We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced travel hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel London Paddington
Ranked #261 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Not many choices in Paddington (the Hilton is old and tired) and this is one of the only options within walking distance of the station that doesn't scream "fleapit". It's a functional travel hotel with all the soul of a business park (who designs these places?). It's in a commercial area so is weirdly uninhabited at weekends. Staff are friendly but there's not much to recommend here. For what it is, it's unjustifiably expensive. For the price, you'd be better off going further into town and getting transport to Paddington or biting the bullet and going for one of the many budget options in the roads around the station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave5433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,472)
There are newer reviews for Novotel London Paddington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 2,472 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here for a family weekend in London. The location is ok, very accessible by rail/tube and very quiet at weekend due to it being a more business location. Room was very small for 3, but comfortable and clean. On arrival we were asked as usual for a credit card guarantee. We had dinner in restaurant on first night which we thought was good food, good service and reasonable price for London. We added this to our room account which we thought was normal. During the night we had a letter under the door saying there was items on our bill for which they had no payment for. It transpires that they only take a £50 guarantee and we had exceeded this with our meal and so they wanted us to clear it? Very odd, seemed like they prefer you to pay as you go, which was offputting for drinks in the bar etc. The next day upon checkout though I was asked again to pay for my dinner as they only had a £50 guarantee!!!. I patiently explained that I had cleared this the day before as requested. Reasonable London hotel with very odd billing practice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnygee650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

In the past we had stayed in Heathrow hotels the night before departure. They are not all that easy to get to via public transport and it can take 45 minutes on the shuttle bus to get to the terminals though they are just across the road! The Novotel at Paddington was ideal. A few minutes walk through a traffic-free area to Paddington station and then a short trip on the Heathrow Express or Connect into the airport. The hotel was standard Novotel, perfectly adequate for a night or two stay and you know what to expect. Within walking distance of Marylebone and several underground stations. Not somewhere I'd choose for a week in London but ideal location for our purposes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Definately not the same high standard of most Novotel hotels in Australia. Our room was on the 6th floor, and had filthy stained carpet. The grey sofabed was also pretty disgusting, definately low-budget.

So, the experience? We arrived early (before check in time) off a 24 hour flight from Australia. I have stayed at a number of hotels in London over the years, and while early check in is a rarity, they at least make the effort to check whether the room might be available early. Not here. We were abruptly told there was no chance of early check in, end of story. We were offered by the receptionist that they could hold our bags. Well, this is the least they could have done.

I had to politely ask for permission to use the pool / fitness area for myself and my mother (in her 60's) to be able to take a shower before heading out for the day. The receptionist obliged. I might point out I am also a member of Le Club Accor hotels with quite a few room nights under my belt, which wasnt recognised or noted in any way for the duration of the stay. There seems to be no benefit in this reward program.

The fitness area is very cramped, not ideal for lugging suitcases. There is one shower in the mens. The shower in the ladies was out of order, so I put mum into the disabled shower.

As for the room - housekeeping carts in the hallways all day long. Despite the filthy carpet and sofabed of questionable cleanliness, the room was reasonably modern, if basic. Room Service and Mini Bar were extremely expensive. There is a Sainsburys only a 5 min walk away (towards Paddington Station) so dont waste your money on overpriced items from this basic hotel.

The bed was comfortable, the sofabed was not. The service was sterile, which matched the hotel. Easy location, close to Paddington Station (10-15 min walk). Wifi was available for free which is probably the most positive thing I can say about this hotel.

Would I return here? No chance. Very basic room and service, with stained carpets and no real competitive advantage over any other hotel in the area that I could see.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brocko25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel is located a few minutes walk from Paddington Station in the Sheldon Square area ( close to Little Venice). It has good access to local transportation, is very quiet at night even on the 2nd floor facing the flyover. The staff are very professional and polite.

I arrived late in the evening and was allocated a good room (210) which is larger than some - based on my previous experience. The room was clean and spacious with a bathroom containing both a bath and a separate shower. I was rather thirsty and took a bottle of water from the fridge (which contained 2 bottles each of still/sparkling water). I did not see (any notice on the fridge indicating pricing) so was amazed to be asked to pay £2.75 the next morning for 500ml water. I will learn and next time buy one at the station on my way to the hotel for £1.00.

The breakfast buffet is good but service can be slow in terms of getting your hot drink especially if you are simply looking to eat a bowl of cereal before work. If the breakfast was not included in my rate I would have said at £15.95 it was expensive. Wifi is fast and efficient

Would I stay again - Yes

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We arrived early after a Eurostar trip from Paris, my parents were staying at this hotel, so we rested in their room until our room should've been ready at 3pm. Called to reception over and over, room still not ready at 5pm. Finally got into our room at 5.30pm. Not good to wait that long with kids.

Found the room very small for 2 adults and 2 kids. Traveling from Australia for 3 weeks, we had 3 suitcases and there was a lot of tripping over things with the sofa bed out for the duration.

Bathroom was nice, bed was comfy, breakfast was expensive but delicious. Even though it was a little distance from Paddington Station, we enjoyed the walk - even in the rain some days. Kids used the Hotel pool daily and absolutely loved it. Spa area was really nice.

Usually greeted with a smile and a nice hello in most hotels, but not this one, we were always waiting in line at Reception and they always seemed like they didn't really want to talk to you.

Having Computers/Internet in Hotel Lobby was excellent. Booked and printed out tickets etc while we were there.

Fun stay in London, would maybe stay again. Handy being close-ish to Paddington Station, we got a 5 day Oyster Card and caught the Tube everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The hotel gave a lovely welcome and served as a great base for a quick weekend exploration of London. We were able to drop our bags early as we were a few hours off being able to check in. I was disappointed when we came to collect them that it took a good few minutes of us having to search in their luggage room as they had been spread all over.

The rooms were nice and well appointed but they could do with some looking at, especially where the bathroom doors don't meet and it jams against the ceiling.

The bar was nice and not unreasonably priced. The staff here were very attentive, professional and friendly. The breakfast was good.

Overall it was a nice stay but the little things that would make it special or unique are just missing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#221 of 1,073 in London
1,052 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#405 of 1,073 in London
3,971 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#147 of 1,073 in London
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Paddington

Address: Sheldon Square 3 Kingdom Street, London W2 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in London
#174 Family Hotel in London
#196 Luxury Hotel in London
#215 Romantic Hotel in London
#237 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £134 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Novotel London Paddington is in the Paddington Central area, easily accessible by public transport and a few minutes' walk from Paddington Station (15 minute link to Heathrow Airport and great connection to all parts of London with 4 tube lines). Enjoy a shopping spree on Oxford Street or take a leisurely stroll to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. All 206 rooms have free Wifi access and satellite TV. Our Elements restaurant and bar also offer a relaxed dining and drinking experience. The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna and fitness room for you to unwind after a long day exploring London. You can as well use our concierge services to book your tickets for the best West End shows or for numerous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Paddington Hotel London
Accor London Paddington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing