We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Amazing - each dish. Book ahead and bring a hungry belly!”
Review of Yuu Kitchen

Yuu Kitchen
Ranked #42 of 25,573 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Whitechapel
Description: Yuu Kitchen in Spitalfields features authentic Japanese and South-East Asian flavours. This new gastronomy concept, uses the highest quality produce executed with precision cooking in a fun and exciting setting. The menu is designed for sharing with a choice of small plates that will take you on an explosive flavour journey. Indulge in Asian favourites like gourmet Bao, Korean Ssam and Chicken Karaage. Chef Jon’s Pinoy dishes introduces guests to Filipino favourites with a London touch. Maximum flavours from slow cooked meats, 12 hr braised Lechon Kawali, delicious home-made recipes, like the tangy adobo wings, brings a fresh new take on familiar dishes. You’ll be sharing your high top table with other guests and sharing your dishes with your friends. We recommend to select at least 3-4 dishes per person (these are small plates) from different sections of the menu. *N.B Kitchen closes 45 mins before closing time* SEE WEBSITE FOR CHRISTMAS OPENING.
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

This place; wow wow wow!

If you love good food, cooked with a love of experimenting and knowledge - then pop here. For price / quality, it's bang on.

As a lover of Asian food and trying new flavours, this place charmed me. I would recommend booking a table, it's a busy eater for all types. Casual, yet sexy charming!

We dined at the counter and were lucky to watch the chefs cook, while they chatted to us. The main chef, John obviously loves his job and the restaurant. He was a joy to be around and you could tell he knew his stuff from years of practice.

Now before I get into the food, it's worth noting that each dish is carefully prepared, the meats; marinated for hours. The marinade; home made. The sauces; home made. So from a price point, I would pay more for what you get given a lot of time and preparation goes into this food.

The food; please go here hungry. You will want to try everything from the moment your lips savor the first bite. You will not want to stop.

We chose; the pork belly bun. Possibly the best actual Japanese bun (bun itself) I have had. The sauce that it is delicately bathed it, divine. The pork, so soft, it melts in your mouth.
The brick chicken; I die!! Warning; do not share this. It is soul full. It's packed with different full flavours. Cooked perfectly. It too falls apart in your mouth, it was so soft. These guys know how to cook their meat.

The dumplings, again delicious. As we're the baby back ribs.

Price wise; considering the care, attention and time they put into each meal it's value for money. This place will soon be a place where you won't get a table, so enjoy it before the mayhem! I will most defiantly be back, with one hungry belly!

Hats off to the team and chefs.

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank MaxLegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen L, General Manager at Yuu Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear MaxLegal

WOW! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It was lovely to read. Hope to see YUU again soon.

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 182 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018

Friends recommend this to us - so booked for a Saturday night - something a little different away from the corporate bland type restaurants
Food and service were excellent and with friends who are willing to share different foods and experiences
Staff willing to recommend if you struggle - basically lots of sharing type plates so you can try as much as you like and keep ordering- a real find

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen L, General Manager at Yuu Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Phillip H

WOW! Thank you for your great review. It was lovely to read this review. Hope to see YUU again soon.

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

This restaurant deserves its high ranking in tripadvisor. Good service and amazing food.

If you have the opportunity: go sit at the bar to see the chefs cook. They are passionate, enthousiastic and working hard. The food is original and tasty.

We took 5 dishes but because it was so good we ordered a sixth dish. Dont forget to reserve some space for the ice cream bun as dessert.

Next time I’m in London I’ll come back.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Reginev36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen L, General Manager at Yuu Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Regine v

Thank you for your great review. I'm pleased to hear you had a great experience with us. Hope to see YUU again soon.

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

It's always a good sign for me if a restaurant has an open kitchen and at Yuu we weren't disappointed. Not only was the food absolutely amazing, as we were seated at the bar, we witnessed it being freshly prepared, every single dish is made to order with fresh ingredients. We were very impressed!
The sticky aubergine was our favourite, but all the dishes we had were delicious.
Staff are absolutely lovely and despite it being busy we did not feel rushed. Will definitely be going back!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Psychogoogje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen L, General Manager at Yuu Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Psychogoogje

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our open kitchen, it's lots of fun. Eggplant's our fave too. Thank you for your great review. Hope to see YUU again soon.

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

I've been with my boyfriend to have a meal and the waiter with tatoos did an amazing service and recommendations were great

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen L, General Manager at Yuu Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear sheiila00

Thank you for your great review. Hope to see YUU again soon.

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yuu Kitchen also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Yuu Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing