it was my partner. I tried to push him to to stop as I do at home. Then I suddenly remembered that he was at home 800 miles away and that I was supposed to be alone. It turned out that it was a man in the flat next door snoring. Later I heard him making love and whispering "My dear pussycat" into her (and my) ear. On the second night there were new people over my head in the flat on the ground floor. They returned from a party round 3 am and continued partying in their flat to the early morning. Additionally the internett did not work allegedly because of BT, but I was informed about 3 different passwords and log ons so no-one at the reception down the road seemed to know how to give access. So stay away - there are lots of better places in London at app GBP 100+ per night. You might even come across a place with real walls and working internett at a lowever price

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skygirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    61
    46
    18
    15
See reviews for
34
50
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

We planned a weeks holiday in London just after the snowstorms in January. 146 Suites was overpriced and the 'flat' if you could call it that, was small, uncomfortable with a joke for a bathroom (which had no water pressure whatsoever) and not one single comfortable chair to sit in!!! The bed was too low to the floor, the TV reception was appalling, the sofabed uncomfortable ..... so to say the least, a complete waste of money and we would not recommend this facility to anyone else.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancouvergirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

Perfect for a family, as it's only a block or so to two major tube stations. Stayed in Suite 1 in the basement. Stove, fridge, shower, everything worked fine. Beds were basic and clean. Mattresses were cheap and pillows flimsy, but linen was good with soft white towels. Room was serviced every day. Although it was tiny and the standard of finish of the recent rennovation was mediocre (squelching laminate floor, tv hanging off the wall), for the price it was excellent. Street noise (for London) was minimal, but sound insulation in the ceiling (footstep noise from upstairs) was inadequate. Overall, a good budget place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaTish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

We stayed 3 nights......incredibly small we booked for 3 people communicated with the hotel was told it was two rooms and 3 real beddings this was not true. the folding bed provided was more a hamack than a bed but that was not the worst thing we discovered. Yes, bed bugs in my daughter folding-bed. they did not care they refuse to change the bed . I had to speak directly to the cleaning lady to have the matrice removed and a clean set sheet (she was lovely)
the hotel is very noisy
the bathroom of a camping car is bigger.
The morning staff member from hotel 82 were you have to pick up the keys was one of the rudest unhelpful person I have ever seen in hospitality.
washing machine broken they did not care
hot plate not functioning they did not care
hot water system broke down for 24 hours, I dared mentioning it - I was told off.
ask to speak to the management tree times never was contacted.
This is a shame because very well positioned next to baker street tube and quite newly refurbished.

Anyway this is a place to avoid until they get new management

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#332 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#411 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Marylebone
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#659 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#622 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MStay 146 Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MStay 146 Suites

Property: MStay 146 Suites
Address: 146 Gloucester Place, London NW1 6DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — MStay 146 Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of London's West End, MStay 146 Suites offers contemporary and elegant single, double, triple and family en-suite studios that accommodates 4 guests, that are available for short and longer term rental. Refurbished to the highest standard, MStay 146 Suites offer exceptional value when it comes to budget accommodation in London- and are a great alternative to expensive hotel accommodation. All studios come with complimentary Wi-Fi and are fully equipped with kitchenettes that include: a fridge, a hob, a microwave, a kettle and cooking utensils. The studios are located just a 2 minute walk to Baker Street, the home of Sherlock Holmes- and a 10 minute stroll takes you to the hustle and bustle of Oxford Circus and Marble Arch shopping districts. Looking for the Ideal budget accommodation in central London... Then look no further than the MStay 146 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MStay 146 Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
146 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing