We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel London Paddington
Ranked #257 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    1,112
    257
    58
    33
See reviews for
1,000
568
138
435
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sætre
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Second time staying here, and I like this hotel a lot. Nice atmosphere in a quiet area. Five minute walk along the channel from the Paddington station. Some good restaurants near by as well. Breakfast buffet great. We had an suprior room at the 10th flor with an extra bed for our daughter aged 13.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JonBGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear JonBGJ, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Paulo Bernini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stayed here many times before. However, this is the first time since I started writing reviews. Its getting worse! I have had the manager telephone me (I was a platinum accor member) after my stay on previous occasions to apologise. Why do I go back - Location, Location, Location. Like many others working in the Sheldon Square business area, its just a few steps away from the office I am visiting. However, unless you are working that close DO NOT STAY HERE!

Its not a great place for tourists, if visiting London I can name dozens of better locations.

So the up side for those who are working in one of the many offices within a couple of minutes walk. Its a perfectly comfortable very ordinary Novotel. Nothing special - but would be fine if not for the front desk. Who I don't believe are incompetent - you could not find that many awful people in one place. It must be bad training, management and systems.

The front desk staff speak many languages, which is fantastic for an international business location. However, they seem to struggle in English - This is London, the Accor hotels in Madrid, Amsterdam, Brussels and others front desk staff all speak better English - I know I remember staying at these and more! I recall on a previous visit another member of hotel staff was interpreting for his colleague! This time, I only had to ask to repeat a few times, I was able to understand most of the conversation.

Its got so bad that when I queued for the lift, a conversation of horror stories of double billing, lost bookings and other problems started between guests - We were all complete strangers!

So the story this time, they had not noted all the billing instructions and rate details that had been put in place by our company's hotel booking agency (and no the agency was blameless).

4 x guests, 4 x rooms in our group - the first two guests arrive and are told its not on account and needs to be paid for and no breakfast is not included. The agent is called and the phone is handed over. - We are told that the agent was in error as they had booked at the Novotel head office and not direct with the hotel. How stupid, booking with head office reservations, who would do such a thing! Actually the agency had double confirmed with the hotel as well, because of previous problems. Still the hotel had got it wrong.

I then arrive as the 3rd guest in our party, less than half an hour later and have the same problem. I am asked for a credit card until they can check my booking. (I was on full account billed direct back to the company) A booking they checked 20 mins earlier! I refuse a card and ask them to check while I wait. I get a sigh and a disapproving look. Charming! The receptionist had the booking confirmation in her hand, their copy not mine - with the details printed in black and white. I have no idea what the problem was.

Guest number 4, even after we double confirm with the front desk that when the last person arrives there will no further issue, he is refused the inclusive breakfast.

If this hotel is close to your meetings, you may wish to use it. But allow time to sort the paperwork out during check - in and your credit card afterwards. I am booked in again in November - its their last chance!

I have just noticed that another review has posted similar problems. Please note the other reviewer was not in our party and is independent from this one.

For some reason I had been checked into a room with a sofa bed all set up. I suspect later on someone with a child had to arrange for their sofa to be turned into a bed.

One last moan: The hotel used to be very rare in having glasses for juice at breakfast that were of a sensible size. They must have spotted this, they are now tiny, like many other hotels -shame.


TOP TIP - Don't drink the water, a small bottle in your room is £2.75 - there is a supermarket 90 seconds away, same size bottle for less than 50p..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartynSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear MartynSurrey, please accept our most sincere apologies for what indeed was a misunderstanding between the Hotel and Travel Agent. Your comments have been noted and discussed with the team. Kind Regards, Paulo Bernini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed for two nights at this hotel that exceeded our expectations. We thought it had the perfect location,a 5-10 min walk away from the Paddington Tubestation. The hotel is one of many high bulidings in this area that mainly consits of offices, there are fast food and cafees in the area and some restaurants. No traffic other than taxis which makes it a calm part of London but the citylife only minutes away with the tube. Rooms and hotel are fresh and clean. The breakfast was great and the automatic pancakemachine was a good start to the day :)
We would really like to return to this hotel and this area, it is suitable for every kind of traveller.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WomanSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear WomanSweden, Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Paulo Bernini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Once you get to your room, it's fine. The bed is comfy, room clean. And the serving staff at breakfast are pleasant.

That's it. That's the positives.

Check in staff are without doubt the worst anywhere. Surly, unpleasant and unhelpful. They also appear to be trained to ignore anything the customer says. The check in procedure is comically slow and a lottery. Heaven help you if you have a corporate booking, they will not have received it, they will expect you to pay for it with your credit card, they will tell you breakfast is not included. They will pout and snarl at you.

It appears they have an offshore processing centre which handles a group booking, but that centre doesn't communicate with the hotel, so all your attempts to arrange the booking in advance is a total waste of effort.

Just avoid this place, there are perfectly good place nearby.

Room Tip: You ought to be able to choose to have a room by the M4 motorway, or one which is right next to an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 691Tall_guy691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear 691Tall_guy691, I am glad to learn you had a nice stay with us reagardless your experience with the Reception team, which I will be more than happy to investigate, should you wish to contact me via email at h6455-rd@accor.com with the details. Best Regards, Paulo Bernini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is our second visit to this hotel and we were not disappointed. It is in a good location, close to Paddington Station and close to hire car depots. The size of the rooms for London are good. They are clean with good sized bathroom. The breakfast is excellent. We also ate in for dinner one evening and the service and food were very good. The hotel looks after both families with children and business travelleres well. Close to Little Venice or Paddington for a variety of restaurants. Rooms are very quiet. Leisure facilities with pool if needed. It is a good location if you are coming off the Heathrow Express and do not want to travel far for an hotel. There is a small supermarket 2 minutes away in the small shopping facilities provided for the offices surrounding the hotel. Just needs a good sized outdoor patio where you can enjoy the remains of the day in summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyNessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear SydneyNessie, Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us.Taking in consideration we have experienced such a lovely weather, Paddington Central, the development administrator of the site where we are based, has organised an outdoor movie screening every day, as ping pong and chess tables right outside the hotel to the end of August, which has been very much appreciated among our guests. Nevertheless, we do have a terrace area available for all guests up in the Mezzanine floor, where you can peacefully seat and enjoy the same lovely weather. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Paulo Bernini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#400 of 1,068 in London
3,877 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#214 of 1,068 in London
966 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#174 of 1,068 in London
2,168 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Paddington

Property: Novotel London Paddington
Address: Sheldon Square 3 Kingdom Street, London W2 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in London
#174 Family Hotel in London
#193 Luxury Hotel in London
#215 Romantic Hotel in London
#237 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Novotel London Paddington is in the Paddington Central area, easily accessible by public transport and a few minutes' walk from Paddington Station (15 minute link to Heathrow Airport and great connection to all parts of London with 4 tube lines). Enjoy a shopping spree on Oxford Street or take a leisurely stroll to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. All 206 rooms have free Wifi access and satellite TV. Our Elements restaurant and bar also offer a relaxed dining and drinking experience. The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna and fitness room for you to unwind after a long day exploring London. You can as well use our concierge services to book your tickets for the best West End shows or for numerous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Paddington Hotel London
Accor London Paddington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing