We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Comfortable, well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel London Paddington
Ranked #259 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfectly Comfortable, well located”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Check in was, as other reviews, very slow and not overly friendly but otherwise this was a pretty decent hotel in a decent area of london. We had 3 adults sharing (the normal queen-size bed and the pull out, which is a very basic sofa bed with the usual uncomfortable bar in the middle of your back) - other than the single pillow each and the weirdly small sheets (3 inches short on the queen, only barely tuckable in on the sofa bed so rolling over resulted in mummification) we all slept reasonably well. The A/C coped well with a hot muggy outside and the quadruple glazing meant it was silent. Toilet is in a cupboard on its own, shower (with additional handheld head - turn the tap forward to get water to it) and sink together in a small room with weird doors. "Fridge" is a cooling unit, but fine for water/coke/etc., which you can buy from the small sainsburys 2 minutes walk from the front door.

Area is well provisioned (less at weekends as several things are obviously aimed at the myriad of offices round about) and there is a Starbucks open 7 days 3 minutes walk away if you wish to have a smaller, cheaper breakfast.

If you walk further down the canal (from Paddington, past the hotel) you will get to little Venice, which is delightful and very peaceful - not like London at all. Recommend that for an evening walk before it gets dark.

Get the Hammersmith and City line out to Paddington (change at Edgeware Road if needs be - the station before on the Circle line, just walk across the platform) and you will arrive at the side of the station next to the canal (that you walk along - left - towards the hotel) with a lift from the platform and no enormous walk through Paddington to negotiate with cases!

The free wifi is perfectly serviceable, although not terribly fast (for speedier results, go to starbucks during non-rush hour times and jack theirs), and if you can get a deal (of which there are many, just as well as the rack rate's ridiculous!) then it's a cracking value hotel, fine for 3 adult women with all their stuff and feels quite safe to come back to at night as it's so well lit.

Room Tip: Standard and upgraded rooms are the same size, so no worries there. We were right behind the lifts a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Claire906, Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us.See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards, Paulo Bernini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    1,112
    257
    58
    33
See reviews for
1,000
568
138
435
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

As a family and on business this is always a great hotel. The staff are friendly and the hotel is great. During the summer you can use the outdoor grass for a picnic or stretch out under the stars. The pool is small but par for the course. Breakfast choice is wide for a London hotel. Great place to stay if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear JulianWP, Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Paulo Bernini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Except for a big smile from the receptionist no positive points to this hotel, spent 45 minutes checking in at this hotel with Ophelie, probably her first check in of her life, deducted twice the amount for the stay on my credit card, did not give any drinks or points or automatic upgrade for clubaccor gold and did not even activate the key to the room, when i finally got to the room, there is no view, you have the windows and people in the office staring right across the room, and breakfast very poor, cheese with not taste and very small selection of foods, i certainly not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Apo l, Thank you for your feedback. May I kindly ask you to send me an email with your details so I can investigate and provide you with an appropriate follow up. Kind Regards, Paulo Bernini.(h6455-rd@accor.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenhaven, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We picked this hotel because of its location and were very impressed. Near little Venice & easy accessibility to Paddington station. Contemporary, clean & generous rooms. Friendly, helpful staff at desk & breakfast. Very quiet area at night which is great for sleeping, yet easy stroll to cafés/pubs in heart of Paddington. Would stay again, for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Frances F, Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Paulo Bernini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent location to discover London with pool , hamman and sauna !
This hotel is perfect for our needs, couple and a teen 14 years old and the sofa bed fit her perfectly ( 1,90 x 1,20 ). The staff is completely dedicated to the guests , the general manager is everywhere , real leader , working closely with his staff , excellent team spirit during peak time at the breakfast , make all guests fully satisfied .even full over booked , breakfast run smooth and easy and free for kids . Really worth it ! Trust me we are French and complaining is our national sport !

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cocotoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear cocotoi, Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Paulo Bernini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Excellent hotel experience! When we arrived and booked in the staff were very friendly and helpful! We were upgraded to executive room as it was my partners birthday, which made our stay even better!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Susan D, Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind Regards, Paulo Bernini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We often use Novotels in London as they are very family friendly and the corporate styling means you can rely on their cleanliness and comfort for a great weekend stay.

We recently stayed at this relatively new Novotel and it's now our main place to stay for our family London weekends, mainly because it is right next to (5 mins walk) Paddington station so we can roll off our Great Western train straight into the hotel. On the day we leave we can leave our luggage at the hotel until we are ready to catch our late train home. It's also only a 15 min walk to Hyde Park and Oxford Circus so we can avoid using the tube on hot days.

As a new Novotel the rooms are great - the usual setup of a double bed and a sofa bed for a family of four - if you've stayed in Novotels then you know this means no space left in the room but it's fine if you don't intend spending time in the room other than for sleeping. A separate bath/shower is a nice thing to have as a family. For my kids the clincher is the pool in the gym - not massive, and the limit of 11 people may cause some trouble on busy days, but no problems this time so it was great to have a little swim before heading off again in the evening.

Breakfast seems to be a bit of a perennial problem in very busy Novotels - too busy, not enough tables and plates/cutlery/food always running out for a few minutes. They also use the awful and frankly pointless (as they don't actually toast the bread) toasting conveyor machines. But we still managed to have a good breakfast every morning even if it wasn't particularly stress free.

Free wi-fi works well in the rooms, even with all 4 of us using it at the same time. I was even able to watch some streamed BT-Sport rugby.

Excellent soundproofing, didn't hear a thing once we settled down to sleep.

The "air con" (which it isn't really, it's more just an air blower) was pretty pathetic.

Green Features: The towel replacement policy seemed random - with 4 of us there they seemed to randomly choose how many clean towels to give us every day; some they replaced, some they hung up for us to dry.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Marc_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novotelpaddington, Rooms Division Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Dr_Marc_B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again very soon. Kind regards, Paulo Bernini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#400 of 1,069 in London
3,878 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#214 of 1,069 in London
967 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#174 of 1,069 in London
2,171 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Paddington

Property: Novotel London Paddington
Address: Sheldon Square 3 Kingdom Street, London W2 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in London
#174 Family Hotel in London
#194 Luxury Hotel in London
#215 Romantic Hotel in London
#237 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Novotel London Paddington is in the Paddington Central area, easily accessible by public transport and a few minutes' walk from Paddington Station (15 minute link to Heathrow Airport and great connection to all parts of London with 4 tube lines). Enjoy a shopping spree on Oxford Street or take a leisurely stroll to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. All 206 rooms have free Wifi access and satellite TV. Our Elements restaurant and bar also offer a relaxed dining and drinking experience. The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna and fitness room for you to unwind after a long day exploring London. You can as well use our concierge services to book your tickets for the best West End shows or for numerous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Paddington Hotel London
Accor London Paddington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing