We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with on site parking”
Review of Wimbledon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wimbledon Hotel
Ranked #724 of 1,069 Hotels in London
northampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location with on site parking”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stayed here with my partner in October 2012, we chose this hotel as it has on site free parking & as we have a large vechicle the car park was perfect, also for location, it is walking distance to the train/tube station. We were attending a show at the Albert Hall, we purchased a travel ticket and in the evening we got a bus from across the road from the hotel which dropped us off at the station then direct line to south Kensington for the Albert Hall - Perfect. You can walk from the hotel to the station which takes around 15/20 min slow walk as we did this during the day. Plenty of shops, restaurants and pubs in the town. Got return bus from station to hotel as was late & dropped us right by the hotel. The hotel is very modern, spotlessly clean with lovely touches, great shower, fab TV, beautiful room, actually had wow factor. Cooked breakfast was great, the cook was a lovely lady, very welcoming and couldnt do enough for us, her breakfast was fresh, hot and very tasty. We will definately stay here again when visiting London and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    27
    27
    18
    9
See reviews for
25
32
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights last week end of the London Olympics. . Lots of stairs. It is really a bed and breakfast place , but priced as a hotel. No bar. Room clean. Breakfast poor. parking ok. Fairly convenient, location is ok . But I think price too high and as I say bed and breakfast and not a hotel.
We went to some Olympic events, Buckingham Palace and also attended a very small informal School reunion. Informal in that it was at the 'Hand in Hand' Pub and then in an Indian restaurant in the High Street. Hand in Hand Pub is certaily much more upmarket since I used to go 40 or so years ago and is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a week (7 nights) while on vacation in London this summer. Tube station and is within walking distance (which was essential for us). Also, there are plenty of basic shops/restaurants within walking distance. The location really was perfect for a couple like us, who wanted to do all the traditionally tourist activities and stay somewhere safe where everything was accessible to us.Room was very clean what does it really matter? It was a little pricey for what we got, in my opinion,I wasn't impressed with the hotel staff at all. They weren't overtly rude, but they were not helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Labelled as a boutique hotel you would expect a high level of finish and great attention to detail. This side of things was a little disappointing. We stayed on the 3rd floor and this meant that due to the wonders of english plumbing the shower had very low water pressure and took over 5 minutes to get even vaguely warm. A booster pump in the system is needed to give everyone a good shower! Also the shower area wasnt as clean as you would expect and refilling of the large branded shower/shampoo bottles with something clearly different isnt really on. I would expect individually sized bottles of all toiletries at this kind of price level - then again this is London things cost more than they should.

The location however was wonderful, easy walking distance to the tube/train station and yet still in a quiet area meaning that you could sleep with the window open and have a good nights sleep (note there is no aircon so if its really hot then you do need that window open!). Didnt stay for breakfast so cant comment other than the breakfast room looked pleasant enough.

Got text messages from the hotel enquiring about arrival time and emails afterwards thanking me for my stay which is a nice touch though it was clearly to allow the reception staff to be elsewhere rather than sitting at the desk all the time waiting for the small number of guests this hotel can accommodate.

Probably overpriced by about 15-20 pounds per night but it was one of the cheapest hotels in the area and due to the nature of the trip that was ok.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the lower floors as they must have better water pressure!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herefordshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed for one night whilst attending an olympic event. I would say this is a guest house rather than a hotel, the rooms were clean and a good size the bathroom was well appointed with a good shower. We found the beds very comfortable and had a good nights sleep although the hotel is on a busy road. Parking was available and it was a 5 min walk into Wimbledon town. The breakfast provided was very nice and served by friendly staff. In all a very nice stay, i would not really call it a boutique hotel its more boutique style, but i would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for room at back as the road at the front is busy 24 hours a day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ylaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The Hotel is very nice, the room was very comfortable, and the staff was very friendly.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LauranceMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Apart from no one there when we arrived, there was a phone no to ring for access.
Our room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was also very good.
The staff were very charming and polite.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
#548 of 1,069 in London
623 reviews
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#458 of 1,069 in London
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
805 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#303 of 1,069 in London
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wimbledon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wimbledon Hotel

Property: Wimbledon Hotel
Address: 78 Worple Road | Wimbledon, London SW19 4HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#382 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wimbledon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Wimbledon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wimbledon Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing