We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Harrington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harrington
Ranked #84 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Chose the hotel based on trip advisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. Very clean modern room. The best thing though are the 2 great restaurants close by. Cafe Forum for breakfast each day was excellent and cheap! And the Hereford Arms Pub is our favorite pub in London now. This little section of London is a great residential area. Tube very close and taxis easily available.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    112
    56
    16
    11
See reviews for
72
110
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

All around fantastic hotel in a great location, close to restaurants, shops, and the metro. Rooms are clean and modern. Most importantly, staff is friendly and more than willing to help in any way possible. A great stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is a great choice if you want a good but not over-the-top hotel in a fairly central location. Only a block from the Gloucester Road tube station, it's easy to get anywhere in London from here. The suite had everything we needed (except for a washcloth, which flummoxed the staff when we requested one -- but I think maybe Europeans just don't use them?) The staff were helpful, though not overly friendly. Each suite includes a kitchenette, which makes it possible to do meals in your room -- we only did breakfast, but even just that is convenient and a money-saver. It's not a luxury hotel, but it was quite comfortable. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel looks nice, and is located in a great area. That being said, we got stuck in a basement room. No real window, no daylight. A cave would have been better and more likely would have had better internet. I have a mobility limitation- basement only accessible by narrow stairs but no other rooms available. The bed was a platform bed, very low with a board running all around the outside. Very difficult for me to get in and out of. Staff was surly, at best. When we checked in the lady was pleasant enough, but after that we got nothing more than a grunt. I would guess that the rooms ABOVE the basement were better....but we will never know.

Room Tip: don't accept the basement rooms.....there is no daylight and they are difficult to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Val F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Harrington, General Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Valeri,

I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your room during your stay with us. We do move guests wherever possible if they are unhappy with their rooms, however as you were informed you were fully booked during your stay. The internet is usually very fast so again i am sorry you experienced issues and hope you made staff aware of them.

Please get in contact directly with myself next time you plan to visit London and I will do my utmost to offer you preferential rates for one of our rooms on a higher level!

Kind regards,

Fred Verity

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed only 2 nights 4-6 July but would like to have stayed longer.
Spacious apartment, modern, very clean, we stayed in a one bedroom on the second floor at the rear of the building.
Bigger than expected, with all necessary amenities and then some! :)
But the soundproofing is not good enough, we heard noises in the corridor, but as it was during the day did not bother us.
The internet worked fine.
Perfect location, very close to the subway, pubs, restaurants and supermarkets.
The neighborhood is one of the best to stay in London, makes us feel a little taste of living there.
The hotel staff is impeccable, especially Marco, a Brazilian who works there and is very gentle.
I thought the price is not very attractive.

Room Tip: A room away from the elvator and the aisle closet should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianaLitvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Currently staying at the Harrington in a 2br apartment. Having read the trip advisor reviews, I considered cancelling our booking. However, we were assured in advance by management that the rooms would be quiet but we have found traffic noise to be a major problem - to the point where nobody is getting a proper sleep. The wifi connection only works in the (cupboard sized) kitchen and not the living area. Having complained about this twice per day for 3 days I have now given up. The beds are also extremely cheap/soft with no support - I travel weekly but have never had such bad beds ever. The location is brilliant and the rooms are clean (but very tired/damaged) but I wouldn't stay here again and I would recommend that anybody who is hesitating about booking here think twice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katetaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Harrington, Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Kate,

I was sad to hear that you did not enjoy your time at The Harrington and that you had issues with the internet and traffic noise.

The internet issue you experienced is still a mystery to me, I have looked into the issue in more detail and the only explanation I can think of is that because there are two networks (A and B) per floor, perhaps you were connected to the wrong one which explains the limited connection. I apologise once again for the lack of response from staff and will make sure this does not happen in the future. When i personally came to your room and you got a connection i assumed this issue was resolved.

The traffic noise on the other hand is not something we, as a central London hotel, have much control over! It is usually reasonably quiet in the evening however.

As I mentioned to you in a direct email exchange, I will happily give you a discounted stay on your next trip to London or if this is not adequate, I will speak to the owner about giving a donation to your chosen charity.

I hope we can welcome you back when you are next in London, when we will have fully refurbished and ironed out all these small issues.

Kind regards,

Fred Verity

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
270 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Got a great deal for a bedsit style apartment for 1 night and probably that's why we got the room we did.
First impressions not great- room smelt musty- probably because it was in the basement!
Skylights provided natural light but also street light at night!
Bathroom was tiny and shower sluggish , could also have been cleaner.

On the plus side the room was huge and well equipped with mini kitchen and very comfy bed.
Great location 2 mins from Gloucester road tube, 10 mins walk to museums.
Lots of coffee shops etc close by .

Room Tip: B4 not great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cel_longridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#430 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#633 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#129 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Cheval Harrington Court
Cheval Harrington Court
#3 of 837 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrington

Property: The Harrington
Address: 1 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4JJ, England (Formerly Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrington 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in chic South Kensington, just two minutes' walk from Gloucester Road station and with many shops and a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens is a collection of spacious serviced apartments including studio apartments, one bedroom apartments and two bedroom apartments. Designed and furnished in a contemporary style, your serviced apartment provides much more space and many more facilities than a London hotel room at excellent value in one of the best central London locations. Travel direct to other parts of central London as well as from London Heathrow and from the Gatwick Express at Victoria Station. Most of London's main museums, the Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park and exclusive shopping in Knightsbridge are all within walking distance. Your apartment is air conditioned and has a comfortable lounge and dining area, a well equipped kitchen or kitchenette and has flat screen TV with satellite channels and newly boosted free Wifi. Make The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens your London address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing