We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and disappointing.”

Marquis of Westminster
Ranked #470 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Pimlico
Description: Independently owned & managed pub The Marquis of Westminster reopened in February 2013 following a complete refurbishment. Often described as Pimlico’s village pub, The Marquis is back to doing what we do best, traditional home made British food including wonderful world famous fish and chips, sausages & mash, Sunday roasts and burgers! With a pub, a fantastic restaurant and one of the best function rooms in London, we have created a super-pub, which still has the feel of a British local. Local Pimlican Christopher Hayes bought The Marquis from family friends and re-opened it in June 2006; his parents and grandparents were also pub owners in Pimlico at The Coach and Horses, so Chris is proudly continuing this family tradition in the local area. Together we have grown the business so that it now features well on Trip Advisor’s places to eat in London. For those that have not been here before, the people have spoken so come see what we are up to and why many believe us to be London’s best pub. Whether its a pint of ale, traditional British pub food, or an awesome party we have something for everyone!
London
1 review
“Overpriced and disappointing.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

All ordered the "world renowned" fish and chips. Thoroughly disappointing. Fish was greasy, chips ok, peas were hard. The cost of five meals was greatly overpriced. But worst of all the service charge automatically charged on the bill, rather than the own customer's decision. The same meal in our premier inn was both cheaper and far better quality and had np automatic service charge. Will not be coming back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dfghhseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    259
    55
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kokkola
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional english pub”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A cosy and lively british pub, good beer and tasty food for every budget and all served by nice staff.

Helpful?
Thank Sirpa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Visited July 7 for a quick bite. We tried the fish and chips and can echo the reviews that say that the chips are good - they really are good. The fish, on the other hand, was pretty ordinary. It seemed to be breaded, rather than battered and wasn't all that crispy on the outside. It was reasonably well cooked, damp on the bottom and perhaps a tad greasy. Drinks were good. My impression was that it's an ok place but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank upper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“We walked in and oh dear what an awful smell”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Sorry, but we just couldn't eat there after we walked up the stairs to restaurant, had just walked in the doorway (the kitchen was to the right), we both smelt a terrible smell of like seafood or fish that was really off. The waitress approached us and we both simultaneously said, "sorry, we can't eat here ", and we left. Which was a shame as we had heard that they did really meals there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Marquis o, Owner at Marquis of Westminster, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We pride ourselves on our fish and chips especially, it is by far our most popular dish! To ensure the freshness of all our fish dishes I personally buy the fish direct from Billingsgate Market, and because we sell so much it is nigh on impossible for it to be old - we sell all our fish the very day it is bought! I can't explain what you smelt but if you had stayed and tried our food, especially the fish and chips, you will not have been disappointed!

Come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
722 reviews
389 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Throughout the years I have been visiting a lot of pubs serving good food in London and this is indeed a very good one. It is very popular and crowded downstairs, but upstairs it is quite easy to have a table. The menu is very interesting. We had a fresh salad as a starter, then the pulled pork and another salad as a main course. Very good indeed! Good choice of wine as it seems and excellent coffee. Good and attentive (italian?) service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fitzbenedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marquis of Westminster also viewed

 

Been to Marquis of Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing