We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Good Facilities ... but not B4.”
Review of The Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harrington
Ranked #86 of 847 Speciality Lodging in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Location, Good Facilities ... but not B4.”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I like this hotel ... Good Location, Good Room, New Decoration ... Only one thing. Staff put me in B4 room which is located in basement next to the staff room. The room also next to the neighborhood restaurant which noisy and seems to move the table all the time until midnight. I still give them second chance to book this place once again. I hope to get better room than this room. If you are deciding to go to London and find some place to stay. I would recommend "The Harrington"

Room Tip: Not B4 room ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NUT_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBrooks, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Our sincere thanks for this review and I am very happy to know that this guest enjoyed his stay with us. I very much appreciate the feedback with regards to this one particular apartment, and we are taking steps to improve the experience there.

It was interesting to compare this review with the one which followed, which clearly shows that guests have very varied wishes and expectations and we will always do our utmost to comply with any request given before arrival or on arrival.

I regret that we disappointed this guest in this one respect. The comments relate to a single apartment and I really appreciate that this guest will give us a further chance to show that we can meet his expectations better. We look forward to welcoming him back to The Harrington again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    113
    56
    16
    12
See reviews for
74
112
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A wonderful aparthotel ideally located and with professional facilities you would expect to ensure your stay in London is as comfortable and effortless as possible. Staff are attentive and polite, with room facilities of a high standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpintheAirMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBrooks, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Our thanks for this review and the whole team are very happy to know that this guest so enjoyed his stay with us.

It is clear from my own observations and recent reviews that the guest service training we recently carried out to remind our team of this very important aspect of their role is really paying off in terms of our guests' experience

We really look forward to welcoming this guest back to The Harrington on their next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We didn't expect the apartment to be big because the price was reasonable !! I was impressed by the size and furniture .. It's large and modern and it's too close to both South Kensington and Gloucester rd .. You can easily reach the popular area of Harrods (knightsbridge) ! Take your dental kit and slippers because they won't supply them.


مكان أكثر من رائع من حيث الموقع، السعر، النظافة و الأثاث .. مناسب جداً للعائلات ! غرفة المعيشة واسعة جداً و المطبخ مزود بأدوات الطهي .. قريب جداً من محطة قطار جلوستر رود و ساوث كنسنجتون و نايتس بردج (هارودز) .. يوجد مطاعم و فنادق عديدة في نفس المنطقة .. سلبيات الفندق : يوجد شخص واحد فقط في مكتب الاستقبال، لا يوجد مطعم، لا يوفر خدمة حمل حقائب النزلاء ..

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gacilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBrooks, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Many thanks indeed for this review and to the guest for also providing it in Arabic.

The superb location of The Harrington comes up in review after review and it's true that it is an excellent location both for the local facilities of shopping and restaurants and for getting around the rest of central London as well as, of course, to and from London Heathrow and London Gatwick.

We are very glad that this guest so enjoyed his stay. I very much appreciate the feedback and we will certainly review what we provide for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Have now stayed in three appartments, they are all different and each one has been a pleasure to stay in. The very spacious one at the front had the benefit of views out onto the bustle of Gloucester Rd / Stanhope Gardens, which is always entertaining if a bit noisy at night. The back appartments are smaller but have the advantage of facing South/East to catch the morning sun and much quieter. There are a few faults if one wants to be picky - hot water can take a while etc, but these are far outweighed by ALL the staff, who are very friendly, courteous and proactive.
Location is spot on for everything in Kensington. Gloucester Rd covers all day to day needs. Tube 2 min walk. Albert Hall etc 10 mins. Perfect for those like me who need to take daily walks to the Royal Marsden (8 mins). Mark W - 05.03.14

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBrooks, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Many thanks indeed for this review and the whole team are delighted that this regular guest is so enjoying his midweek stays with us.

I really appreciate the review of the benefits of different apartments, which will be really helpful to anyone considering staying at The Harrington. Some apartment types - such as Large Studio Apartments - are only rear facing. The majority of One Bedroom Apartments (but not all) are front facing. If we are notified of any guest's preference, we will always do our utmost to meet it.

In the meantime, we have been very happy to welcome this guest back to The Harrington this week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Knowing that I had paid a reasonable price for accomodations for a 4-night stay for my adult daughter and me, The Harrington exceeded my expectations. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen well equipped, and the shower was hot with strong water flow. The staff was gracious and eager to assist in making our time at The Harrington and in London as pleasant and smooth as possible. They were very welcoming, identified nearby restaurants, markets and ATM's, and were very pleasant regarding luggage storage. Location was amazing - just a block from Gloucester Station and a 10 minute walk from Hyde Park where Kensington Palace is located. Along the way we passed several embassies and encountered an adorable group of school children in very smart uniforms - all signs of the caliber of the neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBrooks, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
It is very rewarding for all of the team to read this review and we are delighted to know that this guest so enjoyed her stay at The Harrington.

It is particularly rewarding to see that some points criticized previously are now commended - illustrating that we do react to all of the feedback we get.

As with many, this review will be helpful to guests planning to stay with us and we are very grateful for it. We really look forward to welcoming this guest back to The Harrington again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

unfortunately only stayed one night which is such a same given the wonderful appt i had complete with fitted kitchen and all mod cons.
great appt, lots of space and super location, especially for heathrow as it is next to Gloucester Road

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBrooks, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
"If only I could have stayed longer" is a wonderful sentiment to read and the whole team are very grateful for this review and delighted that these guests so enjoyed their stay.

We really appreciate any and all feedback to ensure that we can keep on improving the quality of our apartments and the service that we provide to meet - and increasingly exceed - our guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Good
- location is excellent, you can see it once step out fr the Gloucester Rd tube.
- lift is a great asset, even though size like a telephone booth. It helps not just when you check in and out w/ your luggages but also when you have tired legs and hands full of grocery of shoppings.
- 24 hr concierge - make you feel safe - also attend to things you immediately when you find things not working in your apt - also I can leave my luggage there on my morning flight in and 10pm flight out
- daily housekeeping is wonderful - even though they are not doing deep cleaning everyday
- wifi found to be fast and stable in our apt #302
- windows can open and shut easily (as it is found to be too warm)
Bad
- apartment definitely need to be refurbished - cracks found on different walls, beds and closets are starting to fall apart
- shower water is just luke warm, not hot enough for cold weather, shower head need to be replaced soon (concierge attended to the temperature of the water fr shower but it just improved a bit, but appreciated it)
- tap in sink in the kitchen will sure wet you every time you wash something from there
- no full size fridge with freezer (as we need to cook meals everyday, we would then need to go out to buy food in small quanity) - but I am sure this will not be concern for most tourists
- not enough utensils to cook a real meal, only shallow pans and small pots. there is an oven, but no utensils you can bake anything there.
- no washing machine - washing can be done at GBP5 per load - we didn't bring too many clothes so we cannot wait until a full load to wash - so need to wash by hand
********
Summary:
We had a good deal fr Agoda (limited time special pre-paid offer), so I think at that price for a standard 1-bdrm in Zone 1 with great location, I think it is worth it. However, if at their normal rate or higher after renovation, I believe there are really other choices around. If there is good deal and they do refurbish the place, I will come back again.

Room Tip: - choose higher level for sure - and there is a lift so why not - our apt #302 face the rear - it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewBrooks, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
My thanks for such a useful review covering a number of points, some of which would be very helpful to other clients considering staying here and others which are very helpful to me.

We agree that improvements need to be made with furniture and we will start changing all of the main items in all apartments next month. As this all comes from suppliers, it is something that we can do reasonably quickly.

We had already started adding to the utensils in each kitchen and have completed this on two floors and will continue. However, it sounds as if this apartment did not have everything it should have had and I will make sure that this is quickly rectified.

I very much appreciate the feedback on the shower temperature and I have already had this issue corrected.

Whilst Spring, Summer and Autumn rates are never as low as January and February across hotels and serviced apartments in London, it is not our intention to change the value of our apartments in comparison to competitors. We very much look forward to welcoming this guest back to The Harrington again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#135 of 1,067 in London
609 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#394 of 1,067 in London
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#642 of 1,067 in London
35 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#623 of 1,067 in London
1,269 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#364 of 1,067 in London
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrington

Property: The Harrington
Address: 1 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4JJ, England (Formerly Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 847 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrington 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in chic South Kensington, just two minutes' walk from Gloucester Road station and with many shops and a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens is a collection of spacious serviced apartments including studio apartments, one bedroom apartments and two bedroom apartments. Designed and furnished in a contemporary style, your serviced apartment provides much more space and many more facilities than a London hotel room at excellent value in one of the best central London locations. Travel direct to other parts of central London as well as from London Heathrow and from the Gatwick Express at Victoria Station. Most of London's main museums, the Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park and exclusive shopping in Knightsbridge are all within walking distance. Your apartment is air conditioned and has a comfortable lounge and dining area, a well equipped kitchen or kitchenette and has flat screen TV with satellite channels and newly boosted free Wifi. Make The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens your London address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing