We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A modern, well-located, reasonably-priced hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel London Paddington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel London Paddington
Ranked #236 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A modern, well-located, reasonably-priced hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The location was perfect. Paddington Station is about 15 minutes from Heathrow Airport via the excellent Heathrow Express; the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the station (tip: walk via the canal – it’s a little quicker and more pleasant than along the main road).

Paddington Central - where the hotel is situated - was part of a recent huge urban regeneration. There are cafes, restaurants and shops nearby, and – at weekends especially – a very relaxed feel to the area. All the sights of London are minutes away by Underground. It’s also a 10 minute walk to Kensington Gardens.

All of the hotel staff I encountered were helpful, proactive and efficient. The hotel has a gym and a restaurant which – although I didn’t use them – both looked quite appealing.

The rooms are comfortable and – despite the fact that in some areas they exhibit a victory of style over functionality (example: why have a separate toilet and bathroom in a room intended for a maximum of two people?) – I slept well on the 4 nights that I stayed there. No noise was detected from outside due to the excellent double glazing.

I’d certainly recommend this hotel and wouldn’t hesitate to book again when I am next in London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear MelbourneChris, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Paulo Bernini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    1,059
    240
    55
    31
See reviews for
944
546
135
417
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

First time here for me - one night stop with late night and early start. Very helpful and courteous staff, large well-stocked bar, comfortable room with separate loo room (French preoccupation I think ..). Literally 10 minutes from hotel room to Platform 9. Good breakfast in room, delivered on time. Very happy customer

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BristolDanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear BristolDanish,Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip! Kind regards, Paulo Bernini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naracoorte sa 5271
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel very user unfriendly. Everything was bolted down, the iron, the hair dryer, the fridge was empty. The shower was raised and slippery to get out of. I have an artificial knee and felt very unsafe.
The staff were helpful but seriously did not enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginit52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear ginit52, Your feedback is very much appreciated. Nevertheless, our team will be delighted to learn they were the highlight of your stay. Kind Regards, Paulo Bernini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmar, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I lived here for 2 nights with two of my friends the first days in July. I'm sorry to say that I will not recommend this hotel.

On the downside
- the room has a small compartment for the toilet and an other for shower and sink. The compartment with the toilet has no sink and to wash your hands you have to walk out of this small compartment, out in the room with "dirty" hands, and then to the room with the shower/sink. We asked for another room but we were told that all of the rooms in the hotel was built this way. This is ridiculous and a sole reason not to live here by my mind. I don't understand. This is 2014 and the hotel looked built/renovated quite recently! Who wants to touch lightning switches and handles with unclean hands where you later on gonna touch with clean ones?!
- the extra bed (bed sofa) were fitted with cheats from the old guest and fresh linen where not in the room, even though we booked a room for three. Also, there were only towels for two people. On request, both of this issues were corrected, but at a four star hotel, it wouldn't be necessary.
- the breakfast were okey, but not worth the price of 16 GBP extra per person.
- some of the things on the breakfast ran out before closing.

On the upside
- clean room
- nice and friendly staff
- quite large room (double) for London standards
- really close to Paddington station

But I'm sorry to say, the upside do not make of for the downside. This is NOT 4 star class.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gizthewiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear gizthewiz, Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments and I would like to assure you that despite the room design we are commited to provide a high standard of cleaning to every single room in the hotel. Nevertheless, I was quite surprised to learn the linen from your sofabed was not changed for your arrival and I would appreciate if you could contact me so I can investigate the matter and provide you with an appropriate follow up. Your comments about the breakfast buffet were also noted and addressed to our F&B team. Kind Regards, Paulo Bernini h6455-rd@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I'm a pretty frequent and hard-to please traveler; so when I came across this gem - i had to give them this review.

Firstly, the location of this hotel is perfect, off the Heathrow Express and you are there with a 10 mins walk from Paddington Station. Traveling within London? No problem - the Tubes are at Paddington as well.

Secondly, the size of the room is generous for London standards. Very. I used to have problems when I stayed in London with a huge luggage but not here.

Finally- and this is the BEST part. I was checked in at 5.30 am when my flight got into London, and allowed to check out at 5 pm (as my flight out was at 8 pm) - no questions asked. The staff and Service Level was so amazing, all I had to do was ask and they allowed the above 2.

Simply brilliant

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lingkunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Lingkunz, Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Paulo Bernini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Location, location location: this little gem is at the hub of things, right on the train and underground and thus close to everything. However, as importantly, it is also an oasis of calm and peace as it is in the middle of the "little venice" canal system and if you walk to the left, you will find little ferries, small islands and weeping willows on the right with lovely parks and children playing in playgrounds on the left. When we were there, a barge bookstore playing Bob Dylan is on the right. There are a small handful of restaurants, cafes and pubs. But on to the actual hotel.
What drew us here was the fact that the rooms are very large for hotels in this location. This is true, indeed, but the spaces feel very compact. Each room is sparkling clean and neat. The bathrooms have sculpted sinks and are very tiny but functional and include bathtubs. Everything is modern with clean lines. A little tea and coffee tray are most welcome and right there in the room.
The window of our room faced onto an office building and rail tracks but isn't this part of the whole atmosphere of being in the centre of London!? The rooms were very soundproof and quiet but you may see people working at their office desks almost right in front of you!

This hotel is not inexpensive in my opinion but it is well worth it. Although some found the breakfast "basic and dull", I would highly disagree! First, after being seated, one is offered a choice of two complimentary and healthful "smoothies" which come in the tiniest little shot glasses and are delicious! Second, the buffet includes everything under the sun: eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, fish, incredible English bacon and hash browns and a cornucopia of baked goods and croissants as well. I am sure that there was more! AND--to me this is a great innovation which I have never experienced before--if you are sitting alone, you can elect to sit at a little table for one with a little screen and headsets so that you can watch the news or browse the internet. Even if you are travelling with someone, this is worth a try: extremely practical, modern and cute. But the whole hotel feels tiny. There is an enormous (I believe touch screen computer in the lobby and two chairs where one can "hang out". There is also a lovely bar adjoining the dining-room. For travellers who are going to be out and about all day, this is the place to stay! You do not even need to take a taxi from Paddington but can easily walk the few hundred years, as our taxi driver explained. One night we went strolling in the immediate area and found pubs and a lively scene. To think that the romantic canals and islands and weeping willow trees are also within a few hundred yards--or feet--I think that one definitely has everything one could ever want. A haven in the bustle of London, close to everything but peaceful and quiet.

Room Tip: I have yet to find an inferior room on any floor! Although I have also yet to find a view of anythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank discriminating101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear D101, Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that our team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Paulo Bernini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#393 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#194 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#200 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#243 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Paddington

Property: Novotel London Paddington
Address: Sheldon Square 3 Kingdom Street, London W2 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in London
#174 Family Hotel in London
#178 Luxury Hotel in London
#215 Romantic Hotel in London
#237 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Novotel London Paddington is in the Paddington Central area, easily accessible by public transport and a few minutes' walk from Paddington Station (15 minute link to Heathrow Airport and great connection to all parts of London with 4 tube lines). Enjoy a shopping spree on Oxford Street or take a leisurely stroll to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. All 206 rooms have free Wifi access and satellite TV. Our Elements restaurant and bar also offer a relaxed dining and drinking experience. The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna and fitness room for you to unwind after a long day exploring London. You can as well use our concierge services to book your tickets for the best West End shows or for numerous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Paddington Hotel London
Accor London Paddington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing